| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
411 - Playing Mana Abilities 
  411.1 - To play a mana ability, the player announces that he or she is
    playing it and pays the activation cost, following the steps in 
    Rule 409.1b through Rule 409.1i.  It resolves immediately afterward and
    doesn't go on the stack.  (See Rule 408.2e.)  [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  411.2 - A player may play an activated mana ability whenever he or she has
    priority, or whenever he or she is playing a spell or activated ability
    that requires a mana payment.  A player may also play one whenever a rule
    or effect asks for a mana payment, even in the middle of playing or
    resolving a spell or ability. [CompRules 2004/06/01]
  411.3 - Triggered mana abilities trigger when an activated mana ability is
    played.  These abilities resolve immediately after the mana ability that
    triggered them, without waiting for priority.  If an activated or
    triggered ability produces both mana and another effect, both the mana and
    the other effect resolve immediately.
    Example: An enchantment reads, "Whenever a player taps a land for mana,
    that player adds one mana of that type to his or her mana pool."  If a
    player taps lands for mana while playing a spell, the additional mana is
    added to the player's mana pool immediately and can be used to pay for the
    spell. [CompRules 2005/10/01]
  411.3a - If a triggered mana ability adds mana "of the same type" or "of the
    same color" to a player's mana pool and the mana ability that triggered it
    produced more than one type or color of mana, the player to whose mana
    pool the mana is being added chooses which type or color of mana the
    triggered ability adds. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |