SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

104 - Numbers and Symbols
  • 104.1 - The Magic game uses only natural numbers. You may not choose a fractional number, deal fractional damage, and so on. When a spell or ability could generate a fractional number, the spell or ability will tell you whether to round up or down. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 104.2 - If a creature's power or toughness, a mana cost, a player's life total, or an amount of damage would be less than 0, it's treated as 0 for all purposes except changing that total. If anyting needs to use a number that can't be determined, it uses 0 instead. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    Example: If a 3/3 creature gets -5/-0, it deals 0 damage in combat. But to raise its power back to 1, you'd have to give it +3/+0 (3 minus 5 plus 3 is 1). [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    Example: If you control no permanents, the "highest converted mana cost among permanents you control" can't be determined, so 0 is used instead. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 104.3 - The mana symbols are {W}, {U}, {B}, {R}, {G}, {X}, {Y}, {Z} and the numerals {0}, {1}, {2}, {3}, {4}, and so on. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 104.3a - Each of the colored mana symbols represents one colored mana: {W} is white, {U} blue, {B} black, {R} red, and {G} green. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 104.3b - Numeral symbols (such as {1}) are generic mana costs and represent an amount of mana that can be paid with any color of, or colorless, mana. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 104.3c - The symbols {X}, {Y}, and {Z} represent unspecified amounts of mana; when playing a spell or activated ability with {X}, {Y}, or {Z} in its cost, its controller decides the value of that variable. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 104.3d - Numeral symbols (such as {1}) and variable symbols (such as {X}) can also represent colorless mana if they appear in the effect of a spell or ability that reads "add [mana symbol] to your mana pool" or something similar. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 104.3e - The symbol {0} represents zero mana and is used as a placeholder when a spell or activated ability costs nothing to play. A spell or ability whose cost is {0} must still be played the same way as one with a cost greater than zero; it won't play itself automatically. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 104.4 - The tap symbol is {Tap}. The tap symbol in an activation cost means "Tap this permanent." A permanent that's already tapped can't be tapped again to pay the cost. Creatures that haven't been under a player's control continuously since the beginning of his or her most recent turn can't use any ability with the tap symbol in the cost. See Rule 212.3d. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 104.5 - A tombstone icon appears to the left of the name of many Odyssey(tm) block cards with abilities that are relevant in a player's graveyard. The purpose of the icon is to make those cards stand out when they're in a graveyard. This icon has no effect on game play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004