This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.
408.1 - Timing, Priority, and the Stack
- 408.1a - Spells and activated abilities can be played only at certain times
and follow a set of rules for doing so. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 408.1b - Spells and activated abilities are played by players (if they
choose) using a system of priority, while other types of abilities and
effects are automatically generated by the game rules. Each time a player
would get priority, all applicable state-based effects resolve first as a
single event (see Rule 420, "State-Based Effects"). Then, if any new
state-based effects have been generated, they resolve as a single event.
This process repeats until no more applicable state-based effects are
generated. Then triggered abilities are added to the stack (see
Rule 410, "Handling Triggered Abilities"). These steps repeat in order
until no further state-based effects or triggered abilities are generated.
Then the player who would have received priority does so and may play a
spell or ability, or take a special action (such as playing a land), or
pass, as governed by the rules for that phase or step.
[CompRules 2003/10/01]
- 408.1c - The active player gets priority at the beginning of most phases and
steps, after any game actions are dealt with and abilities that trigger at
the beginning of that phase or step go on the stack. No player gets
priority during the untap step and players usually don't get priority
during the cleanup step (see Rule 314.3). The player with priority may
either play a spell or ability, take a special action, or pass. If he or
she plays a spell or ability, or takes a special action, the player again
receives priority; otherwise, his or her opponent receives priority. If
both players pass in succession (that is, if both players pass without
taking any actions in between passing), the top object on the stack
resolves, then the active player receives priority. If the stack is empty
when both players pass in succession, the phase or step ends and the next
one begins. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
- 408.1d - A player may play a spell or activated ability only when he or she
has priority. Spells other than instants can be played only during a
player's main phase, when that player has priority, and only when the
stack is empty. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 408.1e - When a spell is played, it goes on top of the stack. When an
activated ability is played, it goes on top of the stack.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 408.1f - Triggered abilities can trigger at any time, including during the
playing or resolution of a spell or another ability. However, nothing
actually happens at the time the abilities trigger. Each time a player
would receive priority, each ability that has triggered is put on the
stack (if it hasn't already been put on the stack). Then the player gets
priority and may play spells or abilities. (See Rule 410, "Handling
Triggered Abilities.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 408.1g - Combat damage goes on the stack once it's been assigned. For more
information, see Rule 310, "Combat Damage Step." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 408.1h - Static abilities aren't played-they continuously affect the game.
Priority doesn't apply to them. (See Rule 405, "Static Abilities,"
Rule 418, "Continuous Effects," and Rule 419, "Replacement and Prevention
Effects.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 408.1i - Special actions don't use the stack. The special actions are
playing a land (see Rule 408.2d), turning a face-down creature face
up (see Rule 408.2h), ending continuous effects or preventing delayed
triggered abilities (see Rule 408.2i), and suspending or ignoring
continuous effects (see Rule 408.2j). [CompRules 2003/12/01]
408.2 - Actions That Don't Use the Stack
- 408.2a - Effects don't go on the stack; they're the result of spells and
abilities resolving. Effects may create delayed triggered abilities,
however, and these may go on the stack when they trigger (see Rule 404.4).
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 408.2b - Static abilities continuously generate effects and don't go on the
stack. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 408.2c - State-based effects (see Rule 420) resolve whenever a player would
receive priority as long as the required game condition is true.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 408.2d - Playing a land is a special action consisting of putting that land
into play. (See Rule 212.6, "Lands.") A player can play a land only
during a main phase of his or her turn, when he or she has priority and
the stack is empty. The player who played the land gets priority after
this special action. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
- 408.2e - Mana abilities resolve immediately. If a mana ability produces
both mana and another effect, both the mana and the other effect happen
immediately. If a player had priority before a mana ability was played,
that player gets priority after it resolves. (See Rule 406, "Mana
Abilities.") [CompRules 2003/10/01]
- 408.2f - Characteristic-setting abilities, such as "[This object] is red,"
are simply read and followed as applicable. (See also Rule 405.2.)
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 408.2g - Game actions-phasing in and out during the untap step, untapping
during the untap step, drawing a card during the draw step, declaring
attacking or blocking creatures, cleanup, and mana burn-don't use the
stack. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 408.2h - The controller of a face-down permanent may turn it face up.
This is a special action. (See Rule 504, "Face-Down Spells and
Permanents.") A player can turn a face-down permanent face up only when
he or she has priority. That player gets priority after this special
action. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
- 408.2i - Some effects allow a player to take an action at a later time,
usually to end a continuous effect or to stop a delayed triggered ability.
This is a special action. A player can end a continuous effect or stop a
delayed triggered ability only if the effect or ability allows it and only
when he or she has priority. The player who took the action gets priority
after this special action. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
- 408.2j - Some effects from static abilities allow a player to take an action
to ignore or suspend the effect from that ability for a duration. This is
a special action. A player can take an action to ignore or suspend an
effect only when he or she has priority. The player who took the action
gets priority after this special action. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
- 408.2.Ruling.1 - The only things that do use the stack are spells,
nonmana activated abilities, nonmana triggered abilities, and combat
damage. [DeLaney 2003/12/14]
This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.
|
|