SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

502 - Keyword Abilities
  • 502.1 - Most abilities describe exactly what they do in the card's rules text. Some, though, are very common or would require too much space to define on the card. In these cases, the object lists only the name of the ability as a "keyword"; sometimes reminder text summarizes the game rule. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
502.2 - First Strike
  • 502.2a - First strike is a static ability that modifies the rules for the combat damage step. (See Rule 310, "Combat Damage Step.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.2b - At the start of the combat damage step, if at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike or double strike (see Rule 502.28), creatures without first strike or double strike don't assign combat damage. Instead of proceeding to end of combat, the phase gets a second combat damage step to handle the remaining creatures. In the second combat damage step, surviving attackers and blockers that didn't assign combat damage in the first step, plus any creatures with double strike, assign their combat damage. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.2c - Adding or removing first strike after the first combat damage step won't prevent a creature from dealing combat damage or allow it to deal combat damage twice. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.2d - Multiple instances of first strike on the same creature are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule G6.4, "First Strike".
502.3 - Flanking
  • 502.3a - Flanking is a triggered ability that triggers during the declare blockers step. (See Rule 309, "Declare Blockers Step.") "Flanking" means "Whenever this creature becomes blocked by a creature without flanking, the blocking creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.3b - If a creature has multiple instances of flanking, each triggers separately. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.3.Ruling.1 - This may kill the blocker prior to damage being assigned in combat, but the attacker is still blocked. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
  • 502.3.Ruling.2 - Flanking applies to blockers which are not assigned to the Flanking creature directly. For example, creatures that become blockers due to blocking a member of a band which includes the Flanking creature are subject to the Flanking -1/-1 ability. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.3.Ruling.3 - Gaining Flanking after blockers are declared will have no effect on the blockers because the time for Flanking to trigger has already passed. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.3.Ruling.4 - If an attacking creature has multiple instances of the Flanking ability, even one instance of Flanking on the blocking creature will negate the effect. [D'Angelo 1998/06/15]
  • Note - Also see Rule G6.6, "Flanking".
502.4 - Flying
  • 502.4a - Flying is an evasion ability. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.4b - A creature with flying can't be blocked by creatures without flying. A creature with flying can block a creature with or without flying. (See Rule 309, "Declare Blockers Step.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.4c - Multiple instances of flying on the same creature are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule G6.11, "Flying".
502.5 - Haste
  • 502.5a - Haste is a static ability. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.5b - A creature with haste can attack or use activated abilities whose cost includes the tap symbol even if it hasn't been controlled by its controller continuously since the beginning of his or her most recent turn. (See Rule 212.3d.) [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.5c - Multiple instances of haste on the same creature are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.5.Ruling.1 - Haste removes the normal "cannot attack" restriction due to not being controlled at the start of a player's turn. It does not remove any other combat restrictions. For example, it will not make a Wall able to attack, give you a second attack in a turn, or allow you to attack using a Raging Goblin if the defending player has Island Sanctuary activated. [D'Angelo 2000/11/17]
  • Note - Also see Rule G8.2, "Haste".
502.6 - Landwalk
  • 502.6a - Landwalk and snow-covered landwalk are generic terms; a card's rules text will give a specific subtype or supertype (such as in "islandwalk," "snow-covered swampwalk," or "legendary landwalk"). [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.6b - Landwalk and snow-covered landwalk are evasion abilities. A creature with landwalk is unblockable as long as the defending player controls at least one land with the specified subtype or supertype. (See Rule 309, "Declare Blockers Step.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.6c - Snow-covered landwalk is a special type of landwalk. A creature with snow-covered landwalk is unblockable as long as the defending player controls at least one land with the specified subtype or supertype that has snow-covered. If a player is allowed to choose any landwalk ability, that player may choose a snow-covered landwalk ability. If an effect causes a permanent to lose all landwalk abilities, snow-covered landwalk abilities are removed as well. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.6d - Landwalk or snow-covered landwalk abilities don't "cancel" one another. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    Example: If a player controls a snow-covered Forest, that player can't block an attacking creature with snow-covered forestwalk even if he or she also controls a creature with snow-covered forestwalk. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.6e - Multiple instances of the same type of landwalk or snow-covered landwalk on the same creature are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule G12.4, "Landwalk".
502.7 - Protection
  • 502.7a - Protection is a static ability, written "Protection from [quality]." This quality is usually a color (as in "protection from black") but can be any characteristic value. If the quality is a type, subtype, or supertype, the protection applies to sources that are permanents with that type, subtype, or supertype and to any sources not in play that are of that type, subtype, or supertype. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.7b - A permanent with protection can't be targeted by spells with the stated quality and can't be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.7c - A permanent with protection can't be enchanted by enchantments that have the stated quality. Such enchantments enchanting the permanent with protection will be put into their owners' graveyards as a state-based effect. (See Rule 420, "State-Based Effects.") [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.7d - A permanent with protection can't be equipped by Equipment that have the stated quality. Such an Equipment stops equipping that permanent, but remains in play. (See Rule 420, "State-Based Effects.") [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.7e - Any damage that would be dealt by sources that have the stated quality to a permanent that has protection is prevented. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.7f - If a creature with protection attacks, it can't be blocked by creatures that have the stated quality. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.7g - Multiple instances of protection from the same quality on the same permanent are redundant. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.7.Ruling.1 - The Protection ability does not grant immunity to effects. Only the specific list in Rule 502.7b is granted. So, untargeted spells and abilities can affect the creature. For example, Wrath of God can affect a creature with Protection from White because Wrath of God is not targeted. And creatures with Protection from Red are still affected by the untargeted static ability of Orcish Oriflamme. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.7.Ruling.2 - Untargeted spells and abilities which do damage will assign damage to the creature, but that damage will be prevented by the Protection ability so the damage is never actually dealt. For example, Pestilence cannot damage a White Knight. The ability is untargeted, but the damage is prevented. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.7.Ruling.3 - Not being enchantable by enchantments of the given quality means that the appropriate local enchantment (Enchant Creature) cards are put into the graveyard if they are ever on the creature. So giving a card protection will put any existing local enchantments of that color into the graveyard. This is a state-based effect. [D'Angelo 2001/07/23]
  • 502.7.Ruling.4 - Protection does not protect any enchantments on the creature from being targeted. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
  • 502.7.Ruling.5 - Protection only works while the card is in play, so it does not prevent the spell from being targeted in the graveyard or on the spell stack. This means a Counterspell can target a spell that would create a creature with Protection from Blue, and that Raise Dead can target a creature in the graveyard with Protection from Black. [D'Angelo 1999/11/23]
  • 502.7.Ruling.6 - Protection from Instants and Sorceries means that the permanent cannot be targeted by an instant or a sorcery and that damage that would be dealt by an instant or a sorcery to that permanent is prevented. [Odyssey FAQ 2001/10/04]
  • 502.7.Ruling.7 - Protection from Creatures means that the permanent cannot be the target of abilities of creatures, that damage from a creature is prevented, and that it cannot be blocked by a creature. [Odyssey FAQ 2001/10/04]
  • 502.7.Ruling.8 - Protection from Enchantments means that the permanent cannot be target of enchantment spells or the abilities of enchantment, that damage from enchantments is prevented, that it cannot be enchanted by any enchantments, and that it cannot be blocked by any enchantment that also happens to be a creature. [Odyssey FAQ 2001/10/04]
  • Note - Also see Rule G16.23, "Protection".
502.8 - Shadow
  • 502.8a - Shadow is an evasion ability. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.8b - A creature with shadow can't be blocked by creatures without shadow, and a creature without shadow can't be blocked by creatures with shadow. (See Rule 309, "Declare Blockers Step.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.8c - Multiple instances of shadow on the same creature are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.8.Ruling.1 - It is possible for Banding to result in a Shadow creature blocking or being blocked by a non-Shadow creature. This is legal. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
  • Note - Also see Rule G19.5, "Shadow".
502.9 - Trample
  • 502.9a - Trample is a static ability that modifies the rules for assigning an attacking creature's combat damage. A creature with trample has no special abilities when blocking or dealing noncombat damage. (See Rule 310, "Combat Damage Step.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.9b - The controller of an attacking creature with trample first assigns damage to the creature(s) blocking it. If all those blocking creatures are assigned lethal damage, any remaining damage is assigned as its controller chooses among the blocking creatures and the defending player. When checking for assigned lethal damage, take into account damage already on the creature and damage from other creatures that is to be assigned at the same time (see Rule 502.9e). The controller need not assign lethal damage to all blocking creatures but in that case can't assign any damage to the defending player. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.9c - If all the creatures blocking an attacking creature with trample are removed from combat before the combat damage step, all its damage is assigned to the defending player. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.9d - Assigning damage from a creature with trample considers only the actual toughness of a blocking creature, not any abilities or effects that might change the final amount of damage dealt. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    Example: A 6/6 green creature with trample is blocked by a 2/2 creature with protection from green. The attacking creature's controller must assign at least 2 damage to the blocker, even though that damage will be prevented by the blocker's protection ability. The attacking creature's controller can then choose to assign the rest of the damage to the defending player. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.9e - When there are several attacking creatures, it's legal to assign damage from those without trample so as to maximize the damage of those with trample. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
    Example: A 2/2 creature with an ability that enables it to block multiple attackers blocks two attackers: a 1/1 with no special abilities and a 3/3 with trample. The attacking player could assign 1 damage from the first attacker and 1 damage from the second to the blocking creature, and 2 damage to the defending player from the creature with trample. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.9f - Multiple instances of trample on the same creature are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.9.Ruling.1 - As per Rule 502.9b, you are not required to assign damage to the defending player and you are not required to divide the damage among the blockers in any particular way, but if you do assign it so that all the blockers receive lethal damage, you have the option to assign to the defending player.
    Example: If a Force of Nature (8/8 Trample) is blocked by three 2/2 creatures, you could (a) assign all 8 damage to one blocker, (b) 4 to each of two blockers, (c) 3 to one 3 to another and 2 to the third, (d) 3 to one, 2 to each other, and 1 to the defending player, (e) 2 to each blocker and 2 to the defending player, and so on. [D'Angelo 2001/08/15]
  • 502.9.Ruling.2 - As per Rule 502.9d, assigning damage from a Trample creature only considers the actual toughness of the creature, not any abilities or effects that might prevent or redirect damage once it is assigned. Another way of thinking of this is that you need to assign enough damage that the creature would be lethally damaged if nothing prevented or redirected the damage.
    Example: If a 2/2 creature with Protection from Green blocked a Force of Nature, you would only need to assign 2 damage to it, even though that damage will be prevented by the ability. [D'Angelo 2001/07/23]
  • Note - Also see Rule G20.15, "Trample".
502.10 - Banding
  • 502.10a - Banding is a static ability that modifies the rules for declaring attackers and assigning combat damage. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.10b - As a player declares attackers, he or she may declare that any number of those creatures with banding, and up to one of those creatures without banding, are all in a "band." (Defending players can't declare bands but may use banding in a different way; see Rule 502.10h.) [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.10c - A player may declare as many attacking bands as he or she wants, but each creature may be a member of only one of them. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.10d - Once an attacking band has been announced, it lasts for the rest of combat, even if something later removes the banding ability from one or more creatures. However, creatures in a band that are removed from combat are also removed from the band. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.10e - If an attacking creature becomes blocked by a creature, each other creature in the same band as the attacking creature becomes blocked by that same blocking creature. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    Example: A player attacks with a band consisting of a creature with flying and a creature with swampwalk. The defending player, who controls a Swamp, can block the flying creature if able. If he or she does, then the creature with swampwalk will also become blocked by the blocking creature(s). [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.10f - Banding doesn't cause attacking creatures to share abilities, nor does it remove any abilities. The attacking creatures in a band are separate permanents. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.10g - If one member of a band would become blocked due to an effect, the entire band becomes blocked. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.10h - A player who controls an attacking creature with banding chooses how combat damage is assigned by creatures blocking that creature. A player who controls a blocking creature with banding chooses how combat damage is assigned by creatures it blocks. If the creature had banding when it attacked or blocked, but the ability was removed before the combat damage step, damage is assigned normally. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.10i - Multiple instances of banding on the same creature are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.10.Ruling.1 - If a creature dies before damage is assigned, it does not count toward determining who assigns combat damage as per Rule 502.10h. If it dies after damage is assigned, but before it is dealt, the damage is still distributed as assigned. [D'Angelo 2003/09/08]
  • 502.10.Ruling.2 - Effects that change how damage can be assigned or that offer other options for damage assignment do fall under the "damage sharing" rule (Rule 502.10h). For example, the Thorn Elemental or Butcher Orgg choices would be made by the defending player if banding is present in the blockers. [Jordan 2003/05/19]
  • Note - Also see Rule G2.1, "Banding".
502.11 - Bands with Other
  • 502.11a - Bands with other is a special form of banding. If an effect causes a permanent to lose banding, the permanent loses all bands with other abilities as well. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.11b - An attacking creature with "bands with other [creature type]" can form an attacking band with other creatures that have the same "bands with other [creature type]" ability. Creatures with banding can also join this band, but creatures without banding can't. The creatures in this band don't have to have the creature type specified in the "bands with other [creature type]" ability. Blocking this band follows the same general rules as for banding. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.11c - If an attacking creature is blocked by at least two creatures with the same "bands with other [creature type]" ability, the defending player chooses how the attacking creature's damage is assigned. Similarly, if a blocking creature blocks at least two attacking creatures with the same "bands with other [creature type]" ability, the attacking player chooses how the blocking creature's damage is assigned. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.11d - Multiple instances of bands with other of the same type on the same creature are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
502.12 - Rampage
  • 502.12a - Rampage is a triggered ability. "Rampage [X]" means "Whenever this creature becomes blocked, it gets +X/+X until end of turn for each creature blocking it beyond the first." (See Rule 309, "Declare Blockers Step.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.12b - The rampage bonus is calculated only once per combat, when the triggered ability resolves. Adding or removing blockers later in combat won't change the bonus. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.12c - If a creature has multiple instances of rampage, each triggers separately. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.12.Ruling.1 - Rampage does apply to blockers which are not assigned to the Rampage creature directly. For example, creatures that become blockers due to blocking a member of a band which includes the Rampage creature do count as additional blockers for the Rampage ability. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule G18.1, "Rampage".
502.13 - Cumulative Upkeep
  • 502.13a - Cumulative upkeep is a triggered ability that imposes an increasing cost on a permanent. The phrase "Cumulative upkeep [cost]" means "At the beginning of your upkeep, put an age counter on this permanent, then sacrifice this permanent unless you pay [cost] for each age counter on it." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.13b - If a permanent has multiple instances of cumulative upkeep, each triggers separately. However, the age counters are not linked to any particular ability; each cumulative upkeep ability will count the total number of age counters on the permanent at the time that ability resolves.
    Example: A creature has two instances of "Cumulative upkeep - Pay 1 life." The creature currently has no counters but both cumulative upkeep abilities trigger. When the first ability resolves, the controller adds a counter and then chooses to pay 1 life. When the second ability resolves, the controller adds another counter and then chooses to pay an additional 2 life. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.13.Ruling.1 - The result of adding counters is that the cost to be paid is one times the cost the first time it is paid, two times the cost the second time, three times the cost the third time, and so on.
    Example: If a card has "Cumulative Upkeep: {B} and 2 life", you pay {B} and 2 life on the first upkeep, {B}{B} and 4 life on the next upkeep, {B}{B}{B} and 6 life on the next upkeep, and so on. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
  • 502.13.Ruling.2 - If cumulative upkeep is not paid for some period of time because the permanent is not in play or was temporarily changed so that it no longer had a cumulative upkeep, the cumulative upkeep tracking is not reset because the cumulative upkeep counters are not removed. Payment resumes as soon as it applies. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.13.Ruling.3 - Cumulative upkeep is not reset if the permanent changes controllers, because the counters are not removed. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.13.Ruling.4 - Permanents which count their last paid cumulative upkeep count the number of cumulative upkeep counters on the card and multiply by the cost per counter. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.13.Ruling.5 - This ability is put on the stack at the beginning of upkeep. If the permanent leaves play before this ability resolves, you still have to resolve it. Of course, you can just decide not to pay and there will be nothing to sacrifice. But you can also choose to pay if you really want to. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.13.Ruling.6 - If the cumulative upkeep cost somehow changes between the time the ability is placed on the stack and when it resolves, use the cost at the time it was put on the stack. [DeLaney 2000/01/13]
  • Note - Also see Rule G3.33, "Cumulative Upkeep".
502.14 - Snow-Covered
  • 502.14a - Snow-covered is an ability that doesn't do anything in its own right; it's simply a keyword that other cards look for. When a rule or an effect refers to a "snow-covered land," it means a land with the snow-covered ability. When a rule or an effect refers to a "snow-covered Forest," it means a Forest with the snow-covered ability, and so on. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.14b - Five snow-covered lands were printed in the Ice Age(tm) expansion. Their names are Snow-Covered Plains, Snow-Covered Island, Snow-Covered Swamp, Snow-Covered Mountain, and Snow-Covered Forest. These lands are basic lands, even though they have a different name and they have the snow-covered ability. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.14c - Some effects can add or remove the snow-covered ability. This doesn't change the existing name of the land, or any types, subtypes, or supertypes it has. For example, a card named Snow-Covered Forest is named "Snow-Covered Forest," while a Forest that has been granted the snow-covered ability is still named "Forest." [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.14d - Multiple instances of snow-covered on the same land are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
502.15 - Phasing
  • 502.15a - Phasing is a static ability that modifies the rules of the untap step. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.15b - During each player's untap step, before the active player untaps his or her permanents, all permanents with phasing the player controls phase out. Simultaneously, all objects that had phased out under that player's control phase in. (See Rule 217.8, "Phased-Out," and Rule 302.1.) [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.15c - If an effect causes a player to skip his or her untap step, the phasing event simply doesn't occur that turn. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.15d - Permanents phasing in don't trigger any comes-into-play abilities, and effects that modify how a permanent comes into play are ignored. Abilities and effects that specifically mention phasing can modify or trigger on this event, however. Permanents phasing out trigger leaves-play abilities as usual. (Because no player receives priority during the untap step, any abilities triggering off of the phasing event won't go onto the stack until the upkeep step begins.) [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.15e - When a permanent phases out, all damage dealt to it is removed. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.15f - A card that returns to play from the phased-out zone is considered the same permanent it was when it left. This is an exception to Rule 217.1c, which stipulates that a permanent "forgets" its previous existence when it changes zones. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.15g - Effects with limited duration and delayed triggered abilities that specifically reference a permanent will be unable to further affect that permanent if it phases out. However, other effects that reference the permanent (including effects with unlimited duration) can affect the permanent when it returns to play.
    Example: A creature is affected by Giant Growth and then phases out during the same turn. If the creature phases back in somehow before the turn is over, it won't get the +3/+3 bonus from the Giant Growth because its effect has a limited duration. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.15h - Phased-out cards "remember" their past histories and will return to play in the same state. They "remember" any counters they had on them, any choices made when they first came into play, and whether they were tapped or untapped when they left play. They also "remember" who controlled them when they phased out, although they may phase in under the control of a different player if a control effect with limited duration has expired.
    Example: Diseased Vermin reads, in part, "At the beginning of your upkeep, Diseased Vermin deals X damage to target opponent previously dealt damage by it, where X is the number of infection counters on it." If Diseased Vermin phases out, it "remembers" how many counters it has and also which opponents it has previously damaged. When it phases back in, it will still be able to target those opponents with its upkeep-triggered ability. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.15i - When a permanent phases out, any local enchantments or Equipment attached to that permanent phase out at the same time. This alternate way of phasing out is known as phasing out "indirectly." An enchantment or Equipment that phased out indirectly won't phase in by itself, but instead phases in along with the card it's attached to. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.15j - If a local enchantment or Equipment phased out directly (rather than phasing out along with the permanent it's attached to), then it "remembers" the permanent it was enchanting or equipping and returns to play attached to that permanent. If a local enchantment phases in and the permanent has left play or is no longer legal to enchant, the enchantment returns to play and then is placed in its owner's graveyard afterwards. This is a state-based effect; see Rule 420. If an Equipment phases in and the permanent has left play or is no longer legal to equip, the Equipment returns to play and then stays in play, not equipping anything. This is a state-based effect; see Rule 420. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.15k - Permanents that phase in keep the same timestamps (see Rule 418.5d and Rule 418.5e) they had when they phased out. This doesn't change the fact that the permanents phase in simultaneously, however. For example, if two Legends with the same name phase in, they both go to their owners' graveyards. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.15m - A permanent that phases in can attack and tap to play abilities as though it had haste. This applies even if that permanent phased out and phased back in the turn it came into play. The permanent remains able to attack and tap to play abilities until it changes controllers or leaves play. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.15n - A spell or ability that targets a permanent will resolve normally with respect to that permanent if the permanent phases out and back in before the spell or ability resolves. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.15p - Multiple instances of phasing on the same permanent are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule G16.8, "Phasing".
502.16 - Buyback
  • 502.16a - Buyback is a static ability of some instants and sorceries that functions while the spell is on the stack. The phrase "Buyback [cost]" means "You may pay an additional [cost] as you play this spell. If you do, put the spell into your hand instead of into your graveyard as it resolves." Paying a spell's buyback cost follows the rules for paying additional costs in Rule 409.1b and Rule 409.1f through Rule 409.1h. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.16.Ruling.1 - The spell does not go to your hand if it is countered. [D'Angelo 1999/04/23] Remember that a targeted spell is countered if all of its targets are illegal on resolution. [D'Angelo 1999/04/23]
  • 502.16.Ruling.2 - Cost reducing effects can be applied to Buyback costs. [D'Angelo 1997/10/17]
  • 502.16.Ruling.3 - If a Buyback spell is cast by someone other than the owner (using Grinning Totem), the card goes to the owner's graveyard, not to anyone's hand. [D'Angelo 2000/01/18]
  • Note - Also see Rule G2.12a, "Buyback".
502.17 - Horsemanship
  • 502.17a - Horsemanship is an evasion ability that appeared in the Portal Three Kingdoms(tm) set. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.17b - A creature with horsemanship can't be blocked by creatures without horsemanship. A creature with horsemanship can block a creature with or without horsemanship. (See Rule 309, "Declare Blockers Step.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.17c - Multiple instances of horsemanship on the same creature are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule G8.3, "Horsemanship".
502.18 - Cycling
  • 502.18a - Cycling is an activated ability that functions only while the card with cycling is in a player's hand. The phrase "Cycling [cost]" means "[Cost], Discard this card from your hand: Draw a card." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.18b - Although the cycling ability is playable only if the card is in a player's hand, it continues to exist while the object is in play and in all other zones. Therefore objects with cycling will be affected by effects that depend on objects having one or more activated abilities. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.18c - Landcycling is a variant of the cycling ability. The phrase "[Land type]cycling [cost]" means "[Cost], Discard this card from your hand: Search your library for a [land type] card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library." Any cards that trigger when a player cycles a card will trigger when a card's landcycling ability is played. Any effect that stops players from cycling cards will stop players from playing cards' landcycling abilities. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.18.Ruling.1 - Using Cycling is not a spell, it's an activated ability of a card in your hand. It cannot be countered by things which counter spells or things that counter activated abilities of permanents. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.18.Ruling.2 - You draw the card when the ability resolves, and if that card can be legally played, you can play it before letting any of the other spells and abilities on the stack resolve. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.18.Ruling.4 - Effects that trigger on "when this card is cycled" trigger when the cycling ability is played. The triggered ability will resolve before the card is drawn during the resolution of the Cycle ability. [Onslaught FAQ 2002/09/24]
  • 502.18.Ruling.5 - This ability can only be played while this card is in your hand. Effects that let you play a card from another zone as if it were in your hand will not allow you to play this ability as if it were in your hand. [DeLaney 2003/06/14]
  • Note - Also see Rule G3.34, "Cycling" and Rule G12.3, "Landcycling".
502.19 - Echo
  • 502.19a - Echo is a triggered ability. "Echo" means "At the beginning of your upkeep, if this permanent came under your control since the beginning of your last upkeep, sacrifice it unless you pay its mana cost." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.19.Ruling.1 - The Echo payment is required if you gained control of the creature by any means, such as putting it into play from the graveyard, taking control from another player, or having the card phase in. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.19.Ruling.2 - The Echo payment is only required if you control this card at the beginning of your upkeep. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.19.Ruling.3 - If you gain and lose control of the card several times before your upkeep, you still only pay the Echo cost once. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.19.Ruling.4 - Effects which modify the cost to play a spell, like the Emerald Medallion or Gloom, cannot be used to modify the Echo cost. These effects only apply to the announcing of spells, and do not apply to the mana cost that Echo sees. [D'Angelo 1998/11/25]
  • 502.19.Ruling.5 - This ability is put on the stack at the beginning of upkeep. If the permanent leaves play before this ability resolves, you still have to resolve it. Of course, you can just decide not to pay and there will be nothing to sacrifice. But you can also choose to pay if you really want to. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]
  • 502.19.Ruling.6 - You decide on resolution of the upkeep triggered ability whether to pay for the Echo cost or not. [Barclay 1999/06/02]
  • Note - Also see Rule 203 for information on Mana Cost.
  • Note - Also see Rule G5.1, "Echo".
502.20 - Fading
  • 502.20a - Fading is a keyword that represents two abilities. The phrase "Fading [X]" means "This permanent comes into play with X fade counters on it" and "At the beginning of your upkeep, remove a fade counter from this permanent. If you can't, sacrifice the permanent." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule G6.2.
502.21 - Kicker
  • 502.21a - Kicker is a static ability that functions while the spell is on the stack. The phrase "Kicker [cost]" means "You may pay an additional [cost] as you play this spell." The phrase "Kicker [cost 1] and/or [cost 2]" means the same thing as "Kicker [cost 1], kicker [cost 2]." Paying a spell's kicker cost(s) follows the rules for paying additional costs in Rule 409.1b and Rule 409.1f through Rule 409.1h. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.21b - Objects with kicker have additional abilities that specify what happens if the kicker cost is paid. Objects with more than one kicker cost have abilities that correspond to each kicker cost. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.21c - If the text that depends on a kicker cost being paid targets one or more permanents and/or players, the spell's controller chooses those targets only if he or she declared the intention to pay the appropriate kicker cost. Otherwise, the targets aren't chosen at all. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.21d - A card with kicker may contain the phrases "if the [A] kicker cost was paid" and "if the [B] kicker cost was paid," where A and B are the first and second kicker costs listed on the card, respectively. This text just refers to one kicker cost or the other, regardless of what the spell's controller actually spent when paying the cost. In other words, read "if the [A] kicker cost was paid" as "if the first kicker cost listed was paid," and read "if the [B] kicker cost was paid" as "if the second kicker cost listed was paid." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.21.Ruling.1 - The kicker cost does not count as part of the mana cost or converted mana cost for the spell. [Invasion FAQ 2000/10/03]
  • 502.21.Ruling.2 - You can only pay the kicker cost once each time you play the spell. You cannot choose to pay it multiple times. [Invasion FAQ 2000/10/03]
  • 502.21.Ruling.3 - You can only pay kicker costs when playing the spell from your hand (or when playing it as though it were in your hand). You cannot pay when the card is put into play directly. [Invasion FAQ 2000/10/03]
  • 502.21.Ruling.4 - Cost reducing effects can be applied to Kicker costs. [D'Angelo 2001/01/16]
  • Note - Also see G11.2, "Kicker".
502.22 - Flashback
  • 502.22a - Flashback is a static ability of some instant and sorcery cards that functions while the card is in a player's graveyard. The phrase "Flashback [cost]" means "You may play this card from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost. If you do, remove this card from the game instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack." Playing a spell using its flashback ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in Rule 409.1b and Rule 409.1f through Rule 409.1h. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.22.Ruling.1 - Any restrictions on when the spell can be played or options on how the spell is played apply as normal. Flashback does not override these restrictions or options based on card type or those defined in the card text. [DeLaney 2001/11/07]
  • 502.22.Ruling.2 - If the spell is countered, it is removed from the game instead of going to the graveyard. [D'Angelo 2001/12/16]
  • 502.22.Ruling.3 - The card is removed from the graveyard and placed on the stack during announcement just as if you played it from your hand. On resolution or on being countered, it is removed from the game instead of going to the graveyard (or anywhere else). [D'Angelo 2002/10/15]
  • Note - Also see Rule G6.7, "Flashback".
502.23 - Threshold
  • 502.23a - Threshold is a characteristic-setting ability, written "Threshold - [text]." It alters the rules text of the object it's on, based on a condition. The text can create any kind of ability. The phrase "Threshold - [text]" means "As long as you have seven or more cards in your graveyard, [this object] has '[text].'" [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.23b - Spells and permanents with threshold have the threshold text only if their controller has seven or more cards in his or her graveyard. Otherwise, the text after "Threshold -" is treated as though it did not appear on the spell or permanent. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.23c - An instant or sorcery with threshold has the threshold text only while the spell is on the stack. An artifact, creature, enchantment, or land with threshold has the threshold text only if the permanent is in play. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 502.23.Ruling.1 - If the ability is static, the ability is either "on" or "off". [Odyssey Rules Insert 2001/10/04] When it is "on", it is treated as if it were always on the permanent. It is ordered for continuous effects as if it entered play at the same time the permanent did. [DeLaney 2001/10/13]
  • 502.23.Ruling.2 - Activated abilities only check the Threshold condition when the ability is announced. It is not checked again at resolution. [Odyssey Rules Insert 2001/10/04]
  • 502.23.Ruling.3 - For triggered abilities, they only trigger if the Threshold is true at the time when (think "just before") the trigger condition occurs. [Odyssey Rules Insert 2001/10/04]
  • 502.23.Ruling.4 - For instants and sorceries on the spell stack, the threshold text is on the spell at any time Threshold has been met. At the start of resolution, check if Threshold has been met to decide if the text applies during resolution. [D'Angelo 2003/09/14]
  • 502.23.Ruling.5 - You may still use text altering spells and abilities such as from Sleight of Mind. These spells and abilities can be used when there is no text to alter (or when text only exists in a potential form) and once the ability appears (when Threshold is met), the alteration will be applied to the text as it would have been had the text been there the whole time. [Barclay 2001/10/22]
  • 502.23.Ruling.6 - A card may achieve Threshold during the announcement of a spell or ability. If so the Threshold ability text starts at the time Threshold is gained. Usually this doesn't matter, but it may. For example, if Boneshard Slasher is in play and someone uses Narcissism (discard a card and target a creature), you can refer to Rule 409.1 and see that the targeting occurs before the discard, so the Boneshard Slasher is targeted before Threshold occurs. Therefore, the Slasher's ability to trigger on becoming targeted won't trigger this time. [Jordan 2002/05/14]
  • Note - Also see Rule G20.6, "Threshold".
502.24 - Madness
  • 502.24a - Madness is a keyword that represents two abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the card with madness is in a player's hand. The second is a triggered ability that functions when the first ability is applied. The phrase "Madness [cost]" means "If a player would discard this card from his or her hand, that player discards it, but may remove it from the game instead of putting it into his or her graveyard" and "When this card is removed from the game this way, until that player passes next, the player may play it any time he or she could play an instant as though it were in his or her hand by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost. When the player passes next, he or she puts this card into his or her graveyard." [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.24b - Playing a spell using its madness ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in Rule 409.1b and Rule 409.1f through Rule 409.1h. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.24.Ruling.1 - The fine grain timing around this ability can be a bit difficult to follow. What happens is that if you discard the card (it does not matter why you are discarding), then you get the choice of whether or not you want a chance to play the card. If you don't want to, simply put it in your graveyard as normal. If you might want to, you do not pay at this time. Instead you remove the card from the game and put a triggered ability on the stack (as per those rules, see Rule 404). What this means is that players may respond to this trigger with other spells and abilities. Once any responses are resolved and both players pass, the triggered ability resolves. You can now play that spell just like you would as if it were in your hand (but it is not in your hand) by paying the Madness cost instead of the mana cost. And this spell can be played any time an instant is legal, regardless of its type. As normal, you can only play a spell or ability when it is your opportunity to do so. The text saying "until he or she passes next" means that you can choose to put other spells or abilities on the stack prior to playing the Madness spell. [D'Angelo 2002/02/23]
  • 502.24.Ruling.2 - You are in no way required to play the spell even if you choose to remove it from the game. You can simply choose to pass when you have a chance to play something and the Madness spell is placed into the graveyard. The timing for putting it into the graveyard is also a bit odd since this is also a triggered ability. When you pass, put a triggered ability on the stack. When that ability resolves, the card is put into the graveyard. [D'Angelo 2002/02/23]
  • 502.24.Ruling.3 - Madness does not allow you to discard the card just because you want to. Another spell, ability, or game rule has to cause the card to be discarded. [D'Angelo 2002/02/23]
  • 502.24.Ruling.4 - There is an odd interaction with Rule 413.1 (the spell stack resolves or phase/step ends after both players pass in succession), because the last part of Madness can trigger on player A passing. This triggered ability is placed on the stack, then player B gets a chance to play something. If B passes, then the next item on the stack resolves or the phase/step ends without player A getting a chance to respond to their trigger. This doesn't really affect anything since player A could have played before they passed. [Jordan 2003/08/26]
  • Note - Also see Rule G13.1, "Madness".
502.25 - Fear
  • 502.25a - Fear is an evasion ability. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.25b - A creature with fear can't be blocked except by artifact creatures and/or black creatures. (See Rule 309, "Declare Blockers Step.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.25c - Multiple instances of fear on the same creature are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.25.Ruling.1 - Cards that change color words do not change the Fear ability. The reminder text on the card can change, but it's just reminder text and does not actually define the ability. [D'Angelo 2003/01/19]
  • Note - Also see Rule G6.3, "Fear".
502.26 - Morph
  • 502.26a - Morph is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card it's on, and the morph effect works any time the card is face down. The phrase "Morph [cost]" means "You may play this card as a 2/2 face-down creature, with no text, no name, no subtypes, no expansion symbol, and a mana cost of {0} by paying {3} rather than its mana cost." Any time you could play an instant, you may show all players the morph cost for any face-down permanent you control, pay that cost, then turn the permanent face up. This action does not use the stack. (See Rule 504, "Face-Down Spells and Permanents.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.26b - To play a card using its morph ability, turn it face down. It becomes a 2/2 face-down creature card, with no text, no name, no subtypes, no expansion symbol, and a mana cost of {0}. These values are the copiable values of that object's characteristics. (See Rule 418.5, "Interaction of Continuous Effects," and Rule 503, "Copying Objects.") Put it onto the stack (as a face-down spell with the same characteristics), and pay {3} rather than pay its mana cost. This follows the rules for paying alternative costs. You can use morph to play a card from any zone from which you could normally play it. When the spell resolves, it comes into play with the same characteristics the spell had. The morph effect applies to the face-down object wherever it is, and it ends when the permanent is turned face up. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.26c - You can't play a card face down if it doesn't have morph. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.26d - Any time you could play an instant, you may turn a face-down permanent you control face up. To do this, show all players what the permanent's morph cost will be when the effect ends, pay that cost, then turn the permanent face up. The morph effect on it ends, and it regains its normal characteristics. Any abilities relating to the permanent coming into play don't trigger when it's turned face up and don't have any effect, because the permanent has already come into play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.26e - If a face-up permanent is turned face down by a spell or ability, it becomes a 2/2 face-down creature, with no text, no name, no subtypes, no expansion symbol, and a mana cost of {0}. These values are the copiable values of that object's characteristics. (See Rule 418.5, "Interaction of Continuous Effects," and Rule 503, "Copying Objects.") The rules for morph and face-down permanents apply to it normally. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 502.26f - See Rule 504, "Face-Down Spells and Permanents," for more information on how to play cards with morph. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.26.Ruling.1 - The one exception to Rule 502.26c is that Illusionary Mask can put a card into play face down even if it does not have Morph. [D'Angelo 2003/09/08]
  • 502.26.Ruling.2 - When playing a card using Morph, it goes on the stack face down and then enters play face down. You cannot turn the card face up while it is on the stack. [Onslaught Rules 2002/09/15] The other players don't even get to see the card before it gets put on the stack (unless it came from a zone where it was revealed to begin with). [DeLaney 2002/09/20]
  • 502.26.Ruling.3 - Some cards have an ability that triggers when the card is turned face up. These can trigger due to the Morph ability being used or by any other effect that turns them face up. They do not trigger from leaving play or being revealed. [Legions FAQ 2003/01/23]
  • 502.26.Ruling.4 - The alternate cost of Morph cannot be combined with other alternate costs, such as Aluren. [Jordan 2002/09/07]
  • 502.26.Ruling.5 - Because the act of turning a card face up does not go on the stack, it cannot be countered or prevented. [Onslaught Rules 2002/09/15]
  • 502.26.Ruling.6 - You cannot pay the Morph cost for a card that is already face-up. The Morph cost can only be paid when the card is face down. [D'Angelo 2003/02/16]
  • 502.26.Ruling.7 - If Humility is in play, it is not possible to turn the face-down card face up using the morph ability. Humility removes the morph cost when it removes the Morph ability. [WotC Rules Team 2003/12/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule G13.15, "Morph".
502.27 - Amplify
  • 502.27a - Amplify is a static ability. "Amplify [X]" means "As this object comes into play, reveal any number of cards from your hand that share a creature type with it. This permanent comes into play with X +1/+1 counters on it for each card revealed this way. You can't reveal this card or any other cards that are coming into play at the same time as this card." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.27b - If a creature has multiple instances of amplify, each one works separately. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.27.Ruling.1 - The card Artificial Evolution can modify a card's creature types before it enters play, which will modify what you can reveal. [Legions FAQ 2003/01/23]
  • 502.27.Ruling.2 - If multiple cards with Amplify are going to come into play at the same time, you can reveal the same cards for each of them if you want. [Legions FAQ 2003/01/23]
  • 502.27.Ruling.3 - A copy card that enters play as a copy, such as Clone, does get to use the Amplify ability. [D'Angelo 2003/09/08]
  • Note - Also see Rule G1.9, "Amplify".
502.28 - Double Strike
  • 502.28a - Double strike is a static ability that modifies the rules for the combat damage step. (See Rule 310, "Combat Damage Step.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.28b - At the start of the combat damage step, if at least one attacking or blocking creature has double strike or first strike, creatures without double strike or first strike (see Rule 502.2, "First Strike") don't assign combat damage. Instead of proceeding to end of combat, the phase gets a second combat damage step to handle the remaining creatures. In the second combat damage step, surviving attackers and blockers that didn't assign combat damage in the first step, plus any creatures with double strike, assign their combat damage. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.28c - Removing double strike from a creature during the first combat damage step will stop it from assigning combat damage in the second combat damage step. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.28d - Giving double strike to a creature with first strike after it has already put first strike combat damage onto the stack in the first combat damage step will allow the creature to assign combat damage in the second combat damage step. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.28e - Multiple instances of double strike on the same creature are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.28.Ruling.1 - Double Strike is not First Strike. Effects that make a creature lose First Strike will not make it lose Double Strike. [Legions FAQ 2003/01/23]
  • Note - Also see Rule G4.14, "Double Strike".
502.29 - Provoke
  • 502.29a - Provoke is a triggered ability. "Provoke" means "Whenever this creature attacks, you may choose to have target creature defending player controls block this creature this combat if able. If you do, untap that creature." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.29b - If a creature has multiple instances of provoke, each triggers separately. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.29.Ruling.1 - You can choose a creature that is already untapped if you want to. [Legions FAQ 2003/01/23]
  • 502.29.Ruling.2 - If the chosen creature is unable to block for any reason (such as becoming tapped before blockers are assigned) there is no penalty. But if it can block this attacker, then it must. [Legions FAQ 2003/01/23]
  • Note - Also see Rule 500.3 for handling "must block".
  • Note - Also see Rule G16.24.
502.30 - Storm
  • 502.30a - Storm is a triggered ability that functions while the spell is on the stack. "Storm" means "When you play this spell, put a copy of it onto the stack for each other spell that was played before it this turn. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for any number of the copies." [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 502.30b - If a spell has multiple instances of storm, each triggers separately. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 502.30.Ruling.1 - The number of copies is determined when this spell is played (announced) and only counts spells played (announced) before it was. Ones placed on the stack afterwards do not change this. [D'Angelo 2003/04/30]
  • 502.30.Ruling.2 - The copies are put onto the stack directly. They are not "played" and do not trigger abilities that trigger on something being played. [D'Angelo 2003/04/30] This makes it so the Storm ability itself will not trigger on the copies being put on the stack. [DeLaney 2003/06/14]
  • 502.30.Ruling.3 - When counting spells, you count ones played by every player, including ones that were played from zones other than a player's hand. You do not count lands being played, any abilities that were played, any spells put onto the stack without playing them, or any cards put into play by the effect of a spell or ability. [D'Angelo 2003/06/07]
  • 502.30.Ruling.4 - Spell copies can be countered and otherwise affected just like any other spell. [D'Angelo 2003/04/30]
  • 502.30.Ruling.5 - Countering the original spell will not stop the copies from being created. [D'Angelo 2003/08/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule G19.22, "Storm".
502.31 - Affinity
  • 502.31a - Affinity is a static ability that functions while the spell is on the stack. "Affinity for [text]" means "This spell costs you {1} less to play for each [text] you control." [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 502.31b - The affinity ability reduces only generic mana costs; it doesn't reduce how much colored mana you have to pay for a spell. Affinity can't reduce the cost to play a spell to less than 0. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.31c - If a spell has multiple instances of affinity, each of them applies. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
502.32 - Entwine
  • 502.32a - Entwine is a static ability that functions while the spell is on the stack. The phrase "Entwine [cost]" means "You may choose to use all modes of this spell instead of just one. If you do, you pay an additional [cost]." Using the entwine ability follows the rules for choosing modes and paying additional costs in Rule 409.1b and Rule 409.1f through Rule 409.1h. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.32b - If the entwine cost was paid, follow the text of each of the modes in the order written on the card when the spell resolves. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.32c - Each mode is considered a separate effect. [Barclay 2004/01/15]
502.33 - Equip
  • 502.33a - Equip is an activated ability of artifact Equipment cards. The phrase "Equip [cost]" means "[cost]: Move this Equipment onto target creature you control. Play this ability only any time you could play a sorcery." [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.33b - For more information about Equipment, see Rule 212.2, "Artifacts." [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.33c - If an artifact has multiple instances of equip, any of its equip abilities may be used. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.33.Ruling.1 - If you play the equip ability and target the creature it is already equipping, then it does nothing when it resolves. It stays where it is. It also does not get a new timestamp for effects ordering. [Barclay 2003/10/21]
502.34 - Imprint
  • 502.34a - Imprint is an activated or triggered ability, written "Imprint - [text]," where "[text]" is a triggered or activated ability. Cards that are in the removed-from-game zone because they were removed from the game by an imprint ability are imprinted on the source of that ability. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 502.34b - The phrase "imprinted [type] card" means the card of that type that's imprinted on the permanent. If a permanent has more than one card of that type imprinted on it, each of those cards is an "imprinted [type] card." [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 502.34.Ruling.1 - If a permanent with imprint phases out and back in, it's still the same permanent, so any cards imprinted on it remain imprinted on it. [WotC Rules Team 2003/10/06]
  • 502.34.Ruling.2 - If no card is imprinted or if the only imprinted cards are not of the correct type, then an ability that uses imprint information will have no effect. [WotC Rules Team 2003/12/01]
  • 502.34.Ruling.3 - If a permanent that has something imprinted is copied, the copy does not have that same card imprinted. [WotC Rules Team 2003/12/01]
  • 502.34.Ruling.4 - If a permanent gains an ability that refers to an imprinted [type] card, it refers to any cards of that type that are currently imprinted. It does not mean that you get to imprint something new at that time. [WotC Rules Team 2003/12/01]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004