This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.
402 - Abilities
- 402.1 - An ability is text on an object that's not reminder text or flavor
text (see Rule 400.1). The result of following such an instruction is an
effect. (See Rule 416, "Effects.") Abilities can affect the objects
they're on; they can also affect other objects and/or players. Abilities
can grant abilities to other objects or to the objects they're on; they do
so when the words "has," "have," "gains," or "gain" are used.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 402.2 - There are three general categories of abilities: activated,
triggered, and static. Activated and triggered abilities can also be mana
abilities. Abilities can generate one-shot effects or continuous effects.
Some effects are replacement effects or prevention effects.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 402.3 - Abilities can be beneficial or detrimental. For example,
"[This creature] can't block" is an ability. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 402.4 - An additional cost or alternative cost to play a card is an ability
of the card. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 402.5 - An ability isn't a spell and therefore can't be countered by
anything that counters only spells. Abilities can be countered by effects
that specifically counter abilities, as well as by the rules (for example,
an ability with one or more targets is countered if all its targets become
illegal). [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 402.6 - Once activated or triggered, an ability exists independently of its
source as an ability on the stack. Destruction or removal of the source
after that time won't affect the ability. Note that some abilities cause
a source to do something (for example, "Prodigal Sorcerer deals 1
damage to target creature or player") rather than the ability doing
anything directly. In these cases, any activated or triggered ability
that references information about the source will check that information
when the ability resolves, or will use the source's last known information
if it's no longer in play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 402.7 - An object may have multiple abilities. Aside from certain defined
abilities that may be strung together on a single line (see Rule 502,
"Keyword Abilities"), each paragraph break in a card's text marks a
separate ability. An object may also have multiple instances of the same
ability. Each instance functions independently. This may or may not
produce more effects than a single instance; refer to the specific ability
for more information. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 402.8 - Abilities function only while the permanent with the ability is in
play unless the ability is a characteristic-setting ability that sets type
or color, an ability of an instant or sorcery, an additional cost, an
alternative cost, or a play restriction. Abilities can also function in
other zones if they state otherwise or if the ability can only trigger or
be played in a zone other than the in-play zone. An ability whose cost or
effect specifies that it moves the object it's on out of a particular zone
functions only in that zone.
Example: An ability with a cost that includes "Discard this card from your
hand" can be played only if the card is in your hand.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 402.9 - Some objects have activated abilities that can be played when the
object is not in play. Some objects have triggered abilities that can
trigger while the object is in a zone other than the in-play zone.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.
|
|