SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

505 - Split Cards
  • 505.1 - Split cards have two card faces on a single card. The back of a split card is the normal Magic: The Gathering card back. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 505.2 - In every zone except the stack, split cards have two sets of characteristics. As long as a split card is a spell on the stack, only the characteristics of the half being played exist. The other half's characteristics are treated as though they didn't exist. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 505.3 - Because every split card consists of two halves with different colored mana symbols in their mana costs, each split card is a multicolored card except while it's a spell on the stack. While it's a spell on the stack, it's only the color of the half being played. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 505.4 - Although split cards have two playable halves, each split card is only one card. For example, a player who has drawn or discarded a split card has drawn or discarded one card, not two. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 505.5 - Effects that ask for a particular characteristic of a split card while it's in a zone other than the stack get an answer that consists of a combination of the split card's two halves.
    Example: Infernal Genesis has an ability that reads, "At the beginning of each player's upkeep, that player puts the top card from his or her library into his or her graveyard. He or she then puts X 1/1 black Minion creature tokens into play, where X is that card's converted mana cost." If the top card of your library is Assault (Assault/Battery) when this ability resolves, you get five 1/1 creature tokens because Assault's converted mana cost is 1 and Battery's is 4, for a total of 5. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 505.6 - Effects that ask if a split card's characteristic (in any zone other than the stack) matches a given value get only one answer. This answer is "yes" if either side of the split card matches the given value.
    Example: Void reads, "Choose a number. Destroy all artifacts and creatures with converted mana cost equal to that number. Then target player reveals his or her hand and discards from it all nonland cards with converted mana cost equal to the number." If a player plays Void and chooses 1 or 4, his or her opponent would discard Assault (Assault/Battery). If the player chooses 5, Assault/Battery would be unaffected, because neither half has a converted mana cost of 5. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 505.7 - If an effect instructs a player to name a card and the player wants to name a split card, the player must name both halves of the split card. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004