| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
309 - Declare Blockers Step 
  309.1 - As the declare blockers step begins, the defending player declares
    blockers (this game action doesn't use the stack).  Then any abilities
    that triggered on blockers being declared go on the stack.  (See Rule 410,
    "Handling Triggered Abilities.") Then the active player gets priority and
    players may play spells and abilities. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  309.2 - To declare blockers, the defending player follows the steps below,
    in order.  If at any point during the declaration of blockers, the
    defending player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below,
    the declaration was illegal; the game returns to the moment before the
    declaration (see Rule 422, "Handling Illegal Actions," and Rule 500, 
    "Legal Attacks and Blocks"). [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  309.2a - The defending player chooses which creatures that he or she
    controls, if any, will block.  The chosen creatures must be untapped.  For
    each of the chosen creatures, the defending player chooses one creature
    for it to block that's attacking him, her, or a planeswalker he or she
    controls.  Then he or she determines whether this set of blocks is
    legal.  (See Rule 500, "Legal Attacks and Blocks.") [CompRules 2008/02/01]
  309.2a - For each untapped creature the defending player controls, that
    player either chooses not to block with it, or chooses one creature for it
    to block that's attacking him, her, or a planeswalker he or she controls.
    Then he or she determines whether this set of blocks is legal.  (See
    Rule 500, "Legal Attacks and Blocks.") [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  309.2b - If any of the creatures require paying costs to block, the
    defending player determines the total cost to block.  Costs may include
    paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards,
    and so on.  Once the total cost is determined, it becomes "locked in."  If
    effects would change the total cost after this time, ignore this change.
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  309.2c - If any of the costs require mana, the defending player then has a
    chance to play mana abilities (see Rule 411, "Playing Mana Abilities").
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  309.2d - Once the player has enough mana in his or her mana pool, he or she
    pays all costs in any order.  Partial payments are not allowed.
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  309.2e - Each chosen creature becomes a blocking creature, but only if it's
    controlled by the defending player.  Each one is blocking the attacking
    creature chosen for it.  It remains a blocking creature until it's removed
    from combat or the combat phase ends, whichever comes first.  See 
    Rule 306.4.  [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  309.2f - An attacking creature with one or more creatures declared as
    blockers for it becomes a blocked creature; one with no blockers becomes
    an unblocked creature.  This remains unchanged until the creature is
    removed from combat or the combat phase ends, whichever comes
    first.  (Some effects can change whether a creature is blocked or
    unblocked.) [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  309.3 - Abilities that trigger on a creature blocking trigger only at the
    point the creature is declared as a blocker.  They will not trigger if a
    creature blocks, and then that creature's characteristics change to match
    the ability's trigger condition. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  309.4 - Abilities that trigger on a creature becoming blocked trigger only
    at the first point the creature becomes blocked that combat.  They will
    trigger if a creature becomes blocked by a creature declared as a blocker,
    by a creature that's put into play as a blocker, or by an effect, but only
    if the attacking creature hadn't yet been blocked that combat.  They will
    not trigger if a creature becomes blocked, and then the blocking
    creature's characteristics change to match the ability's trigger
    condition. [CompRules 2006/05/01]
    Example: A creature has the ability "Whenever this creature becomes
    blocked by a white creature, destroy that creature at end of combat."  If
    that creature is blocked by a black creature that is later turned white,
    the ability will not trigger.  [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  309.5 - If a creature is put into play blocking, its controller chooses
    which attacking creature it's blocking as it comes into play (unless the
    effect that put it into play specifies what it's blocking).  Such
    creatures are "blocking" but, for the purposes of trigger events and
    effects, they never "blocked." [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  Note - See Rule 306 for additional details on blocking.
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |