SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

G24.1 - X
  • G24.1a - If a cost has an "X" in it, the value of X must be announced as part of playing the spell or ability. (See Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.") While the spell or ability is on the stack, the {X} in its mana cost equals the amount announced as part of playing the spell or ability. If a card in any other zone has {X} in its mana cost, the amount is treated as 0. If you're playing a spell that has X in its mana cost, and an effect lets you play it without paying any cost, that includes X, the only legal choice for X is 0. See Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities." [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • G24.1b - In triggered abilities, X is defined when the ability resolves. It may be defined by the text of the ability, by a keyword ability of the card, or by the trigger event. See Rule 410, "Handling Triggered Abilities." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G24.1c - In other cases, X is defined by the text of a spell or ability. If X isn't defined, the controller of the spell or ability chooses the value of X. All Xs on an object have the same value. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004