SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

G15.1 - Object
  • G15.1a - An "object" is a card, a token, a spell, a permanent, an ability on the stack, or combat damage on the stack. The term "object" is used in these rules when a rule applies to cards, tokens, spells, permanents, abilities on the stack, and combat damage on the stack. See Rule 200.8. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
G15.2 - Obsolete
  • G15.2a - Terms marked "(Obsolete)" in this glossary were used only on older cards. Updated wordings for all cards that used these terms are available in the Oracle card reference. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G15.3 - One-Shot Effect
  • G15.3a - One-shot effects do something only once and then end. See Rule 417, "One-Shot Effects." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G15.3b - See also Continuous Effects. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G15.4 - Opponent
  • G15.4a - A player's opponent is the other player. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G15.5 - Oracle
  • G15.5a - Use the Oracle card reference when determining a card's wording. It can be found at "http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/oracle". See Rule 200.2. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G15.6 - Order
  • G15.6a - The order of objects in a library, in a graveyard, or on the stack can't be changed except when effects allow it. Objects in other zones can be arranged however their owners wish, although who controls those objects, whether they're tapped, and what enchants or equips them must remain clear to both players. See Rule 217.1b. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
G15.7 - Outside the Game
  • G15.7a - An object is "outside the game" if it's in the removed-from-the-game zone, or if it isn't in any of the game's zones. All other objects are inside the game. "Outside the game" is not a zone. See Rule 217.1e. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G15.8 - Owner
  • G15.8a - The owner of a card is the player who started the game with that card in his or her deck or, for cards that didn't start the game in a player's deck, the player who brought the card into the game. (Legal ownership is irrelevant to the game rules, except for the rules for ante.) The owner of a token is the controller of the effect that created it. See Rule 200.1a. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G15.8b - An effect can change a permanent's controller but never its owner. (A few cards have the text "Remove [this card] from your deck before playing if you're not playing for ante." These are the only cards that can change a card's owner. See Rule 217.9, "Ante.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G15.8c - A card is always put into its owner's library, hand, or graveyard, regardless of who controlled the card in its previous zone. See Rule 217.1a. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004