| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
501 - Keyword Actions 
501.2 - Attach  501.1 - Most actions described in a card's rules text use the standard
    English definitions of the verbs within, but some specialized verbs are
    used whose meanings may not be clear.  These "keywords" are game terms;
    sometimes reminder text summarizes their meanings.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
 
501.3 - Counter  501.2a - To attach an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to an object means
    to take it from where it currently is and put it onto that object.  If
    something is attached to a permanent in play, it's customary to place it
    so that it's physically touching the permanent.  An Aura, Equipment, or
    Fortification can't be attached to an object it couldn't enchant, equip,
    or fortify, respectively. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  501.2b - If an effect tries to attach an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification
    to the object it's already attached to, the effect does nothing.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  501.2c - Attaching an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification in play to a
    different object causes the Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to receive a
    new timestamp. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  501.2d - To "unattach" an Equipment from a creature means to move it away
    from that creature so the Equipment is in play but is not equipping
    anything.  It should no longer be physically touching any creature.  If an
    Aura, Equipment, or Fortification that was attached to something ceases to
    be attached to it, that counts as "becoming unattached."
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
 
501.4 - Destroy  501.3a - To counter a spell or ability means to cancel it, removing it from
    the stack.  It doesn't resolve and none of its effects occur.  A countered
    spell is put into its owner's graveyard.  See Rule 414, "Countering Spells
    and Abilities." [CompRules 2007/05/01]
 
501.5 - Regenerate  501.4a - To destroy a permanent, move it from the in-play zone to its
    owner's graveyard. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
 
501.6 - Sacrifice  501.5a - If the effect of a resolving spell or ability regenerates a
    permanent, it creates a replacement effect that protects the permanent the
    next time it would be destroyed this turn.  In this
    case, "Regenerate [permanent]" means "The next time [permanent] would be
    destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage from it, tap it, and (if
    it's in combat) remove it from combat." [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  501.5b - If the effect of a static ability regenerates a permanent, it
    replaces destruction with an alternate effect each time that permanent
    would be destroyed.  In this case, "Regenerate [permanent]" means "Instead
    remove all damage from [permanent], tap it, and (if it's in combat) remove
    it from combat." [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  505.5.Ruling.1 - An effect which says something "can't be regenerated" means
    that the Regenerate replacement effect won't be applied to that creature
    even if one is active.  If something "can't be regenerated", you can still
    play spells and abilities that produce a Regenerate effect, but they just
    won't do anything useful. [D'Angelo 2007/11/09]
 
501.7 - Tap  501.6a - To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the in-play
    zone directly to its owner's graveyard.  A player can't sacrifice
    something that isn't a permanent, or something that's a permanent he or
    she doesn't control.  Sacrificing a permanent doesn't destroy it, so
    regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can't affect this
    action. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
 
501.8 - Scry  501.7a - To tap a permanent, turn it sideways from an upright position.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  501.7b - To untap a permanent, rotate it back to the upright position from a
    sideways position. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
 
501.9 - Fateseal  501.8a - To "scry N" means to look at the top N cards of your library, put
    any number of them on the bottom of your library in any order, and put the
    rest on top of your library in any order. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
 
501.10 - Clash  501.9a - To "fateseal N" means to look at the top N cards of an opponent's
    library, put any number of them on the bottom of that library in any
    order, and put the rest on top of that library in any order.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
 
  501.10a - To clash, a player reveals the top card of his or her library.
    That player may then put that card on the bottom of his or her library.
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  501.10b - "Clash with an opponent" means "Choose an opponent.  You and that
    opponent each clash." [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  501.10c - A player wins a clash if that player revealed a card with a higher
    converted mana cost than all other cards revealed in that clash.
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  501.10.Ruling.1 - There are no ties or losses in a clash.  You either win or
    you don't.  For example, if more than one player has the same mana cost
    revealed, then you don't win. [Lorwyn FAQ 2007/09/25]
  501.10.Ruling.2 - If one or more of the clashing players reveals a split
    card, each of the split card's converted mana costs is considered
    individually.  In this way, it's possible for multiple players to win a
    clash.  For example, if Player A reveals a split card with converted mana
    costs 1 and 3, and Player B reveals a card with converted mana cost 2,
    they'll both win.  (Player A's card has a higher converted mana cost than
    Player B's card, since 3 is greater than 2.  Player B's card has a higher
    converted mana cost than Player A's card, since 2 is greater than 1.)
    [Lorwyn FAQ 2007/09/25]
  501.10.Ruling.3 - If a player has no cards in their library to reveal, then
    they do not reveal a card.  Since no card was revealed, the converted mana
    cost is treated as zero. [D'Angelo 2008/02/10]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |