SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

200 - General
  • 200.1 - When a rule or text on a card refers to a "card," it means a Magic card with a Magic card front and the Magic card back. Tokens aren't considered cards--even a card that represents a token isn't considered a card for rules purposes. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.1a - A card's owner is the player who started the game with it in his or her deck or, for cards that didn't start the game in a player's deck, the player who brought the card into the game. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.2 - Use the Oracle(tm) card reference when determining a card's wording. It can be found at "http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/oracle". [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.3 - A player is one of the two people in the game. A player's opponent is the other player. The active player is the player whose turn it is. The other player is the nonactive player. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.4 - A token is a marker used to represent any permanent that isn't represented by a card. (See Rule 216, "Tokens.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.4a - A token's owner is the player who controlled the spell or ability that put it into play. A token's controller is the player who put it into play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.5 - A spell is a card or copy of a spell that's on the stack. (See Rule 213, "Spells.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.5a - A spell's owner is the same as the owner of the card that represents it. A spell's controller is the player who played it. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.6 - A permanent is a card or token that's in play. (See Rule 214, "Permanents.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.6a - A nontoken permanent's owner is the same as the owner of the card that represents it. A permanent's controller is the player who put it into play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.7 - An ability can be one of two things. First, it can be an activated or triggered ability on the stack. Second, it can be text on an object that explains what the object does. (See Rule 402, "Abilities," and Section 4, "Spells, Abilities, and Effects.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.7a - The owner of an ability on the stack is the player who controlled its source when it was played or triggered. The controller of an ability on the stack is the player who played the ability, or the player who controlled the ability's source when it triggered. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.8 - An object is an ability on the stack, a card, a token, a spell, or a permanent. The term "object" is used in these rules when a rule applies to abilities on the stack, cards, tokens, spells, and permanents. Combat damage on the stack is also an object, although many uses of the term "object" in these rules don't apply to it. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 200.9 - If a spell or ability uses a type, supertype, or subtype without either the word "card," "spell," or "source," it means a permanent of that type in play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.9a - If a spell or ability uses a type, supertype, or subtype in conjunction with the word "card," and the name of a zone, it means a card with that type in the stated zone. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.9b - If a spell or ability uses a type, supertype, or subtype in conjunction with the word "spell," it means a spell of that type on the stack. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.9c - If a spell or ability uses a type, supertype, or subtype in conjunction with the word "source," it means a source of that type-either a source of an ability or a source of damage. See Rule 419.8 "Sources of Damage." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 200.10 - A counter is a marker placed on an object or player, either modifying its characteristics or interacting with an ability. A counter is not a token, and a token is not a counter. A +X/+Y counter on a permanent, where X and Y are numbers, adds X to that permanent's power and Y to that permanent's toughness. Similarly, -X/-Y counters subtract from power and toughness. Counters with the same name or description are interchangeable. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004