| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
G24.1 - X 
  G24.1a - If a spell or activated ability has a cost with an "{X}" in it, the
    value of X must be announced as part of playing the spell or
    ability.  (See Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.")  While
    the spell or ability is on the stack, the {X} in its mana cost equals the
    amount announced as part of playing the spell or ability.  If a card in
    any other zone has {X} in its mana cost, the amount is treated as 0.  If
    you're playing a spell that has {X} in its mana cost and an effect lets
    you play it without paying any cost that includes X, the only legal choice
    for X is 0.  This does not apply to effects that only reduce a cost, even
    if they reduce it to zero.  See Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated
    Abilities." [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  G24.1b - If a cost associated with a special action, such as a suspend cost
    or a morph cost, has an "{X}" in it, the value of X is chosen by the
    player taking the special action as he or she pays that cost.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  G24.1c - In other cases, X is defined by the text of a spell or ability.
    Note that the value of X may change while that spell or ability is on the
    stack.  If X isn't defined, the controller of the spell or ability chooses
    the value of X.  All Xs on an object have the same value.
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 409.1b, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities."
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |