SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

403 - Activated Abilities
  • 403.1 - An activated ability is written as "[cost]: [effect]." The activation cost is everything before the colon (:). An ability's activation cost must be paid by the player who is playing it. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 403.2 - Only an object's controller (or its owner, if it doesn't have a controller) can play its activated ability unless the object specifically says otherwise. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 403.3 - If an activated ability has a restriction on its use (for example, "Play this ability only once each turn"), the restriction continues to apply to that object even if its controller changes. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 403.4 - A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol ({Tap}) in its activation cost can't be played unless the creature has been under its controller's control since the start of his or her most recent turn. Creatures with haste may ignore this rule (see Rule 502.5). [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 403.5 - Activated abilities that read "Play this ability only any time you could play a sorcery" mean the player must follow the timing rules for playing a sorcery, though the ability isn't actually a sorcery. Activated abilities that read "Play this ability only any time you could play an instant" mean the player must follow the timing rules for playing an instant, though the ability isn't actually an instant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004