A - Abilities
A.1 - General Rulings on Abilities
- A.1.1 - An "ability" is any instruction described in the card's text area.
For token permanents, any abilities are described in the spell or ability
which created the token (see Rule K.25). The result of an ability is
called its "effect". [CompRules 1999/04/34] Note that the text
describing the effects of a spell (see Rule K.23) that is not going to be
a permanent are not considered abilities. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.1.2 - A permanent may have the same ability more than once. For activated
abilities (see Rule A.2), only one can be used at a time. For triggered
abilities (see Rule A.4), all of them trigger. For static abilities (see
Rule A.3), they may or may not be cumulative. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.1.3 - Abilities of a card apply only when the card is in play, unless
explicitly stated otherwise. For example, Protection from Black on a
White Knight does not apply while the Knight is in the graveyard. And
effects of abilities only apply to things in play unless explicitly stated
otherwise. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.1.4 - Abilities on a card are normally separated by a paragraph break, but
in the case of keyword abilities (abilities which can be described with
just one word, such as "Flying") they may be listed on a single line
separated by commas or semicolons. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.1.5 - Any effect which removes an ability removes all instances of that
ability. For example, if a creature had Flanking twice, then removing
Flanking would remove both instances of the ability.
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.1.6 - Text on a card stating that the card "is" or "counts as" a
particular type or color is not an ability. Such text applies no matter
what zone the card is in and is not removed by effects that cause a
permanent to lose its abilities. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.1.7 - An additional or alternative cost to play a card isn't an ability
of the card. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.1.8 - An effect that defines a characteristic of a permanent is not
granting an ability. For example, "Enchanted creature is unblockable"
is an ability of the enchantment but does not give the creature an
ability. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.1.9 - A permanent is given an ability if the effect says the
permanent "gains" or "has" an ability. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.1.10 - An ability may state that it can be played while its card is not in
play. For example, "Play only when this card is in your graveyard." This
is a card ability. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.1.11 - This rule is no longer in use. [D'Angelo 2002/08/28]
- A.1.12 - Any text on a card which describes what to do when a tie occurs
in a calculation is rules text, not reminder text. This is because there
is no default rule for how to resolve ties. [WotC Rules Team 2000/01/11]
If you get to make a choice and more than one item qualifies due to a tie,
you can choose among them. [D'Angelo 2000/02/25]
- A.1.13 - An ability added to a permanent through the use of quoted text does
not actually add that quoted text to the card. It adds the ability
described by the text. [WotC Rules Team 2001/06/07] This rule means that
you cannot alter the text on the affected card using Sleight of Mind
and similar cards.
- A.1.Ruling.1 - An ability may be beneficial or detrimental. For
example, "This creature can't block" is an ability. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.1.Ruling.2 - An ability is not a spell, so it cannot be countered by
something that only counters a spell. See Rule K.23.
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- Note - Also see Types of Spells and Abilities, Rule T.1.
A.2 - Activated Abilities
- A.2.1 - Activated abilities are written as "<-cost->: <-effect->" when the
ability is on a permanent in play, or on a card which is in a zone other
than "in play" that also has text such as "Play this ability only if <-this
card-> is in <-zone->." [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.2.2 - The cost is paid and the ability is placed on the stack (see
Rule T.2) when the ability is announced (see Rule T.4). The effect
happens when the ability resolves (see Rule T.6). [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.2.3 - Activated abilities may only be used while the permanent is in
play unless otherwise stated. See Rule A.1.3 [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.2.4 - Only a permanent's controller can play its activated ability unless
the card specifically says otherwise. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.2.5 - Once activated, the ability exists independently of the card or
token which generated it. It exists on the stack as a pseudospell.
Destruction or removal of the source after that time will not affect the
ability. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.2.6 - If the ability says that its source does something, then the
characteristics of the source at the time the ability resolves are used.
For example, "Prodigal Sorcerer deals 1 damage to target creature or
player" is an ability that will have the Sorcerer deal 1 damage.
[CompRules 1999/04/23] If the source is not in play at the time the
ability resolves, use its last known characteristics.
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.2.7 - A restriction on the use of an ability continues to apply if the
permanent changes controllers. For example, "No more than {B}{B} can be
spent each turn" would allow a total of {B}{B} among all players,
and "Play this ability only once each turn" would only allow one player
to play it each turn. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.2.8 - When the ability is placed on the stack (see Rule T.2), it is placed
on as a pseudospell, with a copy of its source's text, color, and
controller. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.2.Ruling.1 - Each use of an ability is separate. You cannot pay the cost
multiple times in a single use. [Duelist Magazine #12, Page 26] For
example, you cannot pay {B}{B} to have Pestilence do 2 points of
damage. You can pay {B} twice to have Pestilence do 1 damage two separate
times.
A.3 - Static Abilities
- A.3.1 - Static abilities have no cost to activate and are always in effect
while the permanent is in play. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.3.2 - Some static abilities may have conditional clauses such as
"<-something happens-> as long as <-some condition is true->" or
"As long as <-something is true->, <-something happens->".
[D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.3.3 - A static ability may apply while a spell is on the stack. For
example, Kaervek's Torch. These are usually limited to restricting
targeting or countering of the spell, but also can include additional
costs ("As an additional cost to play...") and optional cost ("You may
pay <-cost-> rather than paying...") abilities.
[CompRules 2002/02/20 - 412.4]
- A.3.4 - A static ability that modifies how or whether you can play a card
applies while that card is in a zone from which it can be played (usually
your hand). [CompRules 2002/02/20 - 412.4]
- A.3.Ruling.1 - Static abilities only affect things in play unless otherwise
stated. See Rule T.7.2. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- Note - See Rule T.8 for information on the effects of static abilities.
A.4 - Triggered Abilities
- A.4.1 - A triggered ability begins with the word "when", "whenever",
or "at". The phrase starting with one of these words is the trigger
condition. [CompRules 1999/04/23] More completely, a triggered ability
reads "When/whenever/at <-condition->, do <-effect->". [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.4.2 - Triggered abilities check for their condition at all times, even
during the middle of an event (see Rule T.1.6). [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.4.3 - Triggered abilities are not played. They wait until the next time
a player receives priority, then they are put on the stack (see Rule T.2).
It is placed on as a pseudospell, with a copy of its source's text, color,
and controller at the time it triggered. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.4 - Triggered abilities only trigger while the permanent is in play
unless otherwise stated. See Rule A.1.3. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.5 - Once triggered, the ability exists independently of the card or
token which generated it. Destruction or removal of the source after that
time will not affect the ability. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.6 - If the ability says that its source does something, then the
characteristics of the source at the time the ability resolves are used.
[CompRules 1999/04/23] If the source is no longer in play, its last known
characteristics are used. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.7 - You follow the rules for announcing a spell or ability at the time
the ability is put on the stack. This means making targeting choices and
the choice of mode as per Rule T.4.2. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.8 - If multiple triggered abilities are being placed on the stack at
one time, ones controlled by the current player go on the stack first, in
any order that player chooses. Then ones controlled by the other player,
in any order that player chooses. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.9 - The controller of a triggered ability is the controller of the
permanent which generated it (if it is from a permanent) or the controller
of the effect which generated it. The controller is set at the time the
ability triggers, not when it is put on the stack. [CompRules 1999/11/01]
- A.4.10 - This rule has been removed. [Rules Team 2001/05/01] Previously,
a triggered ability's controller could be different from the permanent's
controller if the other player got a choice.
- A.4.11 - This rule has been removed. [Rules Team 2001/05/01] Previously, if
a triggered ability offered both players a choice, it put separate
abilities on the stack for each player. Now only one ability is placed
on the stack and is resolved for all players.
- A.4.12 - A triggered ability triggers once for each time its trigger
condition occurs. It can trigger more than once on a single event in the
game if the condition occurs more than once. [CompRules 1999/04/23] For
example, if an ability reads "Whenever a land is put into a graveyard from
play, ..." then the ability would trigger 5 times if 5 lands were put into
the graveyard at one time.
- A.4.13 - Some triggered abilities give a player a choice of doing something
or doing nothing. These use the word "may" and are worded
like "When <-condition->, you may do <-something->". The choice of whether or
not to do the action is made on resolution of the triggered ability.
[WotC Rules Team 2000/02/16] This is a REVERSAL of Rule 410.5, which said
that you decided on announcement and if you decided not to, that the
ability was never placed on the stack.
- A.4.14 - A triggered ability may include a test in its effect, worded
as "When/whenever/at <-condition->, if <-test-> do <-effect->". This test is
done at the time the ability would trigger and if not true then the
ability does not trigger at all. This test is also performed when the
ability resolves. If not true at that time, the ability does nothing.
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.15 - A triggered ability that watches for a game state checks its
condition at all times, even during the middle of the resolution of a
spell or ability. This is called a "state-based trigger".
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.16 - A triggered ability that watches for a game state will not trigger
again until any unresolved pseudospell placed on the stack by the ability
resolves or is countered. For example, an ability reads "When your hand
is empty, draw a card." If its controller plays the last spell from their
hand, it triggers once and won't trigger again until after this resolves,
and then you empty your hand again. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.17 - An ability that reads "Whenever <-name-> blocks" or "Whenever <-name>
becomes blocked" triggers only once each combat even if that creature
blocks or is blocked by multiple creatures. [CompRules 1999/04/23] This
ability will also trigger if a spell or ability is used to make the
creature become blocked. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.18 - An ability that reads "Whenever <-name-> blocks a creature" or
"Whenver a creature blocks <-name->" will trigger once for each creature.
[CompRules 1999/04/23] This kind of trigger will not happen if a spell or
ability is used to make the creature become blocked.
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.19 - A triggered ability that triggers on a zone change (such as going
to the graveyard) and which tries to do something to the card will look
for the card in the zone it went to. If the card leaves the zone before
the triggered ability resolves, the ability will fail to do anything.
[CompRules 1999/04/23] For example, "When this card goes to the graveyard
from play, remove it from the game" will trigger when the card goes to the
graveyard. If the card is not still in the graveyard on resolution, the
ability will not do anything.
- A.4.20 - "Leaves play" triggers are handled with a special rule. Since the
permanent will no longer be in play, if the ability wants to check
anything about the permanent or game state, the ability "looks back in
time" to just before the permanent left play. Any continuous effects or
triggered abilities present at that time apply. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
For example, two creatures are in play with an artifact that
says "Whenever a creature is put into a graveyard from play, you gain 1
life". A spell is played that destroys all artifacts, creatures, and
enchantments. The artifact's ability triggers twice even though the
artifact went to the graveyard at the same time as the creatures. If you
back up time to right before anything left play, it was there.
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.21 - "Comes into play" triggers see the permanent after any continuous
effects are applied. For example, if Blood Moon is in play then a
non-basic land will enter play as a Mountain and something triggering off
a Mountain coming into play would trigger but something triggering off a
non-basic land coming into play would not. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.4.22 - Effects that prevent abilities from being played do not prevent
triggered abilities from being put on the stack. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.23 - An ability that triggers whenever a creature is blocked by a
specific number of creatures can trigger after the declaration of blockers
if a spell or ability adds an additional blocker. For example,
Johtull Wurm's ability triggers when blocked by two or more creatures.
If one blocked it during declaration of blockers, then another was added
later, the ability will trigger. Note that swapping one blocker for
another one blocker will not cause such abilities to trigger.
[WotC Rules Team 2000/02/16] Note that such an ability can trigger only
once per combat phase. [D'Angelo 2000/02/25]
- A.4.Ruling.1 - Because triggered abilities are placed on the stack (see
Rule T.2), triggered abilities can become nested. For example, if one
spell's resolution caused two triggered abilities to trigger, then during
the resolution of the first one of these triggered abilities, another
one is triggered. The newly triggered ability is resolved first since it
will be on top of the stack. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.4.Ruling.2 - Abilities which trigger on you losing control of something
also trigger if that something leaves play since you lose control of it
when it leaves play. [bethmo 1996/01/15]
- A.4.Ruling.3 - Multiple abilities can trigger off the same thing happening,
but a single permanent's ability will never double-fire off of a single
action. For example, if you have two Scavenging Ghouls in play, each
will get a counter if a creature dies, but neither will get two counters.
[D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.4.Ruling.4 - If the trigger condition is prevented or replaced, then the
triggered ability will not trigger. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.Ruling.5 - The text "This permanent comes into play as/with <-something->"
is not a triggered ability. It just describes something that happens
as part of the event that puts the permanent into play. For example,
"this card comes into play with three +1/+1 counters on it."
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.4.Ruling.6 - A triggered ability can trigger on its own permanent leaving
play. See Rule A.4.20. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01] For example, an
Animate Artifact on a Soul Net will allow you to use the Soul Net's
ability when it is killed.
- A.4.Ruling.7 - Rule A.4.20 only applies to determine stuff read in by the
trigger. If the trigger sets up a continuous effect with an end
condition, the end condition is checked against the current game state,
not the state before the permanent left play. [D'Angelo 1999/05/26]
- A.4.Ruling.8 - If a card reads like "Whenever a player plays a <-color1->
or <-color2-> spell, do something", then it triggers only once if the
played spell is of both colors. It would need two "Whenever" statements
in order to trigger twice. This ruling applies to an "or" between
descriptions. [bethmo 1999/09/22] In contrast, if the "or" falls between
action as with "Whenever this card comes into play or goes to the
graveyard from play, do something", then it triggers if either action
occurs. [DeLaney 1999/10/17]
A.5 - Delayed Abilities
- A.5.1 - An effect may create a delayed ability that can do something at a
later time. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.5.2 - If a delayed ability is triggered, the trigger condition is not
checked until after the ability actually exists. This makes it possible
for the trigger condition to never be met. For example, an effect may
create the delayed ability "When this card leaves play, ...", but if the
card left play before this ability was created, then the delayed ability
will never be able to trigger. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.5.3 - A delayed ability that refers to a particular permanent will
continue to affect that permanent even if the permanent's characteristics
change. For example, "At end of turn, destroy that creature" will destroy
the permanent even if it is no longer a creature at end of turn.
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.5.4 - A delayed ability that refers to a permanent (or to a card in
another zone) will fail if that permanent is not still in play (or that
card is no longer in that other zone). This is true even if the card
returns to play (or the appropriate zone). For example, a card
reading "At end of turn, remove this card from the game" will not do
anything if the creature card leaves play before the end of turn.
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.5.5 - A delayed ability with a trigger condition will not trigger more
than once (unless it says otherwise). [CompRules 1999/11/01]
A.6 - Mana Abilities
- A.6.1 - Any activated ability which puts mana into a player's mana pool is
a mana ability. Any triggered ability that triggers off a mana ability
and which also puts mana into a player's mana pool is also a mana ability.
[CompRules 1999/11/01]
- A.6.2 - A mana ability resolves immediately, without going on the stack.
See Rule T.3.1. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.6.3 - A mana ability can be played when you have priority, or at a time
a mana payment is required (which normally means during the announcing or
resolving of a spell or ability that requires a mana payment).
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.6.4 - Triggered abilities that generate mana and trigger on a mana
ability, resolve immediately after the mana ability without going on the
stack. Triggered abilities that generate mana and which trigger on a
non-mana ability, are not mana abilities and go on the stack as normal.
[CompRules 1999/11/01] Note that the ability has to say it triggers on
something which is known to be a mana ability, such as tapping a land for
mana. Triggering off something that happens as part of a mana ability
does not count. For example, Cathodion triggers on being put into the
graveyard, so even though it gives mana it is not a mana ability since it
does not trigger on a known mana ability. So, if Cathodion is put in the
graveyard by a mana ability such as Ashnod's Altar it is still a
non-mana ability trigger. [DeLaney 1999/12/11]
- A.6.5 - A mana ability exists even if the game state does not allow it to
prodcuce mana at the current time. For example, the ability "{Tap}: Add
{G} to your mana pool for each creature you control." is still a mana
ability if you control no creatures. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.6.6 - An effect that copies or depends on the type of mana a card's
abilities can produce checks all normal effects (such as
Phantasmal Terrain changing a land's type) and replacement
effects (such as Contamination), but does not check additional mana
that might be generated due to triggered abilities (such as
Wild Growth or Fertile Ground). [WotC Rules Team 1999/03/18]
- A.6.7 - If a mana copying effect or triggered ability generates mana and
there is a choice of what type involved, the player playing the
mana-producing ability decides the color, regardless of who controls any
of these effects. [WotC Rules Team 1999/03/18] For example, if an
opponent places Fertile Ground on one of your lands, you decide the
color of mana it generates.
- A.6.8 - Abilities that trigger (see Rule A.4) when a land is tapped for
mana (such as Wild Growth and Mana Flare) trigger even if the land
produces zero mana with the current use of its mana ability.
[WotC Rules Team 1999/03/18]
- A.6.9 - Mana abilities do not go through the normal spell life cycle. They
resolve immediately after they are announced. Their timing looks like
this: [CompRules 1999/04/23]
1. Announcement -- Costs are paid. Targets are chosen. Mode choices.
See Rule T.4 for details.
2. Resolution -- Check targets at this time. If all of a spell or
ability's targets are invalid, it is countered. Apply any effects.
See Rule T.6 for details on how resolution works.
- A.6.10 - When there is a option to make a mana payment during the game, a
chance to play mana abilities is given just before that time. After you
play any mana abilities you want, then continue to do the action. If the
action has any choices, you don't make any choices or check any game
state for conditional actions until after mana abilities are played.
[D'Angelo 2000/02/27]
- A.6.Ruling.1 - Spells that put mana into a player's mana pool are not mana
abilities. They are played just like any other spell.
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.6.Ruling.2 - Triggered abilities (which are not themselves mana abilities)
which trigger when playing a mana ability go on the stack as normal.
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.6.Ruling.3 - Triggered abilities which try to counter an ability, will
be countered when they try to counter a mana ability, since the mana
ability is no longer on the stack. This is because of Rule A.6.9.
[D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.6.Ruling.4 - Being asked to pay zero mana counts as being asked to pay
mana for purposes of rule A.6.3. There actually has to be a mana circle
in the cost for this rule to apply. If there is no mana circle, then
you cannot use a mana ability under this rule. [Bethmo 1999/12/10] When
asked to "pay {1} for each <-something->" and there are no "somthings", then
you are being asked to pay zero mana. [bethmo 2000/02/15]
A.7 - Banding
- A.7.1 - The ability is written as "Banding". On older cards, the ability
was written as "Bands". [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.7.2 - Banding consists of two separate abilities, which can be referred
to as "mutual assistance" and "damage sharing". [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.7.3 - Mutual assistance only applies to attacking creatures. It is an
agreement that if any one of the attackers is blocked, that the whole
"band" will stop and gang up on the blocker(s). [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.7.4 - When declaring attackers, any number of Banding creatures and up to
one creature without Banding may be grouped together in an attacking
"band". [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.10b]
- A.7.5 - Use of Banding to attack is optional. [Fifth Edition, Page 29]
- A.7.6 - Use of Banding to form an attacking band ends at the end of combat.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.10d]
- A.7.7 - If Banding is removed from an attacker after the attacking band
is declared, the band will still stay together. A creature that is
removed from combat, however, leaves the band.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.10d]
- A.7.8 - If any creature blocks a member of an attacking band, then the
creature is also considered to be block all other members of that band,
even if the creature could not normally block those other creatures.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.10e] If any member of the band is blocked
by a spell or ability, the entire band becomes blocked.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.10g]
- A.7.9 - Each attacking creature is a separate source of damage. The
creatures are not lumped together into one large source.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.10f]
- A.7.10 - Creatures do not gain or lose abilities when banded to attack.
They each keep their separate abilities and identity.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.10f]
- A.7.11 - Damage sharing only applies when combat damage (see Rule C.1.8)
is assigned. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.7.12 - When assigning damage in combat (on either attack or defense),
if at least one creature with Banding ability is present in a group of
creatures which are blocked by or which are blocking the same creature,
then the group of creatures is subject to damage sharing.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.10h]
- A.7.13 - Combat damage is divided among a damage sharing group of
creatures by the controller of those creatures. This is opposite to the
normal case where damage is assigned by the controller of the creatures
which are dealing the damage (see Rule C.5). [Fifth Edition, Page 29]
- A.7.14 - Damage sharing is not optional. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.7.15 - Damage can be assigned among the creatures in any legal way
desired. It is legal to put zero damage on some and to put more damage
than a creature's toughness on another, as long as all of the damage is
assigned to a creature. [Fifth Edition, Page 30]
- A.7.16 - Banding is a static, non-cumulative ability. See Rule A.1.2.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.10a/10i]
- A.7.Ruling.1 - To block an attacking band with a creature, your blocker
only needs to be able to block one member of the band for mutual
assistance to take effect. For example, a Mesa Pegasus banded with
a Fear-enchanted Scathe Zombies can be blocked by either a flying
creature (by blocking the Mesa Pegasus) or a black or artifact
creature (by blocking the Scathe Zombies). [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.7.Ruling.2 - Creatures do not "band for defense". Even without
banding, multiple creatures can block a single attacker. Creatures are
assigned as blockers individually. Banding only affects the damage
sharing. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.7.Ruling.3 - If a Banding creature dies before damage is assigned, then
it does not count towards determining if damage sharing applies.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.10h]
- A.7.Ruling.4 - You can declare multiple separate "bands" of attackers.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.10c]
A.8 - Bands with Other
- A.8.1 - The ability is written as "bands with other <-creature type->".
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.11b]
- A.8.2 - When declaring attackers, creatures with Bands with Other ability
may "band" together, as per the normal Banding rules (see Rule A.7.3
through Rule A.7.10), with any number of creatures which either have
Banding or have the same "bands with other <-creature type->" ability.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.11b]
- A.8.3 - Use of Bands with Other to form an attacking band is optional.
[D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.8.4 - Use of Bands with Other to form an attacking band ends at the end
of combat. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.11a]
- A.8.5 - When assigning damage in combat (on either attack or defense), if
at least two creatures with the same "bands with other <-creature type->"
ability are present in a group of creatures, the group is treated as if
a Banding creature were present (see Rule A.7.11 through Rule A.7.15).
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.11c]
- A.8.6 - If Bands with Other is removed from an attacker after the attacking
band is declared, the band will still stay together.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.11a]
- A.8.7 - Bands with Other is a static, non-cumulative ability. See
Rule A.1.2. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.11a]
- A.8.8 - If a spell or ability causes a permanent to lose Banding, then it
loses all Bands with Other ability as well. This is because Bands with
Other is just a limited form of Banding. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.11a]
- Note - The Bands with Other ability was introduced in the Legends expansion
set and has not appeared in any other expansion.
A.9 - Buyback
- A.9.1 - The ability is written as "Buyback <-cost->". The cost can include
mana, sacrifices, loss of life, or any other action in the game.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.16a]
- A.9.2 - Buyback is defined as "You may pay an additional <-cost-> as you play
this spell. If you do, put this card into your hand instead of into your
graveyard as this spell resolves.". [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.16a]
- A.9.3 - The Buyback cost is paid when announcing the spell.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.16a]
- A.9.4 - The use of Buyback is optional. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.9.5 - The spell does not go to your hand if it is countered.
[CompRules 1999/04/23] Remember that a targeted spell is countered if all
of its targets are illegal on resolution (see Rule G.39.6).
- A.9.6 - Buyback is a replacement effect (see Rule T.10).
[CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.9.Ruling.1 - Cost reducing effects can be applied to Buyback costs.
[D'Angelo 1997/10/17] See Rule K.20.Ruling.1.
- A.9.Ruling.2 - If a Buyback spell is cast by someone other than the owner
(using Grinning Totem), the card goes to the owner's graveyard, not to
anyone's hand. [D'Angelo 2000/01/18]
A.10 - Cumulative Upkeep
- A.10.1 - The ability is written as "Cumulative upkeep - <-cost->". The cost
can be in mana, sacrifices, loss of life, or any other effect on the game.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.13a]
- A.10.2 - This ability means "At the beginning of your upkeep, put a
cumulative upkeep counter on this permanent. Then sacrifice this
permanent unless you <-pay cost-> for each cumulative upkeep counter on the
permanent." [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.13a]
- A.10.3 - It is a triggered ability (see Rule A.4) that triggers at the start
of your upkeep. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.13a]
- A.10.4 - If a permanent has multiple cumulative upkeep abilities, each one
triggers separately, but each one counts all cumulative upkeep counters.
For example, if a permanent has two instances of "Cumulative Upkeep - Pay
one life", then both would trigger. When the first trigger resolves, you
add one counter and pay the life total (1 if no counters were there
before). When the second trigger resolves, you add a second counter and
pay the life total (2 if no counters were there before).
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.13b]
- A.10.5 - If a new cumulative upkeep is added by adding text to a card, such
as with Mana Chains, then a new cumulative upkeep ability is added to
the card. Each cumulative upkeep ability triggers separately.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.13b]
- A.10.Ruling.1 - The result of adding counters is that the cost to be paid is
one times the cost the first time it is paid, two times the cost the
second time, three times the cost the third time, and so on. See
Rule A.10.2. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.13a] For example, if a card
has "Cumulative Upkeep: {B} and 2 life", you pay {B} and 2 life on the
first upkeep, {B}{B} and 4 life on the next upkeep, {B}{B}{B} and 6 life
on the next upkeep, and so on. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.10.Ruling.2 - If cumulative upkeep is not paid for some period of time
because the permanent is not in play or was temporarily changed so that it
no longer had a cumulative upkeep, the cumulative upkeep tracking is not
reset because the cumulative upkeep counters are not removed. Payment
resumes as soon as it applies. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.10.Ruling.3 - Cumulative upkeep is not reset if the permanent changes
controllers, because the counters are not removed. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.10.Ruling.4 - Permanents which count their last paid cumulative upkeep
count the number of cumulative upkeep counters on the card and multiply
by the cost per counter. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.10.Ruling.5 - This ability is put on the stack (see Rule T.2) at the
beginning of upkeep. If the permanent leaves play before this ability
resolves, you still have to resolve it. Of course, you can just decide
not to pay and there will be nothing to sacrifice. But you can also
choose to pay if you really want to. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.10.Ruling.6 - If the cumulative upkeep cost somehow changes between the
time the ability is placed on the stack and when it resolves, use the cost
at the time it was put on the stack. [DeLaney 2000/01/13]
A.11 - Cycling
- A.11.1 - The ability is written "Cycling <-cost->".
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.18a]
- A.11.2 - The ability means "Pay <-cost->, discard this card from your hand:
Draw a card. Play this ability only if this card is in your hand."
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.18a]
- A.11.Ruling.1 - Using Cycling is not a spell, it's an activated ability of a
card in your hand. It cannot be countered by things which counter spells
or things that counter activated abilities of permanents.
[D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.11.Ruling.2 - You draw the card when the ability resolves, and if that
card can be legally played, you can play it before letting any of the
other spells and abilities on the stack (see Rule T.2) resolve.
[D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.11.Ruling.3 - The activated ability remains while the card is in play
even though it cannot be used. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.18b]
- A.11.Ruling.4 - Effects that trigger on "when this card is cycled" trigger
when the cycling ability is played. The triggered ability will resolve
before the card goes to the graveyard. [Onslaught FAQ 2002/09/24]
- Note - Cards used the reminder text "You may pay <-cost-> and discard this
card from your hand to draw a card. Play this ability any time you could
play an instant." Rule A.11.2 shows the more correct text.
A.12 - Echo
- A.12.1 - The ability is written "Echo". [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.19a]
- A.12.2 - This ability means "At the beginning of your upkeep, if this
permanent came under your control since the beginning of your last upkeep,
sacrifice it unless you pay its mana cost."
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.19a]
- A.12.Ruling.1 - The Echo payment is required if you gained control of the
creature by any means, such as putting it into play from the graveyard,
taking control from another player, or having the card phase in.
[D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.12.Ruling.2 - The Echo payment is only required if you control this card
at the beginning of your upkeep. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.12.Ruling.3 - If you gain and lose control of the card several times
before your upkeep, you still only pay the Echo cost once.
[D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.12.Ruling.4 - Effects which modify the play cost of a spell, like the
Emerald Medallion or Gloom, cannot be used to modify the Echo cost.
These effects only apply to the announcing of spells, and do not apply to
the announcing of abilities like Echo. [D'Angelo 1998/11/25]
- A.12.Ruling.5 - If you manage to have it in play through an upkeep, but
don't have to pay the echo (for example, if its abilities are ignored
due to Humility and therefore do not trigger), then you can manage to
avoid the echo payment. [D'Angelo 1999/03/03]
- A.12.Ruling.6 - If it enters play during your upkeep, you pay during the
following upkeep. [Bethmo 1999/03/27]
- A.12.Ruling.7 - This ability is put on the stack (see Rule T.2) at the
beginning of upkeep. If the permanent leaves play before this ability
resolves, you still have to resolve it. Of course, you can just decide
not to pay and there will be nothing to sacrifice. But you can also
choose to pay if you really want to. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.12.Ruling.8 - You decide on resolution of the triggered ability whether
to pay for the Echo cost or not. [Barclay 1999/06/02] (This is not saying
you decide on resolution of the spell which has Echo.)
- Note - Cards used the reminder text "During your next upkeep after this
permanent comes under your control, pay its mana cost or sacrifice it."
Rule A.12.2 shows the more correct text.
- Note - Also see Mana Cost, Rule K.18.
A.13 - Evasion:
- A.13.1 - Evasion is not a specific ability, but is instead a category of
abilities which limit what creatures can be assigned to block a creature.
[D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.13.2 - Evasion abilities are cumulative. In order to be assigned as a
blocker, a creature must not be subject to any of the evasion exclusions.
For example, if a creature had "cannot be blocked by black creatures" and
"cannot be blocked by walls", then it could only be blocked by a creature
that was both not black and not a wall. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 501.2]
- A.13.3 - A creature may also have an ability which restricts its own
blocking assignments. The rules for evasion apply to such abilities.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 501.3]
- A.13.4 - These are static abilities (see Rule T.3) that modify the
declare blockers step of combat (see Rule C.4).
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 501.1]
- A.13.Ruling.1 - The abilities can be written in either a positive or
negative sense. For example, "this creature can only be blocked by walls"
or "this creature cannot be blocked by non-walls". When combining
evasion abilities, it's often easiest to put them in the same sense.
[D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.13.Ruling.2 - Evasion abilities only apply to blocker assignment (see
Rule C.4). If a creature becomes a blocker by a means other than being
directly assigned, then it is not subject to any evasion abilities. For
example, if a creature blocks one member of a band of attackers, it
becomes a blocker of other members of the band regardless of any evasion
abilities those other members have. See Rule A.7.8. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.13.Ruling.3 - An attacking creature with an evasion ability may not
"turn off" the ability and choose to be blockable. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- Note - Fear (see Rule A.15), Flying (see Rule A.19), Landwalk (see
Rule A.24), Protection (see Rule A.28), and Shadow (see Rule A.30) are
evasion abilities.
A.14 - Fading
- A.14.1 - The ability is written "Fading X". [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.20a]
- A.14.2 - The ability means "This permanent comes into play with X fade
counters on it. ; At the beginning of your upkeep, remove a fade counter
from this permanent. If you can't, sacrifice the permanent.".
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.20a]
- Note - Some cards with Fading do not have the reminder text, but they still
have the same ability. [Nemesis FAQ 2000/02/07]
A.15 - Fear
- A.15.1 - The ability is written "Fear". [Onslaught FAQ 2002/09/24]
- A.15.2 - A creature with Fear cannot be blocked except by artifact creatures
and/or black creatures. [Onslaught FAQ 2002/09/24]
- A.15.3 - Fear is a non-cumulative ability. Having Fear more than once gives
no additional effect. See Rule A.1.2. [D'Angelo 2002/10/09]
- A.15.4 - Fear is a static ability. See Rule A.3. [D'Angelo 2002/10/09]
- A.15.Ruling.1 - Fear is an evasion ability (see Rule A.13), so it is
cumulative with other evasion abilities. [Onslaught FAQ 2002/09/24]
A.16 - First Strike
- A.16.1 - The ability is written "First strike".
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.2]
- A.16.2 - Creatures with First Strike deal combat damage before creatures
without it. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.2b] See Rule C.5.9 for exactly
when this happens.
- A.16.3 - If a creature without First Strike is killed during First Strike
damage dealing, then it will not deal combat damage at all.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.2b] See Rule C.5.9.
- A.16.4 - This is a static ability (see Rule A.3) that modifies the rules
for the combat damage step. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.2a]
- A.16.5 - This is a non-cumulative ability. Having First Strike more than
once gives no additional effect. See Rule A.1.2.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.2d]
A.17 - Flanking
- A.17.1 - The ability is written "Flanking". [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.3]
- A.17.2 - Whenever a creature without Flanking blocks a creature with
Flanking, the blocking creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.3b]
- A.17.3 - Flanking is a triggered ability. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.3a]
- A.17.4 - Flanking is cumulative. A creature with Flanking twice gives the
the -1/-1 twice (a total of -2/-2 but in two separate triggered
abilities). [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.3c]
- A.17.Ruling.1 - This may kill the blocker prior to damage being assigned in
combat, but the attacker is still blocked. See Rule C.4.8.
[D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.17.Ruling.2 - Flanking applies to blockers which are not assigned to the
Flanking creature directly. For example, creatures that become blockers
due to blocking a member of a band which includes the Flanking creature
are subject to the Flanking -1/-1 ability. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.17.Ruling.3 - Gaining Flanking after blockers are declared will have no
effect on the blockers because the time for Flanking to trigger has
already passed. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.17.Ruling.4 - If an attacking creature has multiple instances of the
Flanking ability, even one instance of Flanking on the blocking creature
will negate the effect. [D'Angelo 1998/06/15]
A.18 - Flashback
- A.18.1 - The ability is written "Flashback <-cost->". In addition, cards with
Flashback have an icon of a gravestone by the card's title.
[CompRules Update in Odyssey FAQ 2001/10/04 - 502.22a]
- A.18.2 - The ability means "You may play this card from your graveyard
by paying <-cost-> rather than paying its mana cost. If you do, remove this
card from the game instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would
leave the stack." [CompRules Update in Judgment FAQ 2002/05/28 - 502.22a]
- A.18.Ruling.1 - Flashback is an alternative cost for the spell.
[CompRules Update in Odyssey FAQ 2001/10/04 - 502.22a]
See Rule E.1 for more details on how alternative costs work.
- A.18.Ruling.2 - If any other replacements are applied before this one,
this one will still be applied afterwards since it replaces anything.
[DeLaney 2001/10/13]
- A.18.Ruling.3 - Any restrictions on when the spell can be played or options
on how the spell is played apply as normal. Flashback does not override
these restrictions or options based on card type or those defined in the
card text. [DeLaney 2001/11/07]
- A.18.Ruling.4 - If the spell is countered, it is removed from the game
instead of going to the graveyard. [D'Angelo 2001/12/16]
- A.18.Ruling.5 - The card is removed from the graveyard and placed on the
stack during announcement just as if you played it from your hand. On
resolution or on being countered, it is removed from the game instead of
going to the graveyard (or anywhere else). [D'Angelo 2002/10/15]
A.19 - Flying
- A.19.1 - The ability is written "Flying". [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.4]
- A.19.2 - A creature with Flying cannot be blocked by a creature without
flying. A creature with flying can block a creature with or without
flying. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.4b]
- A.19.3 - Flying is a non-cumulative ability. Having Flying more than once
gives no additional effect. See Rule A.1.2.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.4c]
- A.19.4 - Flying is a static ability. See Rule A.3.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 501.1]
- A.19.Ruling.1 - Flying is an evasion ability (see Rule A.13), so it is
cumulative with other evasion abilities. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.4a]
A.20 - Haste
- A.20.1 - The ability is written "Haste". [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.5]
- A.20.2 - A creature with Haste can attack or use activated abilities whose
cost include the tap symbol even if it hasn't been controlled by its
controller continuously since the beginning of his or her most recent
turn. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.5b]
- A.20.3 - Haste is a non-cumulative ability. Having Haste more than once
gives no additional effect. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.5c]
- A.20.4 - Haste is a static ability. See Rule A.3.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.5a]
- A.20.Ruling.1 - Cards with Haste have the reminder text: "This creature may
attack and {Tap} the turn it comes under your control." This is not
completely accurate. The full definition is in Rule A.20.2.
[D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.20.Ruling.2 - Haste removes the normal "cannot attack" restriction due
to not being in play at the start of a player's turn. It does not
remove any other combat restrictions. For example, it will not make a
Wall able to attack, give you a second attack in a turn, or allow you to
attack using a Raging Goblin if the defending player has
Island Sanctuary activated. [D'Angelo 2000/11/17]
- Note - Haste is identical to the words "is unaffected by summoning sickness"
used in previous versions of the rules. [DeLaney 2000/01/13]
A.21 - Horsemanship
- A.21.1 - The ability is written as "Horsemanship". [D'Angelo 2000/06/05]
- A.21.2 - A creature without Horsemanship cannot block a creature which has
Horsemanship. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.17b]
- A.21.3 - Horsemanship is a non-cumulative ability. Having Horsemanship more
than once gives no additional effect. See Rule A.1.2.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.17c]
- A.21.4 - Horsemanship is a static ability. See Rule A.3.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.17a]
- A.21.5 - Horsemanship is an evasion ability (see Rule A.13), so it is
cumulative with other evasion abilities. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.17a]
- A.21.Ruling.1 - A creature with Horsemanship can block a creature without
Horsemanship. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.17b]
- Note - Horsemanship has only been used in the Portal: Three Kingdoms
expansion.
A.22 - Kicker
- A.22.1 - The ability is written "Kicker <-cost->".
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.21a]
- A.22.2 - The ability means "You may pay an additional <-cost-> when playing
this spell." The text will then include a description of what happens if
you pay (or do not pay) the optional cost.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.21a/b]
- A.22.3 - The additional cost is paid along with the other costs for
announcing the spell. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.21a]
- A.22.4 - As a special rule for kicker costs, if the part of the spell which
only occurs if you pay the kicker cost includes targets, you only choose
those targets if you pay the kicker cost. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.21c]
- A.22.5 - A spell may have multiple kicker costs listed. If so, each one is
treated independently. In addition the card text may identify each of
these kickers by the cost paid. If the cost is altered for some reason,
the card text will still apply because you paid the appropriate kicker.
The use of the costs in the text is a convenience.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.21d]
- A.22.Ruling.1 - The kicker cost does not count as part of the mana cost or
converted mana cost for the spell. [Invasion FAQ 2000/10/03]
- A.22.Ruling.2 - You can only pay the kicker cost once each time you play
the spell. You cannot choose to pay it multiple times.
[Invasion FAQ 2000/10/03]
- A.22.Ruling.3 - You can only pay kicker costs when playing the spell from
your hand (or when playing it as though it were in your hand). You
cannot pay when the card is put into play directly.
[Invasion FAQ 2000/10/03]
- A.22.Ruling.4 - Cost reducing effects can be applied to Kicker costs.
[D'Angelo 2001/01/16] See Rule K.20.Ruling.1.
A.23 - Landhome
- A.23.1 - The ability is written as "<-land type->home", using a land type in
the name. For example, Islandhome. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.23.2 - A creature with Landhome cannot be declared as an attacker unless
the defending player controls at least one land of the appropriate land
type. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.23.3 - The permanent is put into its owner's graveyard if the controller
does not control any lands of the appropriate land type. This is done
as a triggered ability (see Rule A.4). [CompRules 1999/04/23]
- A.23.Ruling.1 - The land type (if it is a basic type) can be affected by
Magical Hack or Mind Bend. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.23.Ruling.2 - If Landhome is ever on a non-creature artifact, land, or
enchantment, the ability still functions. [WotC Rules Team 1998/03/01]
A.24 - Landwalk
- A.24.1 - The ability is written as "<-land type->walk", using a land type in
the name. For example, Swampwalk or Plainswalk.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.6a]
- A.24.2 - A creature with landwalk is unblockable as long as the defending
player controls at least one land of the specified type.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.6b]
- A.24.3 - Landwalk of a particular type is a non-cumulative ability. Having
the same type of Landwalk more than once gives no additional effect.
See Rule A.1.2. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.6e]
- A.24.4 - Landwalk is a static ability. See Rule A.3.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 501.1]
- A.24.Ruling.1 - If the defending player does not control any lands of the
appropriate land type, then the ability does nothing.
[D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.24.Ruling.2 - Even creatures with the same Landwalk ability cannot block
such creatures if the defending player controls the appropriate land.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.6d]
- A.24.Ruling.3 - The land type (if it is a basic type) can be affected by
Magical Hack or Mind Bend. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.24.Ruling.4 - Landwalk is an evasion ability (see Rule A.13), so it is
cumulative with other evasion abilities. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.6b]
- A.24.Ruling.5 - Spells and abilities which look for a kind of Landwalk only
find the exact kind of Landwalk specified. For example, a spell which
targets a creature with Islandwalk will not work on a creature with
Snow-Covered Islandwalk, as that is a different kind of Islandwalk.
[D'Angelo 2001/09/17]
- Note - Also see Snow-Covered Lands, Rule K.21.
A.25 - Madness
- A.25.1 - The ability is written "Madness <-cost->". [D'Angelo 2002/02/23]
- A.25.2 - This ability has two abilities that are part of it. The first
one is "If a player would discard this card from his or her hand, that
player discards it but may remove it from the game instead of putting it
into his or her graveyard." The second one is, "Whenever this card is
removed from the game this way, until he or she passes next, he or she
may play it at any time he or she could play an instant as though it were
in his or her hand by paying <-cost-> rather than paying its mana cost.
When he or she passes next, he or she puts it into his or her graveyard."
[CompRules 2002/02/20 - 502.24a]
- A.25.3 - Playing a card using this ability follows the rules for
alternate costs (see Rule E.1). [CompRules 2002/02/20 - 502.24b]
- A.25.Ruling.1 - The fine grain timing around this ability can be a bit
difficult to follow. What happens is that if you discard the card (it
does not matter why you are discarding), then you get the choice of
whether or not you want a chance to play the card. If you don't want to,
simply put it in your graveyard as normal. If you might want to, you do
not pay at this time. Instead you remove the card from the game and put a
triggered ability on the stack (as per those rules, see Rule A.3). What
this means is that players may respond to this trigger with other spells
and abilities. Once any responses are resolved and both players pass,
the triggered ability resolves. You can now play that spell just like
you would as if it were in your hand (but it is not in your hand) by
paying the Madness cost instead of the mana cost. And this spell can
be played any time an instant is legal, regardless of its type. As
normal, you can only play a spell or ability when it is your opportunity
to do so. The text saying "until he or she passes next" means that you
can choose to put other spells or abilities on the stack prior to playing
the Madness spell. [D'Angelo 2002/02/23]
- A.25.Ruling.2 - You are in no way required to play the spell even if you
choose to remove it from the game. You can simply choose to pass when
you have a chance to play something and the Madness spell is placed
into the graveyard. The timing for putting it into the graveyard is
also a bit odd since this is also a triggered ability. When you pass,
put a triggered ability on the stack. When that ability resolves, the
card it put into the graveyard. [D'Angelo 2002/02/23]
- A.25.Ruling.3 - Madness does not allow you to discard the card just
because you want to. Another spell, ability, or game rule has to
cause the card to be discarded. [D'Angelo 2002/02/23]
A.26 - Morph
- A.26.1 - The ability is written "Morph <-cost->". [Onslaught Rules 2002/09/15]
- A.26.2 - The ability means "You may play this card as a 2/2 face-down
creature, with no text, no name, no subtypes, no expansion symbol, and a
mana cost of {0}, by paying {3} rather than its mana cost."
[Onslaught Rules 2002/09/15]
- A.26.3 - In addition, the following effect is on a face-down card played
using Morph. "Any time you can play an instant, you may show all players
the Morph cost of this card, then pay that cost. If you do so, the card
is turned face-up. This action does not use the stack".
[Onslaught Rules 2002/09/15]
- A.26.4 - When playing a card using Morph, it goes on the stack face down
and then enters play face down. You cannot turn the card face up while it
is on the stack. [Onslaught Rules 2002/09/15] The other players don't
even get to see the card before it gets put on the stack (unless it came
from a zone where it was revealed to begin with). [DeLaney 2002/09/20]
- A.26.5 - Morph is a static ability. [Onslaught Rules 2002/09/15]
- A.26.Ruling.1 - Turning a Morph card face-up does not cause its "comes into
play" triggered abilities to trigger. [Onslaught Rules 2002/09/15]
- A.26.Ruling.2 - The alternate cost of Morph cannot be combined with other
alternate costs, such as Aluren. [Jordan 2002/09/07]
- A.26.Ruling.3 - Because the act of turning a card face up does not go on the
stack, it cannot be countered or prevented. [Onslaught Rules 2002/09/15]
- Note - Also see Alternate Cost, Rule E.1.
- Note - Also see Face Down Cards, Rule E.5.
A.27 - Phasing
- A.27.1 - The ability is written "Phasing". [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.27.2 - A permanent with Phasing ability will "phase out" (see Rule G.27.1)
at the beginning of its controller's untap step (see Rule P.5) before
untapping any permanents. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.15b]
- A.27.3 - Phasing is a static ability. See Rule A.3.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.15a]
- A.27.4 - Phasing is not cumulative. Having more than one instance of
this ability has no additional effect. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.15p]
- Note - The rules for phasing in and out are described in Rule G.27.
A.28 - Protection
- A.28.1 - The ability is written as "Protection from <-something->". Usually
the something is a color (such as "Protection from Black"), but it may
be Artifacts or something else. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.7a]
- A.28.2 - Creatures (or other permanents) with this ability have four
benefits: [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.7b]
1. Prevents all damage from <-something-> sources.
2. Cannot have <-something-> creatures assigned to block it.
3. Cannot be targeted by <-something-> abilities and spells.
4. Cannot be enchanted by <-something-> enchantments.
- A.28.3 - Not being enchantable by such enchantments means that the
appropriate local enchantment (Enchant Creature) cards are put into
the graveyard if they are ever on the creature. So giving a card
protection will put any existing local enchantments of that color into the
graveyard. This is a state-based effect. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.7b]
- A.28.4 - Protection of a particular type is a non-cumulative ability.
Having the same type of Protection more than once gives no additional
effect. See Rule A.1.2. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.7c]
- A.28.5 - Protection is a static ability. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.7a]
- A.28.Ruling.1 - The Protection ability does not grant immunity to effects.
Only the specific list in Rule A.28.2 is granted. So, untargeted spells
and abilities can affect the creature. For example, Wrath of God can
affect a creature with Protection from White because Wrath of God is not
targeted. And creatures with Protection from Red are still affected by
the untargeted static ability of Orcish Oriflamme.
[D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.28.Ruling.2 - Untargeted spells and abilities which do damage will assign
damage to the creature, but that damage will be prevented by benefit
number one so the damage is never actually dealt. For example,
Pestilence cannot damage a White Knight. The ability is untargeted,
but the damage is prevented. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.28.Ruling.3 - Protection will not stop the creature from being sacrificed.
See Rule G.33.2. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.28.Ruling.4 - Protection does not protect any enchantments on the
creature from being targeted. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.28.Ruling.5 - Protection does not work while the creature's card is not
in play. For example, a creature with Protection from Black can be
targeted by a Raise Dead. See Rule A.1.4. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.28.Ruling.6 - Protection includes an evasion ability (see Rule A.13), so
it is cumulative with other evasion abilities. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
- A.28.Ruling.7 - Protection only works while the card is in play, so it does
not prevent the spell from being targeted in the graveyard or on the
spell stack (which means a Counterspell can target a creature with
Protection from Blue). [D'Angelo 1999/11/23]
- A.28.Ruling.8 - Protection from Instants and Sorceries means that the
permanent cannot be targeted by an instant or a sorcery and that damage
that would be dealt by an instant or a sorcery to that permanent is
prevented. [Odyssey FAQ 2001/10/04]
- A.28.Ruling.9 - Protection from Creatures means that the permanent cannot
be the target of abilities of creatures, that damage from a creature is
prevented, and that it cannot be blocked by a creature.
[Odyssey FAQ 2001/10/04]
- A.28.Ruling.10 - Protection from Enchantments means that the permanent
cannot be target of enchantment spells or the abilities of enchantment,
that damage from enchantments is prevented, that it cannot be enchanted
by any enchantments, and that it cannot be blocked by any enchantment
that also happens to be a creature. [Odyssey FAQ 2001/10/04]
A.29 - Rampage
- A.29.1 - The ability is written "Rampage X", where X is a number. For
example, "Rampage 2". Some older cards were written "Rampage: X".
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.12a]
- A.29.2 - A creature with "Rampage X" means "Whenever this creature becomes
blocked by two or more creatures, it gets +X/+X until end of turn for each
creature blocking it beyond the first." [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.12a]
- A.29.3 - Rampage is a triggered ability that triggers in the declare
blockers step of combat (see Rule C.4). [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.12a]
- A.29.4 - Rampage is a cumulative ability. Having Rampage more than once
will cause each Rampage ability to trigger. For example, a creature with
Rampage 2 and Rampage 1 will get both the +2/+2 and +1/+1 abilities to
trigger for each appropriate blocker assignment. See Rule A.1.2.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.12c]
- A.29.Ruling.1 - Rampage does apply to blockers which are not assigned to the
Rampage creature directly. For example, creatures that become blockers
due to blocking a member of a band which includes the Rampage creature do
count as additional blockers for the Rampage ability.
[D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
- A.29.Ruling.2 - Removing a blocker from the combat does not change the
bonus. It is calculated once and lasts until the end of the turn.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.12b]
A.30 - Shadow
- A.30.1 - The ability is written "Shadow". [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.8]
- A.30.2 - A creature with Shadow cannot be blocked by creatures without
Shadow, and a creature without Shadow cannot be blocked by a creature
with Shadow. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.8b]
- A.30.3 - Shadow is a non-cumulative ability. Having Shadow more than once
gives no additional effect. See Rule A.1.2.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.8c]
- A.30.Ruling.1 - Shadow includes an evasion ability (see Rule A.13), so it is
cumulative with other evasion abilities. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.8a]
- A.30.Ruling.2 - It is possible for Banding to result in a Shadow creature
blocking or being blocked by a non-Shadow creature. This is not illegal.
[D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
A.31 - Threshold
- A.31.1 - The ability is written "Threshold - <-ability->".
- A.31.2 - The ability means "As long as you have seven or more cards in your
graveyard, this card has '<-ability->'."
[CompRules Update in Odyssey FAQ - 502.23a]
- A.31.3 - The ability's text is only on the card as an ability if you have
seven or more cards in your graveyard. Otherwise, the text only exists
as a potential ability inside the Threshold ability's text.
[CompRules Update in Odyssey FAQ - 502.23b] In general, it's easiest to
just think of the text not being there at all. This results in the same
answer to all rules questions.
- A.31.4 - An instant or sorcery card with Threshold has the ability only
while the card is on the stack, not while it is in your hand or anywhere
else. An artifact, creature, enchantment, or land card or token with
Threshold has the ability only while it is in play.
[CompRules Update in Odyssey FAQ - 502.23c]
- A.31.Ruling.1 - If the ability is static, the ability is either "on"
or "off". [Odyssey Rules Insert 2001/10/04] When it is "on", it is
treated as if it were always on the permanent. It is ordered for
continuous effects as if it entered play at the same time the permanent
did. [DeLaney 2001/10/13]
- A.31.Ruling.2 - Activated abilities only check the Threshold condition when
the ability is announced. It is not checked again at resolution.
[Odyssey Rules Insert 2001/10/04]
- A.31.Ruling.3 - For triggered abilities, they only trigger if the Threshold
is true at the time when (think "just before") the trigger condition
occurs. [Odyssey Rules Insert 2001/10/04]
- A.31.Ruling.4 - For instants and sorceries, the threshold condition is only
checked on resolution. [DeLaney 2001/10/13]
- A.31.Ruling.5 - You may still use text altering spells and abilities such as
from Sleight of Mind. These spells and abilities can be used when
there is no text to alter (or when text only exists in a potential form)
and once the ability appears (when Threshold is met), the alteration will
be applied to the text as it would have been had the text been there the
whole time. [Barclay 2001/10/22]
- A.31.Ruling.6 - A card may achieve Threshold during the announcement of a
spell or ability. If so the Threshold ability text starts at the time
Threshold is gained. Usually this doesn't matter, but it may.
For example, if Boneshard Slasher is in play and someone uses
Narcissism (discard a card and target a creature), you can refer to
Rule T.4.2 and see that the targeting occurs before the discard, so the
Boneyard Slasher is targeted before Threshold occurs. Therefore, the
Slasher's ability to trigger on becoming targeted won't trigger this
time. [Jordan 2002/05/14]
A.32 - Trample
- A.32.1 - The ability is written "Trample". [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.9]
- A.32.2 - Trample modifies the rules for assigning combat damage when a
creature with Trample is attacking. Trample has no effect if the creature
is blocking or while not in combat. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.9a]
- A.32.3 - If all the creatures blocking a Trample attacker receive lethal
damage (or more), any remaining damage can be assigned to the defending
player. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.9b] You are not required to assign
damage to the defending player and you are not required to divide the
damage among the blockers in any particular way, but if you do assign it
so that all the blockers receive lethal damage, you have the option to
assign to the defending player. For example, if a
Force of Nature (8/8 Trample) is blocked by three 2/2 creatures, you
could a) assign all 8 damage to one blocker, b) 4 to each of two blockers,
c) 3 to one 3 to another and 2 to the third, d) 3 to one, 2 to each other,
and 1 to the defending player, e) 2 to each blocker and 2 to the defending
player, and so on. [D'Angelo 2001/08/15]
- A.32.4 - If all blocking creatures are removed from combat, all of the
Trample creature's damage is assigned to the defending player.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.9c]
- A.32.5 - If a blocking creature is to receive damage from more than
one attacking creature because it blocked multiple attackers (due to an
ability or because the attackers were Banded), the player assigning the
damage may assign the non-Trample creature's damage first in order to
maximize the amount that can be assigned to the defending player. (Note
that the damage is really assigned all at once, not "first" and "next",
but it is easier to explain this way.) [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.9f]
- A.32.6 - Trample is a non-cumulative ability. Having Trample more than once
gives no additional effect. See Rule A.1.2.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.9g]
- A.32.7 - Trample is a static ability. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.9a]
- A.32.8 - Assigning damage from a Trample creature only considers the actual
toughness of the creature, not any abilities or effects that might prevent
or redirect damage once it is assigned. For example, if a 2/2 creature
with Protection from Green blocked a Force of Nature, you would only
need to assign 2 damage to it, even though that damage will be prevented
by the ability. Another way of thinking of this is that you need to
assign enough damage that the creature would be lethally damaged if
nothing prevented or redirected the damage.
[CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.9e]
- A.32.Ruling.1 - If a creature was damaged prior to combat damage being
assigned, you only need to assign enough additional damage to make the
creature have damage on it equal to its toughness before satisfying the
Trample rules. In other words, enough to make the creature have lethal
damage (see Rule K.10.4). [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 502.9b]