This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.
202 - Name
- 202.1 - The name of a card is printed on its upper left corner.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 202.2 - Text that refers to the object it's on by name means just that
particular object and not any other duplicates of it, regardless of any
name changes caused by game effects. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 202.2a - If an ability of an object uses a phrase such as "this [something]"
to identify an object, where [something] is a category or characteristic,
it is referring to that particular object, even if it isn't the
appropriate category or characteristic at the time. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
Example: An ability reads "Target creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn.
Destroy that creature at end of turn." The ability will destroy the
object it gave +2/+2 at the end of the turn, even if that object isn't a
creature anymore. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
- 202.2b - If an object grants to another object an ability that includes the
first object's name, the name refers only to the object granting the
ability, not to any other object with the same name.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
Example: Saproling Burst has an ability that reads "Remove a fade
counter from Saproling Burst: Put a green Saproling creature token into
play. It has 'This creature's power and toughness are each equal to the
number of fade counters on Saproling Burst.'" The ability granted to the
token only looks at the Saproling Burst that created the token, not at any
other Saproling Burst in play. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
- 202.3 - Two cards have the same name if the English versions of their names
are identical, regardless of anything else printed on the cards.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.
|
|