SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

406 - Mana Abilities
  • 406.1 - A mana ability is either (a) an activated ability that could put mana into a player's mana pool when it resolves or (b) a triggered ability that triggers from a mana ability and could produce additional mana. A mana ability can generate other effects at the same time it produces mana. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 406.2 - Spells that put mana into a player's mana pool aren't mana abilities. They're played and resolved exactly like any other spells. Triggered abilities that put mana into a player's mana pool aren't mana abilities if they trigger from events other than activating mana abilities. They go on the stack and resolve like any other triggered abilities. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 406.3 - A mana ability remains a mana ability even if the game state doesn't allow it to produce mana. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    Example: A permanent has an ability that reads "{Tap}: Add {G} to your mana pool for each creature you control." This is still a mana ability even if you control no creatures or if the permanent is already tapped. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 406.4 - A mana ability can be activated or triggered. Mana abilities are played and resolved like other abilities, but they don't go on the stack, so they can't be countered or responded to. See Rule 411, "Playing Mana Abilities," and Rule 408.2, "Actions That Don't Use the Stack." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 406.5 - Abilities (other than mana abilities) that trigger on playing mana abilities do use the stack. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 406.6 - If a mana ability would produce one or more mana of an undefined type, it produces no mana instead. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    Example: If you control no lands, an ability that reads "{Tap}: Add to your mana pool one mana of any type that a land you control could produce" will not produce any mana. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 406.Ruling.1 - If a mana ability can't produce any mana, it's still legal to play the ability, but no mana will be produced on resolution. [WotC Rules Team 2003/12/01]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004