SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

415 - Targeted Spells and Abilities
  • 415.1 - An instant or sorcery spell is targeted if the text that will be followed when it resolves uses the phrase "target [something]," where the "something" is a phrase that describes an object or player. (If an activated or triggered ability of an instant or sorcery uses the word target, that ability is targeted, but the spell is not.)
    Example: A sorcery card has the ability "When you cycle this card, target creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn." This triggered ability is targeted, but that doesn't make the card it's on targeted. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 415.2 - An activated or triggered ability is targeted if it uses the phrase "target [something]," where the "something" is a phrase that describes an object or player. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 415.3 - Local-enchantment spells are always targeted, even though they don't use the phrase "target [something]." They target the permanent or player they will enchant. A local-enchantment permanent doesn't target anything; only the spell is targeted. An activated or triggered ability of the local-enchantment permanent can be targeted. [CompRules 2003/07/01] Neither Equipment spells nor Equipment permanents target anything. The equip ability is targeted; see Rule 502.33, "Equip." An activated or triggered ability of an Equipment permanent can be targeted. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 415.4 - Spells and abilities that can have zero or more targets are targeted only if one or more targets have been chosen for them. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 415.5 - Only permanents are legal targets for spells and abilities, unless a spell or ability (a) specifies that it can target an object in another zone or a player or (b) targets an object that can't exist in the in-play zone, such as a spell or ability. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 415.6 - A spell or ability on the stack is an illegal target for itself. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 415.7 - Changing Targets
  • 415.7a - The target of a spell or ability can change only to another legal target. If the target can't be changed to another legal target, the original target is unchanged. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 415.7b - Modal spells and abilities may have different targeting requirements for each mode. Changing a spell or ability's target can't change its mode. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 415.7c - The word "you" in an object's text isn't a target. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004