SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

212 - Type, Supertype, and Subtype
  • 212.1 - General
  • 212.1a - Cards, tokens, permanents, and spells can all have types, supertypes, and subtypes. Abilities don't have types, supertypes, or subtypes. Instead, there are various categories of abilities. (See Rule 402, "Abilities.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.1b - When an object's type changes, the new type(s) replaces any existing types. Counters, effects, and damage affecting the object remain with it, even if they are meaningless to the new type. Similarly, when the subtypes of one of an object's types change, the new subtype(s) replaces any existing subtypes of that type. If an object's type is removed, the subtypes of its old type don't exist in any way under the new type. Those subtypes disappear completely for the entire time the object's type is removed. Removing an object's subtype doesn't affect its types at all. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 212.1c - Some effects change an object's type or subtype but specify that the object retains a prior type or subtype. In such cases, all the object's prior types and subtypes are retained. (This is a reversal of previous rules.) This rule applies to effects that use the phrase "in addition to its types" or that state that something is "still a [type]." Some effects state that an object becomes an "artifact creature"; these effects also allow the object to retain all of its prior types and subtypes. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
    Example: An ability reads, "All lands are 1/1 creatures that are still lands." The affected lands now have two types: creature and land. If there were any lands that also had the artifact type before the ability's effect applied to them, those lands would become "artifact land creatures," not just "creatures," or "land creatures." The effect allows them to retain both the artifact type and the land type.
    Example: An ability reads, "All artifacts are 1/1 artifact creatures." If a permanent is both an artifact and an enchantment, it will become an "artifact enchantment creature." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.1d - An object's supertype is independent of its type and subtype. Changing an object's type or subtype won't change its supertype. Changing an object's supertype won't change its type or subtype.
    Example: An ability reads, "All lands are 1/1 creatures that are still lands." If any of the affected lands were legendary, they are still legendary. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.1e - If an instruction requires choosing a subtype, you must choose one, and only one, existing subtype, and the subtype you choose must be for the appropriate type. For example, you can't choose a land type if an instruction requires choosing a creature type. (Use the Oracle card reference to determine whether a creature type exists; see Rule 200.2. You will also find a complete list of creature types in the "Creature Types" entry in the glossary at the end of this document.) [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    Example: When choosing a creature type, "Merfolk" or "Wizard" is acceptable, but "Merfolk Wizard" is not. Words like "artifact," "opponent," "Swamp," or "truck" can't be chosen because they aren't creature types. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
212.2 - Artifacts
  • 212.2a - A player may play an artifact card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn, when he or she has priority and the stack is empty. Playing an artifact as a spell uses the stack. (See Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.2b - When an artifact spell resolves, its controller puts it into play under his or her control. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.2c - Artifacts subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash: "Artifact - Equipment." Artifact subtypes are also called artifact types. Artifacts may have multiple subtypes. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 212.2d - Artifacts have no characteristics specific to their type. Because artifacts have no colored mana in their mana costs, they're colorless. Effects can give artifacts one or more colors, however, and colored objects can become artifacts without losing any colors they had. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.2e - Artifact creatures combine the characteristics of both the creature and artifact types and are subject to spells and abilities that affect either or both types. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.2f - Artifact lands combine the characteristics of both the land and artifact types, and are subject to spells and abilities that affect either or both types. Artifact lands can only be played as lands. They can't be played as spells. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 212.2g - Some artifacts have the subtype "Equipment." An Equipment can be attached to a creature. It can't legally be attached to an object that isn't a creature. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 212.2h - An Equipment is played and comes into play just like any other artifact. An Equipment doesn't come into play attached to a creature. The equip keyword ability moves the Equipment onto a creature you control (see Rule 502.33, "Equip"). Control of the creature matters only when the equip ability is played and resolved. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 212.2i - An Equipment that's also a creature can't equip a creature. Equipment that loses the subtype "Equipment" can't equip a creature. An Equipment can't equip itself. An Equipment that equips an illegal or nonexistent permanent stops equipping that permanent, but remains in play. (This is a state-based effect. See Rule 420.) [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 212.2j - The creature an Equipment is attached to is called the "equipped creature." The Equipment is attached to, or "equips," that creature. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 212.2k - An Equipment's controller is separate from the equipped creature's controller; the two need not be the same. Changing control of the creature doesn't change control of the Equipment, and vice versa. Only the Equipment's controller can play its abilities. However, if the Equipment adds an ability to the equipped creature (with "gains" or "has"), the equipped creature's controller is the only one who can play that ability. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
212.3 - Creatures
  • 212.3a - A player may play a creature card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn, when he or she has priority and the stack is empty. Playing a creature as a spell uses the stack. (See Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.3b - When a creature spell resolves, its controller puts it into play under his or her control. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.3c - Creature subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash: "Creature - Minotaur," "Artifact Creature - Golem Legend," etc. Creature subtypes are also called creature types. Creatures may have multiple subtypes.
    Example: "Creature - Goblin Wizard" means the card is a creature with the subtypes Goblin and Wizard. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.3d - A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol in its activation cost can't be played unless the creature has been under its controller's control since the start of his or her most recent turn. A creature can't attack unless it has been under its controller's control since the start of his or her most recent turn. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule. Ignore this rule for creatures with haste (see Rule 502.5). [CompRules 2003/07/01]
212.4 - Enchantments
  • 212.4a - A player may play an enchantment card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn, when he or she has priority and the stack is empty. Playing an enchantment as a spell uses the stack. (See Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.4b - When an enchantment spell resolves, its controller puts it into play under his or her control. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.4c - A global enchantment simply has "enchantment" as its type. Local enchantments use the word "enchant," followed by what it can enchant. Examples of enchantments subtypes include enchant artifact, enchant artifact creature, enchant creature, enchant permanent, enchant player, and enchant Swamp. If a local enchantment's subtype includes more than one word after "enchant," the enchanted permanent must match each of those words. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 212.4d - A local-enchantment spell requires a target whose properties are indicated by the enchantment's subtype. The local-enchantment permanent the spell puts into play can only enchant that type of permanent or player and comes into play attached to the permanent or player the spell targeted. Any additional restrictions on what it can enchant are indicated by phrases like "[This local enchantment] can enchant only a [permanent or player with specified properties]." These restrictions also limit what the local-enchantment spell can target. Similar restrictions can limit what a permanent can be enchanted by. For example, a permanent might have an ability that reads "[This permanent] can't be enchanted by [local enchantments with specified properties]." These restrictions limit whether local-enchantment spells can target the permanent.
    Example: An enchant creature spell requires a target creature; an enchant creature in play must enchant a creature. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.4e - If a local enchantment is coming into play by any other means than being played, and the effect putting it into play doesn't specify what it will enchant, the player putting it into play chooses a permanent or player for it to enchant as it comes into play. In this case, the enchantment doesn't target the permanent, but the player who is putting it into play still must choose a permanent or player that the enchantment can enchant. If no legal permanent or player is available, the enchantment remains in the zone from which it attempted to move instead of coming into play. The same rule applies to moving a local enchantment from one permanent to another or from one player to another. The permanent or player to which the enchantment is to be moved must be able to be enchanted by it. If it isn't legal, the enchantment doesn't move. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.4f - If a local enchantment is enchanting an illegal permanent or player or the permanent or player it was attached to no longer exists, the enchantment is put into its owner's graveyard. (This is a state-based effect. See Rule 420.) [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.4g - A local enchantment can't be attached to itself. If this occurs somehow, the local enchantment is put into its owner's graveyard. (This is a state-based effect. See Rule 420.). [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.4h - The permanent or player a local enchantment is attached to is called enchanted. The enchantment "enchants" or, in more casual terms, "is attached to" that permanent. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.4i - A local enchantment's controller is separate from the enchanted permanent's controller; the two need not be the same. Changing control of the permanent doesn't change control of the enchantment, and vice versa. Only the enchantment's controller can play its abilities. However, if the enchantment adds an ability to the enchanted permanent (with "gains" or "has"), that enchanted permanent's controller is the only one who can play that ability. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.4j - An object that is an "enchant world" is a global enchantment. It's subject to the state-based effect for enchant worlds. (See Rule 420.5i) [CompRules 2003/12/01]
212.5 - Instants
  • 212.5a - A player may play an instant card from his or her hand any time he or she has priority. Playing an instant as a spell uses the stack. (See Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.5b - When an instant spell resolves, the actions stated in its rules text are followed. Then, it's put into its owner's graveyard. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.5c - Instants have no subtypes. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.5d - Instants can't come into play. If an instant would come into play, it remains in its previous zone instead. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.5e - If text states that a player may do something "any time he or she could play an instant," it means only that the player must have priority. The player doesn't need to have an instant he or she could actually play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
212.6 - Land
  • 212.6a - A player may play a land card from his or her hand only during a main phase of his or her turn, and only when he or she has priority and the stack is empty. A land card isn't a spell card, and at no time is it a spell. When a player plays a land card, it's simply put into play. The land card doesn't go on the stack, so players can't respond to it with instants or activated abilities. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.6b - A player may play only one land card during each of his or her own turns. Effects may allow the playing of additional lands; playing an additional land in this way doesn't prevent a player from taking the normal action of playing a land. Players can't begin to play a land that an effect prohibits from being played. As a player plays a land, he or she announces whether he or she is using the once-per-turn action of playing a land. If not, he or she specifies which effect is allowing the additional land play. Effects may also allow you to "put" lands into play. This isn't the same as "playing a land" and doesn't count as the player's one land played during his or her turn. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.6c - Land subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash. Land subtypes are also called land types. Lands may have multiple subtypes.
    Example: "Basic Land - Mountain" means the card is a land with the Mountain subtype. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.6d - The basic land types are Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest. If an object uses the words "basic land type," it's referring to one of these subtypes. A land with a basic land type has an intrinsic ability to produce colored mana. (See Rule 406, "Mana Abilities.") The land is treated as if its text box included, "{Tap}: Add [mana symbol] to your mana pool," even if the text box doesn't actually contain text. Plains produce white mana; Islands, blue; Swamps, black; Mountains, red; and Forests, green. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.6e - If an effect changes a land's type to one of the basic land types, the land no longer has its old land type. It loses any rules text it had in its text box, other than the rules text for the snow-covered ability, and it gains the rules text for the appropriate mana ability for that basic land type. Note that this doesn't remove any abilities that were granted to the land by other effects. Changing a land's type doesn't add or remove any types (such as creature) or supertypes (such as basic and legendary) the land may have. If a land gains one or more land types in addition to its own, it keeps its land types and rules text, and it gains the new land types and mana abilities. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 212.6f - Any land with the supertype "basic" is a basic land. Any land that doesn't have this supertype is a nonbasic land. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.6g - If an object is both a land and another type, it can be played only as a land. It can't be played as a spell. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
212.7 - Sorceries
  • 212.7a - A player may play a sorcery card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn, when he or she has priority and the stack is empty. Playing a sorcery as a spell uses the stack. (See Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.7b - When a sorcery spell resolves, the actions stated in its rules text are followed. Then it's put into its owner's graveyard. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.7c - Sorceries have no subtypes. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.7d - Sorceries can't come into play. If a sorcery would come into play, it remains in its previous zone instead. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 212.7e - If a spell, ability, or effect states that a player can do something only "any time he or she could play an sorcery," it means only that the player must have priority, it must be during the main phase of his or her turn, and the stack must be empty. The player doesn't need to have an sorcery he or she could actually play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004