| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
402 - Abilities 
  402.1 - An ability is text on an object that's not reminder text or flavor
    text (see Rule 400.1).  The result of following such an instruction is an
    effect.  (See Rule 416, "Effects.")  Abilities can affect the objects
    they're on; they can also affect other objects and/or players.  Abilities
    can grant abilities to other objects or to the objects they're on; they do
    so when the words "has," "have," "gains," or "gain" are used. 
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  402.2 - There are three general categories of abilities: activated,
    triggered, and static.  Activated and triggered abilities can also be mana
    abilities.  Abilities can generate one-shot effects or continuous effects.
    Some effects are replacement effects or prevention effects. 
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  402.3 - Abilities can be beneficial or detrimental. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    Example: "[This creature] can't block" is an ability.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  402.4 - An additional cost or alternative cost to play a card is an ability
    of the card. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  402.5 - An ability isn't a spell and therefore can't be countered by
    anything that counters only spells.  Abilities can be countered by effects
    that specifically counter abilities, as well as by the rules (for example,
    an ability with one or more targets is countered if all its targets become
    illegal). [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  402.6 - Once activated or triggered, an ability exists independently of its
    source as an ability on the stack.  Destruction or removal of the source
    after that time won't affect the ability.  Note that some abilities cause
    a source to do something (for example, "Prodigal Sorcerer deals 1
    damage to target creature or player") rather than the ability doing
    anything directly.  In these cases, any activated or triggered ability
    that references information about the source because the effect needs to
    be divided checks that information when the ability is put on the stack.
    Otherwise, it will check that information when it resolves.  In both
    instances, if the source is no longer in play, its last known information
    is used. [CompRules 2006/02/01]
  402.7 - An object may have multiple abilities.  Aside from certain defined
    abilities that may be strung together on a single line (see Rule 502,
    "Keyword Abilities"), each paragraph break in a card's text marks a
    separate ability.  An object may also have multiple instances of the same
    ability.  Each instance functions independently.  This may or may not
    produce more effects than a single instance; refer to the specific ability
    for more information. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  402.8 - Abilities of an instant or sorcery usually function only while the
    object is not in play.  Abilities of all other objects usually function
    only while that object is in play.  The exceptions are as follows:
    [CompRules 2006/02/01]
  402.8a - Characteristic-defining abilities function in all zones.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  402.8b - An ability that states which zones it functions in functions only
    from those zones. [CompRules 2006/02/01]
  402.8c - An ability of an object that modifies what it costs to play
    functions on the stack. [CompRules 2006/02/01]
  402.8d - An object's ability that restricts or modifies how that object can
    be played functions in any zone from which it could be played.
    [CompRules 2006/02/01]
  402.8e - An object's ability that modifies how it comes into play functions
    as that object is coming into play.  See Rule 419.6i.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  402.8f - An object's activated ability that has a cost that can't be paid
    while the object is in play functions from any zone in which its cost can
    be paid. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  402.8g - A trigger condition that can trigger only in a zone other than the
    in-play zone triggers from that zone.  Other trigger conditions of the
    same triggered ability may function in different zones.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
    Example: Absolver Thrull has the ability "When Absolver Thrull comes
    into play or the creature it haunts is put into a graveyard, destroy
    target enchantment."  The first trigger condition triggers from the
    in-play zone and the second trigger condition functions from the
    removed-from-the-game zone. (See Rule 502.51, "Haunt.")
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  402.8h - An ability whose cost or effect specifies that it moves the object
    it's on out of a particular zone functions only in that zone, unless that
    ability's trigger condition, or a previous part of that ability's cost
    or effect, specifies that the object is put into that zone.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
    Example: Necrosavant says "{3}{B}{B}, Sacrifice a creature: Return
    Necrosavant from your graveyard to play.  Play this ability only during
    your upkeep."  A player may play this ability only if Necrosavant is in
    his or her graveyard. [CompRules 2006/02/01]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
 
     |  |  |  |