SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

203 - Mana Cost and Color
  • 203.1 - The mana cost of a card is indicated by mana symbols printed on its upper right corner. Tokens and lands have a mana cost of {0}. Paying an object's mana cost requires matching the color of any colored mana symbols as well as paying the generic mana cost indicated. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 203.2 - An object is the color or colors of the mana symbols in its mana cost, regardless of the color of its frame. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 203.2a - Objects with no colored mana symbols in their mana costs are colorless. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 203.2b - Objects with two or more different colored mana symbols in their mana costs are multicolored. Multicolored cards are printed with a gold frame, but this is not a requirement for a card to be multicolored. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 203.2c - The five colors are white, blue, black, red, and green. The white mana symbol is represented by {W}, blue by {U}, black by {B}, red by {R}, and green by {G}.
    Example: An object with a mana cost of {2}{W} is white, an object with a mana cost of {2} is colorless, and one with a mana cost of {2}{W}{B} is both white and black. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 203.2d - If a player is asked to choose a color, he or she must choose one of the five colors. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 203.3 - The converted mana cost of an object is a number equal to the total amount of mana in its mana cost, regardless of color. Some effects ask a player to pay mana equal to an object's converted mana cost; this is a generic mana cost-it may be paid with any combination of colored and/or colorless mana, regardless of the colors in the object's mana cost.
    Example: A mana cost of {3}{U}{U} translates to a converted mana cost of 5. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 203.4 - Any additional cost listed in an object's rules text or imposed by an effect isn't part of the mana cost. (See Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.") Such costs are paid at the same time as the spell's other costs. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 203.Ruling.1 - If a cost has an "X" in it, the mana cost equals the amount announced as part of playing the spell or ability while it is on the stack, but if the card in any other zone, X is treated as zero. [D'Angelo 2003/09/08] See Rule G24.1a.
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004