| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
423 - Drawing a Card 
  423.1 - A player draws a card by putting the top card of his or her library
    into his or her hand.  This is done as a game action during each player's
    draw step.  It may also be done as part of a cost or effect of a spell or
    ability. [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  423.2 - Cards may only be drawn one at a time.  If a player is instructed to
    draw multiple cards, that player performs that many individual card draws.
    [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  423.2a - If an effect instructs more than one player to draw cards, the
    active player performs all of his or her draws first, then each other
    player in turn order does the same. [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  432.2b - If an effect instructs more than one player to draw cards in a
    Two-Headed Giant game, first the primary player (seated on the right) on
    the active team performs all of his or her draws, then the secondary
    player on that team performs all of his or her draws, then the nonactive
    team does the same. [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  423.3 - If there are no cards in a player's library and an effect offers
    that player the choice to draw a card, that player may choose to do so.
    [CompRules 2008/02/01]
  423.4 - A player who attempts to draw a card from an empty library loses the
    game the next time a player would receive priority. (This is a state-based
    effect.  See Rule 420.5g.) [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  423.5 - If an effect moves cards from a player's library to that player's
    hand without using the word "draw," the player has not drawn those cards.
    This makes a difference for abilities that trigger on drawing cards or
    that replace card draws, as well as if the player's library is empty.
    [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  423.6 - Some effects replace card draws. [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  423.6a - An effect that replaces a card draw is applied even if no cards
    could be drawn because there are no cards in the affected player's
    library. [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  423.6b - If an effect replaces a draw within a sequence of card draws, the
    replacement effect is completed before resuming the sequence.
    [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  423.6c - Some effects perform additional actions on a card after it's drawn.
    If the draw is replaced, the additional action is not performed on any
    cards that are drawn as a result of that replacement effect or any
    subsequent replacement effects. [CompRules 2006/10/01]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |