This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.
216 - Tokens
- 216.1 - Some effects put token creatures into play. A token is controlled
by whomever put it into play and owned by the controller of the spell or
ability that created it. The spell or ability may define any number of
characteristics for the token. A token doesn't have any characteristics
not defined by the spell or ability that created it. The spell or ability
that creates the token sets both its name and creature type at the same
time. A "Goblin creature token," for example, is named "Goblin" and has
the creature subtype Goblin. If a token's name is two words or more, it
has the creature subtype for each of those words. For example, a "Goblin
Scout creature token" is named "Goblin Scout" and has two creature
subtypes: Goblin and Scout. Once a token is in play, changing its name
doesn't change its creature type, and vice versa. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
- 216.2 - A token is subject to anything that affects permanents in general or
that affects the token's type or subtype. A token isn't a card (even if
represented by cards from other games or Unglued cards).
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 216.3 - A token in a zone other than the in-play zone ceases to exist. This
is a state-based effect. (Note that a token changing zones will set off
triggered abilities before the token ceases to exist.) Once a token has
left play, it can't be returned to play by any means.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.
|
|