This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.
421 - Handling "Infinite" Loops
- 421.1 - Occasionally the game can get into a state in which a set of actions
could be repeated forever. These rules (sometimes called the
"infinity rules") govern how to break such loops. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 421.2 - If the loop contains one or more optional actions and one player
controls them all, that player chooses a number. The loop is treated as
repeating that many times or until the other player intervenes, whichever
comes first. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 421.3 - If the loop contains at least one optional action controlled by each
player and actions by both players are required to continue the loop, the
active player chooses a number. The nonactive player then has two
choices. He or she can choose a lower number, in which case the loop
continues that number of times plus whatever fraction is necessary for the
active player to "have the last word." Or he or she can agree to the
number the active player chose, in which case the loop continues that
number of times plus whatever fraction is necessary for the nonactive
player to "have the last word." (Note that either fraction may be zero.)
Example: One player controls a creature with the ability "{0}: [This
creature] gains flying." Another player controls a permanent with the
ability "{0}: Target creature loses flying." The "infinity rule" ensures
that regardless of which player initiated the gain/lose flying ability,
the nonactive player will always have the final choice and therefore be
able to determine whether the creature has flying. (Note that this
assumes that the first player attempted to give the creature flying at
least once.) [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 421.4 - If the loop contains only mandatory actions, the game ends in a
draw. (See Rule 102.6.) [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 421.5 - If the loop contains at least one optional action controlled by each
player and these actions don't depend on one another, the active player
chooses a number. The nonactive player can either agree to that number or
choose a higher number. Note that this rule applies even if the actions
could exist in separate loops rather than in a single loop.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.
|
|