SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

G5.1 - Echo
  • G5.1a - Echo is a triggered ability. "Echo" means "At the beginning of your upkeep, if this permanent came under your control since the beginning of your last upkeep, sacrifice it unless you pay its mana cost." See Rule 502.19, "Echo." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G5.2 - Effect
  • G5.2a - "Ability" and "effect" are often confused with one another. When a spell or ability resolves, it may create one or more one-shot or continuous effects. Static abilities may create one or more continuous effects. Some effects are replacement effects or prevention effects. State-based effects are not created by spells or abilities; they are generated by specific states of the game. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 416, "Effects."
G5.3 - Enchant Artifact
  • G5.3a - An enchant artifact is a local enchantment. It can enchant only a permanent that's an artifact. See also Local Enchantment. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
G5.4 - Enchant Artifact Creature
  • G5.4a - An enchant artifact creature is a local enchantment. It can enchant only a permanent that's both an artifact and a creature. It is treated as an enchant artifact creature, an enchant artifact, and an enchant creature. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
G5.5 - Enchant Creature
  • G5.5a - An enchant creature is a local enchantment. It can enchant only a permanent that's a creature. See also Local Enchantment. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
G5.6 - Enchant Enchantment
  • G5.6a - An enchant enchantment is a local enchantment. It can enchant only a permanent that's an enchantment. See also Local Enchantment. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
G5.7 - Enchant Land
  • G5.7a - An enchant land is a local enchantment. It can enchant only a permanent that's a land. See also Local Enchantment. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
G5.8 - Enchant Permanent
  • G5.8a - An enchant permanent is a local enchantment. It can enchant any type of permanent. See also Local Enchantment. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
G5.9 - Enchant Player
  • G5.9a - An enchant player is a local enchantment. It can enchant only a player. See also Local Enchantment. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
G5.10 - Enchant World
  • G5.10a - An object that is an "enchant world" is a global enchantment. See Rule 212.4, "Enchantments." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G5.9b - If two or more enchant worlds are in play, all except for the one that has been an enchant world for the shortest amount of time are put into their owners' graveyards. This is a state-based effect; see Rule 420. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G5.11 - Enchantment
  • G5.11a - Enchantment is a type. The active player can play enchantments only during his or her main phase when the stack is empty. See Rule 212.4, "Enchantments." See also Global Enchantment, Local Enchantment. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G5.12 - End of Combat Step
  • G5.12a - The end of combat step is the fifth step of the combat phase. A player may play spells and abilities during this step whenever he or she has priority. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 311, "End of Combat Step."
G5.13 - End of Turn Step
  • G5.13a - This is the first step of the end phase. A player may play spells and abilities during this step whenever he or she has priority. See Rule 313, "End of Turn Step." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G5.14 - End Phase
  • G5.14a - The end phase is the fifth and final phase of the turn. It has two steps: end of turn and cleanup. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 312, "End Phase."
G5.15 - Entwine
  • G5.15a - Entwine is a static ability that functions while the spell is on the stack. The phrase "Entwine [cost]" means "You may choose to use all modes of this spell instead of just one. If you do, you pay an additional [cost]." When the spell resolves, if the entwine cost was paid, follow the text of each of the modes in the order they're written on the card. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • Note - Also see rule 502.32, "Entwine."
G5.16 - Equip
  • G5.16a - Equip is an activated ability. The phrase "Equip [cost]" means "[cost]: Move this Equipment onto target creature you control. Play this ability only any time you could play a sorcery." [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 502.33, "Equip," and Rule 212.2, "Artifacts."
G5.17 - Equipment
  • G5.17a - Some artifacts have the subtype "Equipment." These artifacts can be attached to (can "equip") creatures. They can't equip objects that aren't creatures. An Equipment is played and comes into play just like any other artifact. Equipment doesn't come into play equipping a creature. The equip keyword ability moves the Equipment onto a creature you control. (See Rule 502.33, "Equip.") The creature an Equipment is attached to is called "equipped." The Equipment is attached to, or "equips," that creature. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • G5.17b - An Equipment that's also a creature or an Equipment that loses the subtype "Equipment" can't equip a creature. An Equipment can't equip itself. An Equipment that equips an illegal or nonexistent permanent stops equipping that permanent, but remains in play. (This is a state-based effect.") See Rule 420. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
G5.18 - Evasion Ability
  • G5.18a - Evasion abilities restrict what creatures can block an attacking creature. These are static abilities that modify the declare blockers step of the combat phase. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 501, "Evasion Abilities."
G5.19 - Event
  • G5.19a - Anything that happens in a game is an event. Multiple events may take place during the resolution of a spell or ability. The text of triggered abilities and replacement effects defines the event they're looking for. One "happening" may be treated as a single event by one ability and as multiple events by another.
    Example: If an attacking creature is blocked by two defending creatures, this is one event for a triggered ability that reads "Whenever [name] becomes blocked" but two events for a triggered ability that reads "Whenever [name] becomes blocked by a creature." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G5.20 - Exchange
  • G5.20a - A spell or ability may instruct two players to exchange something (for example, life totals or control of two permanents) as part of its resolution. When such a spell or ability resolves, if it can't exchange the chosen things, it has no effect on them.
    Example: If a spell attempts to exchange control of two target creatures but one of those creatures is destroyed before the spell resolves, the spell does nothing to the other creature. Or if a spell attempts to exchange control of two target creatures but both of those creatures are controlled by the same player, the spell does nothing to the two creatures. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G5.20b - When control of two permanents is exchanged, each player simultaneously gains control of the permanent that was controlled by the other player. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G5.20c - When life totals are exchanged, each player gains or loses the amount of life necessary to equal the other player's previous life total. Replacement effects may modify these gains and losses, and triggered abilities may trigger on them. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G5.20d - Some spells or abilities may instruct a player to exchange cards in one zone with cards in a different zone (for example, cards removed from the game and cards in a player's hand). These spells and abilities work the same as other "exchange" spells and abilities, except they can exchange the cards only if all the cards are owned by the same player. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • G5.20e - If a spell or ability instructs a player to simply exchange two zones, and one of the zones is empty, the cards in the zones are still exchanged. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G5.21 - Expansion Symbol
  • G5.21a - The small icon printed below the right edge of the illustration on a Magic card is the expansion symbol, indicating in which set the card was published. Cards reprinted in the core set receive its expansion symbol and no longer count as part of their original set. This is important only to spells and abilities that affect cards from a particular expansion. The first five editions of the core set had no expansion symbol. See Rule 206, "Expansion Symbol." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G5.17b - Visit the products section of MagicTheGathering.com for the full list of expansions and expansion symbols ( "http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=magic/products/cardsets). [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G5.22 - Extra Turn
  • G5.22a - Some spells and abilities can give a player extra turns. They do this by adding the turns directly after the current turn. If a player gets multiple extra turns or if both players get extra turns during a single turn, the extra turns are added one at a time. The most recently created turn will be taken first. See Rule 300.6. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004