| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
203 - Mana Cost and Color 
  203.1 - The mana cost of a card is indicated by mana symbols near the top of
    the card.  On most cards, these symbols are printed in the upper right
    corner.  Some cards from the Future Sight set have alternate frames in
    which the mana symbols appear to the left of the art.  Paying an object's
    mana cost requires matching the color of any colored mana symbols as well
    as paying the generic mana indicated in the cost. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  203.1a - A copy of an object copies that object's mana cost.  See
    Rule 503, "Copying Objects." [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  203.1b - Some cards have no mana symbols where their mana cost would appear.
    This represents an unpayable cost.  An ability can also have an unpayable
    cost if its cost is based on the mana cost of a spell with no mana cost.
    Attempting to play a spell or ability that has an unpayable cost is a
    legal action.  However, attempting to pay an unpayable cost is an illegal
    action. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
    If an unpayable cost is increased by an effect or an additional cost is
    imposed, the cost is still unpayable.  If an alternative cost is applied
    to an unpayable cost, including an effect that allows you to play a spell
    without paying its mana cost, the alternative cost may be paid.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  203.1c - Lands normally have no mana cost.  Lands are played without paying
    any costs. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  203.1d - Tokens have no mana cost unless the effect that creates them
    specifies otherwise. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  203.2 - An object is the color or colors of the mana symbols in its mana
    cost, regardless of the color of its frame. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  203.2a - Objects with no colored mana symbols in their mana costs are
    colorless. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  203.2b - An object with two or more different colored mana symbols in its
    mana cost is each of the colors of those mana symbols.  Most multicolored
    cards are printed with a gold frame, but this is not a requirement for a
    card to be multicolored. [CompRules 2005/02/01]
  203.2c - The five colors are white, blue, black, red, and green.  The white
    mana symbol is represented by {W}, blue by {U}, black by {B}, red by {R},
    and green by {G}.
    Example: An object with a mana cost of {2}{W} is white, an object with a
    mana cost of {2} is colorless, and one with a mana cost of {2}{W}{B} is
    both white and black. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  203.2d - If a player is asked to choose a color, he or she must choose one
    of the five colors.  "Multicolored" is not a color. [CompRules 2004/02/01]
  203.2e - An object with one or more hybrid mana symbols in its mana cost
    is each of the colors of that mana symbol, in addition to any other colors
    the object might be.  Most cards with hybrid mana symbols in their mana
    costs are printed in a two-tone frame.  See Rule 104.3f.
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  203.3 - The converted mana cost of an object is a number equal to the total
    amount of mana in its mana cost, regardless of color.  Some effects ask a
    player to pay mana equal to an object's converted mana cost; this cost may
    be paid with any combination of colored and/or colorless mana, regardless
    of the colors in the object's mana cost. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  203.3a - The converted mana cost of an object with no mana cost is 0.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  203.3b - When calculating the converted mana cost of an object with an {X}
    in its mana cost, X is treated as 0 while the object is not on the stack,
    and X is treated as the number chosen for it while the object is on the
    stack. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  203.4 - Any additional cost listed in an object's rules text or imposed by
    an effect isn't part of the mana cost.  (See 
    Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.")  Such costs are paid
    at the same time as the spell's other costs. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  203.Ruling.1 - If a cost has an "X" in it, the mana cost equals the amount
    announced as part of playing the spell or ability while it is on the
    stack, but if the card in any other zone, X is treated as zero.
    [D'Angelo 2003/09/08]  See Rule G24.1a.
  203.Ruling.2 - And {S} in a cost is similar to the symbol {1}, but the mana
    must come from a snow permanent.  It can't be paid with mana produced by
    nonsnow permanents. [Coldsnap FAQ 2006/06/14]
  203.Ruling.3 - Whey paying for {S}, it matters only if the permanents that
    produced the mana had supertype snow at the time the mana was produced.
    Changes before or after that time do not matter. [Coldsnap FAQ 2006/06/14]
  203.Ruling.4 - {S} is not a color, you can't add {S} to your mana pool,
    and "snow mana" is not a type of mana. [Coldsnap FAQ 2006/06/14]  It is
    just a shorthand for restricting the source of mana.
  203.Ruling.5 - Colorless is not a color.  See Rule 203.2c.
    [D'Angelo 2006/09/02]
  203.Ruling.6 - The mana cost of a spell on the stack is the mana cost
    printed on the spell or ability being played.  Only the choice value of
    X (see Rule 203.Ruling.1) affects the mana cost.  Other cost modifiers
    do not alter the mana cost. [D'Angelo 2006/09/30]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |