This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.
503 - Copying Objects
- 503.1 - Some objects create or become a "copy" of a spell, permanent, or
card. (Certain older cards were printed with the phrase "search for a
copy." This section doesn't cover those cards, which have received new
text in the Oracle card reference.) [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 503.2 - When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the
original object's characteristics (name, mana cost, color, type,
supertype, subtype, expansion symbol, rules text, power, and toughness)
and, for an object on the stack, choices made when playing it (mode,
targets, the value of X, whether a kicker cost was paid, how it will
affect multiple targets, and so on). The "copiable values" are the values
that are printed on the object, as modified by other copy effects, plus
any values set for face-down spells or permanents. Other
effects (including type-changing effects) and counters are not copied.
Example: Chimeric Staff is an artifact that reads "{X}: Chimeric Staff
becomes an X/X artifact creature until end of turn." Clone is a
creature that reads, "As Clone comes into play, you may choose a creature
in play. If you do, Clone comes into play as a copy of that creature."
After a Staff has become a 5/5 artifact creature, a Clone comes into play
as a copy of it. The Clone is an artifact, not a 5/5 artifact
creature. (The copy has the Staff's ability, however, and will become a
creature if that ability is activated.) [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 503.3 - The copied information becomes the copiable values for the copy,
replacing its previous copiable values. Objects that copy the object will
use the new copiable values. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
Example: Vesuvan Doppelganger reads, "As Vesuvan Doppelganger comes
into play, you may choose a creature in play. If you do, Vesuvan
Doppelganger comes into play as a copy of that creature except for its
color and gains 'At the beginning of your upkeep, you may have this
creature become a copy of target creature except for its color. If you
do, this creature gains this ability.'" A Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into
play as a copy of Grizzly Bears (a 2/2 green creature with no abilities).
Then, a Clone comes into play as a copy of the Doppelganger. The Clone
is a 2/2 blue Bear named Grizzly Bears that has the Doppelganger's
upkeep-triggered ability. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
- 503.4 - Some effects cause a permanent that's copying a permanent to copy a
different permanent while remaining in play. The change doesn't trigger
comes-into-play or leaves-play abilities. This also doesn't change any
noncopy effects presently affecting the permanent.
Example: Unstable Shapeshifter reads, "Whenever a creature comes into
play, Unstable Shapeshifter becomes a copy of that creature and gains this
ability." A Shapeshifter is affected by Giant Growth, which reads
"Target creature gets +3/+3 until end of turn." If a creature comes into
play later this turn, the Shapeshifter will become a copy of that
creature, but it will still get +3/+3 from the Giant Growth.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 503.5 - An object that comes into play "as a copy" of another permanent
becomes a copy as it comes into play. It doesn't come into play, and then
become a copy of that permanent. If the text that's being copied includes
any abilities that replace the comes-into-play event (such as "comes into
play with" or "as [this] comes into play" abilities), those abilities will
take effect. Also, any comes-into-play triggered abilities of the copy
will have a chance to trigger.
Example: Skyshroud Behemoth reads, "Fading 2 (This creature comes into
play with two fade counters on it. At the beginning of your upkeep,
remove a fade counter from it. If you can't, sacrifice it.) /
Skyshroud Behemoth comes into play tapped." A Clone that comes into
play as a copy of a Skyshroud Behemoth will also come into play tapped
with two fade counters on it.
Example: Striped Bears reads, "When Striped Bears comes into play, draw
a card." A Clone comes into play as a copy of Striped Bears. The
Clone has the Bears' comes-into-play triggered ability, so the Clone's
controller draws a card. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 503.6 - When copying a permanent, any choices that have been made for that
permanent aren't copied. Instead, if an object comes into play as a copy
of another permanent, the object's controller will get to make any
"as comes into play" choices for it.
Example: A Clone comes into play as a copy of Chameleon Spirit.
Chameleon Spirit reads, in part, "As Chameleon Spirit comes into play,
choose a color." The Clone won't copy the color choice of the Spirit;
rather, the controller of the Clone will get to make a new choice.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 503.7 - Because any choices that have been made for a permanent aren't
copied, sometimes a copy card will gain an ability that refers to a choice
that was never made. In that case, the choice is considered to be "zero"
or "undefined."
Example: Voice of All comes into play and Unstable Shapeshifter
copies it. Voice of All reads, in part, "As Voice of All comes into play,
choose a color. / Voice of All has protection from the chosen color."
Unstable Shapeshifter never got a chance to choose a color, because it
didn't come into play as a Voice of All card, so the Shapeshifter's
protection ability doesn't protect it from anything at all.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 503.8 - If an ability causes a player to make a choice as a copy comes into
play, the copy will "remember" that choice and continue to use it for its
abilities if appropriate. If the choice is not appropriate, it is
considered to be "zero" or "undefined."
Example: A Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play as a copy of
Chameleon Spirit, and the Doppelganger's controller chooses blue.
Later, the Doppelganger copies Quirion Elves. The Elves has the
ability, "{Tap}: Add one mana of the chosen color to your mana pool." If
the mana ability of the Doppelganger is played, it will produce blue mana.
Example: A Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play as a copy of
Caller of the Hunt. Caller of the Hunt reads, in part, "As
Caller of the Hunt comes into play, choose a creature type." The
Doppelganger's controller chooses Goblin. Later, the Doppelganger copies
Quirion Elves. If the mana ability of the Doppelganger is played, it
will fail to produce any mana. It won't produce Goblin mana.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 503.9 - Some copy effects give an ability to the copy as part of the copying
process. This ability becomes part of the copiable values for the copy,
along with any other abilities that were copied. Also, some copy effects
specifically state that they don't copy certain characteristics; they
retain their original values instead. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
Example: Quirion Elves comes into play and an Unstable Shapeshifter
copies it. The copiable values of the Shapeshifter now match those of the
Elves, except that the Shapeshifter also has the ability "Whenever a
creature comes into play, Unstable Shapeshifter becomes a copy of that
creature and gains this ability." Then a Clone comes into play as a
copy of the Unstable Shapeshifter. The Clone copies the new copiable
values of the Shapeshifter, including the ability that the Shapeshifter
gave itself when it copied the Elves. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
- 503.10 - To copy a spell means to put a copy of the spell onto the stack; a
copy of a spell isn't "played." In addition to copying the
characteristics of the spell, all decisions made when the spell was played
are copied. These include mode, targets, the value of X, and optional
additional costs such as buyback. (See Rule 409, "Playing Spells and
Activated Abilities.") Choices that are normally made on resolution are
not copied. A copy of a spell is itself a spell, but it has no spell card
associated with it. It works just like a normal spell: it can be
countered or it can resolve, and it uses the same timing rules as normal
spells. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
Example: A player plays Fork, targeting an Emerald Charm. Fork
reads, "Put a copy of target instant or sorcery spell onto the stack,
except that it copies Fork's color and you may choose new targets for the
copy." Emerald Charm reads, "Choose one - Untap target permanent; or
destroy target global enchantment; or target creature loses flying until
end of turn." When the Fork resolves, it puts a copy of the Emerald Charm
on the stack. The copy has the same mode that was chosen for the original
Emerald Charm. It does not necessarily have the same target, but only
because Fork allows choosing of new targets. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 503.10a - A copy of a spell in a zone other than the stack ceases to exist.
This is a state-based effect. See Rule 420. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 503.11 - If an effect refers to a permanent by name, the effect still tracks
that permanent even if it changes names or becomes a copy of something
else.
Example: An Unstable Shapeshifter copies a Crazed Armodon.
Crazed Armodon reads, "{G}: Crazed Armodon gets +3/+0 and gains trample
until end of turn. Destroy Crazed Armodon at end of turn. Play this
ability only once each turn." If this activated ability of the
Shapeshifter is played, the Shapeshifter will be destroyed at end of turn,
even if it's no longer a copy of Crazed Armodon at that time.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 503.12 - An effect that instructs a player to "play a copy" of an object
follows the rules for playing spells and abilities, except that the copy
is played while another spell or ability is resolving. Playing a copy
of a nonland object follows steps in Rule 409.1a through
Rule 409.1h, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities," then the copy
becomes played. The played copy is a spell on the stack, and just like
any other spell it can resolve or be countered. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.
|
|