SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

409 - Playing Spells and Activated Abilities
  • 409.1 - Playing a spell or activated ability follows the steps listed below, in order. If, at any point during the playing of a spell or ability, a player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the spell was played illegally; the game returns to the moment before that spell or ability was played (see Rule 422, "Handling Illegal Actions"). Announcements and payments can't be altered after they've been made. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 409.1a - The player announces that he or she is playing the spell or activated ability. It moves from the zone it's in to the stack and remains there until it's countered or resolves. In the case of spells, the physical card goes onto the stack. In the case of activated abilities, the ability goes onto the stack without any card associated with it. Each spell has all the characteristics of the card associated with it. Each activated ability that's on the stack has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. The controller of a spell is the player who played the spell. The controller of an activated ability is the player who played the ability. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 409.1b - If the spell or ability is modal (uses the phrase "Choose one -" or "[specified player] chooses one -"), the player announces the mode choice. If the spell or ability has a variable mana cost (indicated by {X}) or some other variable cost, the player announces the value of that variable at this time. If the spell or ability has alternative, additional, or other special costs (such as buyback or kicker costs), the player announces his or her intentions to pay any or all of those costs (see Rule 409.1f). You can't apply two alternative methods of playing or two alternative costs to a single spell or ability. Previously made choices (such as choosing to play a spell with flashback from his or her graveyard or choosing to play a creature with morph face down) may restrict the player's options when making these choices. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 409.1c - If the spell or ability requires any targets, the player first announces how many targets he or she will choose (if the spell or ability has a variable number of targets), then announces the targets themselves. A spell or ability can't be played unless the required number of legal targets are chosen. The same target can't be chosen multiple times. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 409.1d - If the spell or ability targets one or more targets only if an alternative, additional, or special cost (such as a buyback or kicker cost) is paid for it, or if a particular mode is chosen for it, its controller chooses those targets only if he or she announced the intention to pay that cost or chose that mode. Otherwise, the spell or ability is played as though it did not have those targets. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 409.1e - If the spell or ability affects several targets in different ways, the player announces how it will affect each target. If the spell or ability requires the player to divide an effect (such as damage or counters) among one or more targets, or any number of untargeted objects or players, the player announces the division. Each of these targets, objects, or players must receive at least one of whatever is being divided. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 409.1f - The player determines the total cost of the spell or ability. Usually this is just the mana cost (for spells) or activation cost (for abilities). Some cards list additional or alternative costs in their text, and some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. The total cost is the mana cost, activation cost, or alternative cost, plus all cost increases and minus all cost reductions. Once the total cost is determined, it becomes "locked in." If effects would change the total cost after this time, they have no effect. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 409.1g - The player then has a chance to play mana abilities (see Rule 411, "Playing Mana Abilities"). Mana abilities must be played before costs are paid. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 409.1h - Once the player has finished playing mana abilities, he or she pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    Example: You play Death Bomb, which costs {3}{B} and has an additional cost of sacrificing a creature. You sacrifice Thunderscape Familiar, whose effect makes your black spells cost {1} less to play. Because a spell's total cost is "locked in" before payments are actually made, you pay {2}{B}, not {3}{B}, even though you're sacrificing the Familiar. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 409.1i - Once the steps described in Rule 409.1a through Rule 409.1h are completed, the spell or ability becomes played. Any abilities that trigger on a spell or ability being played or put onto the stack trigger at this time. The spell or ability's controller gets priority. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 409.2 - Some spells and abilities specify that their controller's opponent does something the controller would normally do while it's being played, such as choose a mode, choose targets, or choose how the spell or ability will affect its targets. In these cases, the opponent does so when the spell or ability's controller normally would do so. If the spell or ability instructs both players to do something at the same time as it's being played, the spell's controller goes first, then his or her opponent. This is an exception to Rule 103.4. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 409.3 - Playing a spell or ability that alters costs won't do anything to spells and abilities that are already on the stack. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 409.4 - A player can't begin to play a spell or activated ability that's prohibited from being played by an effect. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 409.Ruling.1 - As a note on Rule 409.1e, dividing an effect can be communicated using a bunch of possible words, including "divide" and "distribute". This is not locked to the word "divide". [DeLaney 2003/12/14]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004