| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
404 - Triggered Abilities 
  404.1 - A triggered ability begins with the word "when," "whenever," or 
    "at."  The phrase containing one of these words is the trigger condition,
    which defines the trigger event. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  404.2 - Triggered abilities aren't played.  Instead, a triggered ability
    automatically "triggers" each time its trigger event occurs.  Once an
    ability has triggered, it goes on the stack the next time a player would
    receive priority.  See Rule 408.1, "Timing, Priority, and the Stack," and
    Rule 410, "Handling Triggered Abilities." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  404.3 - A triggered ability may read "When/Whenever/At ..., 
    if [condition], [effect]." The ability checks for the stated condition to
    be true when the trigger event occurs.  If it is, the ability triggers. 
    On resolution, the ability rechecks the condition.  If the condition isn't
    true at either of those times, the ability does nothing.  This rule is
    referred to as the "intervening 'if' clause" rule.  Note that the word 
    "if" has only its normal English meaning anywhere else in the text of a
    card; this rule only applies to an "if" that immediately follows a trigger
    condition. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  404.4 - An effect may create a delayed triggered ability that can do
    something at a later time.  A delayed triggered ability will contain 
    "when," "whenever," or "at," although that word won't usually begin the
    ability. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  404.4a - Delayed triggered abilities come from spells or other abilities
    that create them on resolution.  That means a delayed triggered ability
    won't trigger until it has actually been created, even if its trigger
    event occurred just beforehand.  Other events that happen earlier may make
    the trigger event impossible. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    Example: Part of an effect reads "When this creature leaves play," but the
    creature in question leaves play before the spell or ability creating the
    effect resolves.  In this case, the delayed ability never triggers.
    [CompRules 2004/10/01]
 Example: If an effect reads "When this creature becomes untapped" and the
    named creature becomes untapped before the effect resolves, the ability
    waits for the next time that creature untaps.  [CompRules 2004/10/01]
  404.4b - A delayed triggered ability will trigger only once--the next time
    its trigger event occurs--unless it has a stated duration, such as 
    "this turn." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  404.4c - A delayed triggered ability that refers to a particular object 
    still affects it even if the object changes characteristics.
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    Example: An ability that reads, "Destroy that creature at end of turn"
    will destroy the permanent even if it's no longer a creature during the
    end of turn step. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  404.4d - A delayed triggered ability that refers to a particular permanent
    will fail if the permanent leaves play (even if it returns again before
    the specified time).  Similarly, abilities that create a one-shot effect
    that applies to an object in a particular zone will fail if the object
    leaves that zone. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    Example: An ability that reads, "Remove this creature from the game at end
    of turn" won't do anything if the creature leaves play before the end of
    turn step. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  404.4e - The source of a delayed triggered ability created by a spell is
    that spell.  The source of a delayed triggered ability created by another
    ability is the same as the source of that other ability.  The controller
    of a delayed triggered ability is the same as the controller of the spell
    or ability that created it, even if that player no longer controls its
    source. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  404.5 - Some objects have a static ability that's linked to a triggered
    ability.  These objects combine both abilities into one paragraph, with
    the static ability first, followed by the triggered ability.  A very few
    objects have triggered abilities which are written with the trigger
    condition in the middle of the ability, rather than at the beginning.
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    Example: An ability that reads "Reveal the first card you draw each turn.
    Whenever you reveal a basic land card this way, draw a card" is a static
    ability linked to a triggered ability.  [CompRules 2003/12/01]
 Example: An ability that reads "The controller of enchanted creature
    sacrifices it at the end of his or her turn" is a triggered ability. 
    [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
 
     |  |  |  |