| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
424 - Costs 
  424.1 - A cost is an action or payment necessary to take another action or
    to stop another action from taking place. [CompRules 2008/02/01]
  424.2 - A player can't pay a cost unless he or she has the necessary
    resources to pay it fully.  For example, a player with only 1 life can't
    pay a cost of 2 life, and a permanent that's already tapped can't be
    tapped to pay a cost.  See Rule 203, "Mana Cost and Color," and
    Rule 403, "Activated Abilities." [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  424.3 - Unpayable costs can't be paid. (See Rule 203.1b.)
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  424.4 - What a player actually needs to do to pay a cost may be changed or
    reduced by effects.  If the mana component of a cost is reduced to nothing
    by cost reduction effects, it is considered to be {0}.  Paying a cost
    changed or reduced by an effect counts as paying the original cost.
    [CompRules 2007/07/13]
    Example: You play a spell with mana cost {W} that has kicker {1}.  You
    choose to pay the kicker, but a cost reduction effect means you spend
    only {W} when paying for the spell.  The spell's "if the kicker cost was
    paid" effect will be applied. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  424.5 - If a cost includes a mana payment, the player paying the cost has a
    chance to play mana abilities.  Paying the cost to play a spell or
    activated ability follows the steps in Rule 409.1f through Rule 409.1h.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |