SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

410 - Handling Triggered Abilities
  • 410.1 - Because they aren't played, triggered abilities can trigger even when it isn't legal to play spells and abilities, and effects that prevent abilities from being played don't affect them. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.2 - Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability's trigger event, that ability triggers. When a phase or step begins, all abilities that trigger "at the beginning of" that phase or step trigger. The ability doesn't do anything when it triggers but automatically puts the ability on the stack as soon as a player would receive priority. The ability is controlled by the player who controlled its source at the time it triggered. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.3 - If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, the abilities controlled by the active player go on the stack first, in any order he or she chooses, then those controlled by the opponent go on the stack in any order that opponent chooses. Then players once again check for and resolve state-based effects until none are generated, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats until no new state-based effects are generated and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate player gets priority. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.4 - When a triggered ability goes on the stack, the controller of the ability makes any choices that would be required while playing an activated ability, following the same procedure (see Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities"). If no legal choice can be made (or if a rule or a continuous effect otherwise makes the ability illegal), the ability is simply removed from the stack. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.5 - Some triggered abilities' effects are optional (they contain "may," as in "At the beginning of your upkeep, you may draw a card"). These abilities go on the stack when they trigger, regardless of whether their controller intends to exercise the ability's option or not. The choice is made when the ability resolves. Likewise, triggered abilities that have an effect "unless" something is true or a player chooses to do something will go on the stack normally; the "unless" part of the ability is dealt with when the ability resolves. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.6 - An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences. See also Rule 410.9.
    Example: A permanent has an ability whose trigger condition reads, "Whenever a land is put into a graveyard from play, ...." If someone plays a spell that destroys all lands, the ability will trigger once for each land put into the graveyard during the spell's resolution. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.7 - An ability triggers only if its trigger event actually occurs. An event that's prevented or replaced won't trigger anything.
    Example: An ability that triggers on damage being dealt won't trigger if all the damage is prevented. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.8 - Triggered abilities with a condition directly following the trigger event (for example, "When/Whenever/At [trigger], if [condition], [effect]"), check for the condition to be true as part of the trigger event; if it isn't, the ability doesn't trigger. The ability checks the condition again on resolution. If it's not satisfied, the ability does nothing. Note that this mirrors the check for legal targets. Note that this rule doesn't apply to any triggered ability with an "if" condition elsewhere within its text. This rule is referred to as the "intervening 'if' clause" rule. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.9 - Some abilities trigger when creatures block or are blocked in combat. (See Rule 306 through Rule 311 and Section 500, "Legal Attacks and Blocks.") They may trigger once or repeatedly, depending on the wording of the ability. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.9a - An ability that reads "Whenever [this creature] blocks" or "Whenever [this creature] becomes blocked" triggers only once each combat for that creature, even if it blocks or is blocked by multiple creatures. An effect that causes the creature to become blocked (if the creature wasn't already blocked) will also trigger such abilities. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.9b - An ability that reads "Whenever [this creature] blocks a creature" triggers once for each attacking creature the named creature blocks. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.9c - An ability that reads "Whenever a creature blocks [this creature]" triggers once for each creature that blocks the named creature. It doesn't trigger if the attacking creature becomes blocked by an effect rather than a blocking creature. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.9d - If an ability triggers when a creature blocks or is blocked by a particular number of creatures, the ability triggers only if the creature blocks or is blocked by that many creatures when the attack or block declaration is made. Effects that add or remove blockers can cause such abilities to trigger. This also applies to abilities that trigger on a creature blocking or being blocked by at least a certain number of creatures. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.10 - Trigger events that involve objects changing zones are called "zone-change triggers." Many abilities with zone-change triggers attempt to do something to that object after it changes zones. During resolution, these abilities look for the object in the zone that it moved to. If the object is unable to be found in the zone it went to, the part of the ability attempting to do something to the object will fail to do anything. The ability could be unable to find the object because the object never entered the specified zone, because it left the zone before the ability resolved, or because it is in a zone that is hidden from a player, such as a library or an opponent's hand. (This rule applies even if the object leaves the zone and returns again before the ability resolves.) The most common types of zone-change triggers are comes-into-play triggers and leaves-play triggers. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.10a - Comes-into-play abilities trigger when a permanent enters the in-play zone. These are written, "When [this card] comes into play, ..." or "Whenever a [type] comes into play, ..." Each time an event puts one or more permanents into play, all permanents in play (including the newcomers) are checked for any comes-into-play triggers that match the event. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.10b - Continuous effects that modify characteristics of a permanent do so the moment the permanent is in play (and not before then). The permanent is never in play with its unmodified characteristics. Continuous effects don't apply before the permanent is in play, however (see Rule 410.10e).
    Example: If an effect reads "All lands are creatures" and a land card is played, the effect makes the land card into a creature the moment it enters play, so it would trigger abilities that trigger when a creature comes into play. Conversely, if an effect reads "All creatures lose all abilities" and a creature card with a comes-into-play triggered ability enters play, that effect will cause it to lose its abilities the moment it enters play, so the comes-into-play ability won't trigger. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.10c - Leaves-play abilities trigger when a permanent leaves the in-play zone. These are written as, but aren't limited to, "When [this object] leaves play, ..." or "Whenever [something] is put into a graveyard from play, ...." An ability that attempts to do something to the card that left play checks for it only in the first zone that it went to. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 410.10d - Abilities that trigger on one or more permanents leaving play, or on a player losing control of a permanent, must be treated specially because the permanent with the ability may no longer be in play after the event. The game has to "look back in time" to determine what triggered. Each time an event removes from play or changes who controls one or more permanents, all the permanents in play just before the event (with continuous effects that existed at that time) are checked for trigger events that match what just left play or changed control.
    Example: Two creatures are in play along with an artifact that has the ability "Whenever a creature is put into a graveyard from play, you gain 1 life." Someone plays a spell that destroys all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments. The artifact's ability triggers twice, even though the artifact goes to its owner's graveyard at the same time as the creatures. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.10e - Some permanents have text that reads "[This permanent] comes into play with ...," "As [this permanent] comes into play ...," "[This permanent] comes into play as ...," or "[This permanent] comes into play tapped." Such text is a static ability-not a triggered ability-whose effect occurs as part of the event that puts the permanent into play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 410.11 - Some triggered abilities trigger on a game state, such as a player controlling no permanents of a particular type, rather than triggering when an event occurs. These abilities trigger as soon as the game state matches the condition. They'll go onto the stack at the next available opportunity. These are called state triggers. (Note that state triggers aren't the same as state-based effects.) A state-triggered ability doesn't trigger again until the ability has resolved, has been countered, or has otherwise left the stack. Then, if the object with the ability is still in the same zone and the game state still matches its trigger condition, the ability will trigger again. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    Example: A permanent's ability reads, "Whenever you have no cards in hand, draw a card." If its controller plays the last card from his or her hand, the ability will trigger once and won't trigger again until it has resolved. If its controller plays a spell that reads "Discard your hand, then draw the same number of cards," the ability will trigger during the spell's resolution because the player's hand was momentarily empty. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 410.Ruling.1 - Cards that are not in play that have text that defines a trigger do work. For example, Dragon Scales does trigger on the appropriate creature coming into play. [Jordan 2003/07/27] The text of Rule 410.10a is too narrow in saying that only permanents in play can trigger.
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004