| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
306 - Combat Phase 
  306.1 - The combat phase has five steps, which proceed in order: beginning
    of combat, declare attackers, declare blockers, combat damage, and end of
    combat.  The declare blockers and combat damage steps are skipped if no
    creatures are declared as attackers  or put into play attacking (see
    Rule 308.4).  There are two combat damage steps if any attacking or
    blocking creature has first strike (see Rule 502.2) or double strike (see
    Rule 502.28). [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  306.2 - During the combat phase, the active player is the attacking player;
    creatures that player controls may attack.  As the combat phase starts,
    the active player chooses one of his or her opponents.  The chosen
    opponent is the defending player; that player and planeswalkers he or she
    controls may be attacked.  Some multiplayer games allow the active player
    to attack multiple other players.  See Rule 602, "Attack Multiple Players
    Option," and Rule 606, "Two-Headed Giant Variant." [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  306.3 - Only a creature can attack or block.  Only a player or a
    planeswalker can be attacked. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  306.3a - If an effect would put a noncreature permanent into play attacking
    or blocking, the permanent does come into play but it's never considered
    to be an attacking or blocking permanent. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  306.4 - A creature or planeswalker is removed from combat if it leaves
    play (such as by being destroyed or removed from the game); if its
    controller changes; if it stops being a creature or planeswalker,
    respectively; or if an effect removes it from combat.  A creature is also
    removed from combat if it regenerates (see Rule 419.6b).  A creature
    that's removed from combat stops being an attacking, blocking, blocked,
    and/or unblocked creature.  A planeswalker that's removed from combat
    stops being attacked. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  306.4a - Once a creature has been declared as an attacking or blocking
    creature, spells or abilities that would have kept that creature from
    attacking or blocking don't remove the creature from combat.
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  306.4b - Tapping or untapping a creature that's already been declared as an
    attacker or blocker doesn't remove it from combat and doesn't prevent its
    combat damage. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  306.4c - If a creature is attacking a planeswalker, removing that
    planeswalker from combat doesn't remove that creature from combat.  It
    continues to be an attacking creature, although it is attacking neither a
    player nor a planeswalker.  It may be blocked.  If it is unblocked, it
    will deal no combat damage. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  306.5 - An attacking creature is attacking alone if no other creatures are
    attacking.  A blocking creature is blocking alone if no other creatures
    are blocking. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |