| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
702 - Licids 
  702.1 - A Licid is a type of creature that can become a creature 
    enchantment, reside on other creatures for a while, and then revert back
    to being a creature. [Tempest, Page 7]
  702.Ruling.1 - When a Licid becomes a creature enchantment, it loses all
    abilities and gains whatever ability is listed in the card text.  It also
    stops being whatever kind of permanent it was and becomes a local creature
    enchantment.  It retains all other characteristics including name, color,
    and so on.  [Tempest, Page 8] [WotC Rules Team 1997/12/18]
  702.Ruling.2 - The Licid ability targets the creature it will be enchanting.
    If the target becomes illegal before the ability starts to resolve, then
    the ability is countered and the Licid will remain unchanged. 
    [Tempest, Page 9]
  702.Ruling.3 - When a Licid changes form, any counters, effects, and damage
    on it remain on it until they would normally be removed (if ever).  If the 
    counters or effects make no sense when applied to the current card type,
    then they do not do anything.  But if the Licid returns to being of the
    proper card type, they may take effect again. [D'Angelo 1998/07/24]
    For example, a +1/+1 counter from Dwarven Weaponsmith would remain, the
    effect of Giant Growth will wear off at end of turn, and damage will be
    removed at end of turn.
  702.Ruling.4 - Generally, the cost of using a Licid's ability includes 
    tapping it.  This means that when it moves onto the creature, it will be 
    a tapped local enchantment.  The enchantment's ability will work normally,
    though, and the card will untap during your next untap step. 
    [Tempest, Page 9]
  702.Ruling.5 - A Licid will not get summoning sickness by enchanting an
    opponent's permanent.  You are still controlling the Licid. 
    [D'Angelo 1997/10/15]
  702.Ruling.6 - If a Licid is enchanting a creature that phases out, the
    Licid phases out with the creature, and when it phases back in it will 
    phase in still as a local enchantment. [D'Angelo 2000/04/04]
  702.Ruling.7 - When in creature enchantment form, it can be moved onto
    another creature with an enchantment moving spell or ability.  It stays as
    an enchantment. [WotC Rules Team 1998/02/01]
  702.Ruling.8 - If a Licid tries to enchant a creature that cannot be
    enchanted, it will still move through to resolution because the Licid's
    text does not require the thing it will enchant to be a legal thing to
    enchant.  During resolution it will then turn into an enchantment and try
    to enchant the chosen permanent.  Since the permanent cannot be enchanted,
    the Licid is placed into the graveyard.  [WotC Rules Team 2003/12/01]
  702.Ruling.9 - If a Licid tries to enchant itself, it will see itself as a
    legal place to go at the beginning of resolution.  It will then turn into
    an enchantment and enchant itself.  Since it is not legal to enchant
    itself, the Licid is placed into the graveyard. [Jordan 2002/01/11]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |