This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.
413 - Resolving Spells and Abilities
- 413.1 - Each time both players pass in succession, the object (a spell, an
ability, or combat damage) on top of the stack resolves. (See Rule 416,
"Effects.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 413.2 - Resolution of a spell or ability may involve several steps. These
steps are followed in the order listed below. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 413.2a - If the spell or ability specifies targets, it checks whether the
targets are still legal. A target that's removed from play, or from the
zone designated by the spell or ability, is illegal. A target may also
become illegal if its characteristics changed since the spell or ability
was played or if an effect changed the text of the spell. If all targets
are now illegal, the spell or ability is countered. If the spell or
ability is not countered, it will resolve normally, affecting only the
targets that are still legal. If a target is illegal, the spell or
ability can't perform any actions on it or make the target perform any
actions. If the spell or ability needs to know information about one or
more targets that are now illegal, it will use the illegal targets'
current or last known information. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
- 413.2b - The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in
the order written. However, replacement effects may modify these actions.
In some cases, later text on the card may modify the meaning of earlier
text (for example, "Destroy target creature. It can't be regenerated" or
"Counter target spell. If you do, put it on top of its owner's library
instead of into its owner's graveyard.") Don't just apply effects step by
step without thinking in these cases-read the whole text and apply the
rules of English to the text. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 413.2c - If an effect offers any choices other than choices already made as
part of playing the spell or ability, the player announces these while
applying the effect. The player can't choose an option that's illegal or
impossible. (For example, a player can't avoid the consequences of not
taking an optional action if he or she can't meet all the immediate
requirements of that action.)
Example: A spell's instruction reads, "You may sacrifice a creature. If
you don't, you lose 4 life." A player who controls no creatures can't
choose the sacrifice option. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 413.2d - If an effect requires both players to make choices or take actions
at the same time, the active player makes and announces his or her choices
first, and then the nonactive player does (knowing the active player's
choices). Then the actions take place simultaneously. See Rule 103.4.
If a player must make more than one choice at a time, he or she makes the
choices in the order written, or in the order he or she chooses if the
choices aren't ordered. Then the actions are processed simultaneously.
Some spells and abilities have multiple steps or actions, denoted by
separate sentences or clauses. In these cases, the active player makes
any choices required for the first action, then the nonactive player makes
any choices required for that action, then the first action is processed
simultaneously. Then the active player makes any choices required for
the second action, then the nonactive player makes any choices required
for that action, then that action is processed simultaneously, and so on.
Example: Stronghold Gambit reads, in part, "Each player chooses a card
in his or her hand. Then each player reveals his or her chosen card."
First the active player chooses a card, then the nonactive player does so.
Each player reveals the cards simultaneously. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
- 413.2e - If an effect gives a player the option to pay mana, he or she may
play mana abilities as part of the action. No other spells or abilities
can be played during resolution. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 413.2f - If an effect requires information from the game (such as the number
of creatures in play), the answer is determined only once, when the effect
is applied. The effect uses the current information of a specific
permanent if that permanent is still in play, or of a specific card in the
stated zone; otherwise, the effect uses the last known information the
object had before leaving that zone. The exception is that static
abilities can't use last known information; see Rule 412.5. If the
ability text states that an object does something, it's the object as it
exists (or most recently existed) that does it, not the ability.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 413.2g - An effect that refers to characteristics of an object checks only
for the value of the specified characteristics, regardless of any related
ones the object may also have.
Example: An effect that reads "Destroy all black creatures" destroys a
white-and-black creature, but one that reads "Destroy all nonblack
creatures" doesn't. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 413.2h - A spell is put into play from the stack under the control of the
spell's controller (for permanents) or is put into its owner's graveyard
from the stack (for instants and sorceries) as the final step of the
spell's resolution. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 413.2i - If an effect could result in a tie, the text of the spell or
ability that created the effect will specify what to do in the event of a
tie. The Magic game has no default for ties. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.
|
|