| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
418 - Continuous Effects 
418.3 - Continuous Effects from Spells or Abilities  418.1 - A continuous effect modifies characteristics of objects, modifies
    control of objects, or affects players or the rules of the game, for a
    fixed or indefinite period.  A continuous effect may be generated by the
    resolution of a spell or ability or by a static ability of an object.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  418.2 - Continuous effects that modify characteristics of permanents do so
    simultaneously with the permanent coming into play.  They don't wait until
    the permanent is in play and then change it.  Because such effects apply
    as the permanent comes into play, apply them before determining whether
    the permanent will cause an ability to trigger when it comes into play.
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
418.4 - Continuous Effects from Static Abilities  418.3a - A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or
    ability lasts as long as stated by the spell or ability creating it (such
    as "until end of turn").  If no duration is stated, it lasts until the end
    of the game. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  418.3b - The set of objects that are affected by continuous effects from
    spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities that modify the
    characteristics or change the controller of those objects is determined
    when that continuous effect begins.  After that point, the set won't
    change.  Note that these work differently than continuous effects from
    static abilities.  Continuous effects that don't modify characteristics or
    change the controller of objects modify the rules of the game, so they can
    affect objects that weren't affected when the continuous effect began.
    [CompRules 2007/02/01]
    Example: An effect that reads "All white creatures get +1/+1 until end of
    turn" gives the bonus to all permanents that are white creatures when the
    spell or ability resolves-even if they change color later-and doesn't
    affect those that come into play or turn white afterward.
 Example: An effect that reads "Prevent all damage creatures would deal
    this turn" doesn't modify any object's characteristics, so it's modifying
    the rules of the game.  That means the effect will apply even to damage
    from creatures that weren't in play when the continuous effect began.  It
    also affects damage from permanents that become creatures later in the
    turn. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  418.3c - If a resolving spell or ability that creates a continuous effect
    contains a variable, the value of that variable is determined only once,
    on resolution.  See Rule 413.2f. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  418.3d - Some effects from activated or triggered abilities have durations
    worded "as long as . . . ."  If the "as long as" duration ends before the
    moment the effect would first be applied, the effect does nothing.  It
    doesn't start and immediately stop again, and it doesn't last forever.
    [CompRules 2008/02/01]
    Example: Endoskeleton is an artifact with an activated ability that
    reads "{2},{Tap}: Target creature gets +0/+3 as long as Endoskeleton
    remains tapped."  If you play this ability and then Endoskeleton becomes
    untapped before the ability resolves, it does nothing, because its
    duration-remaining tapped-was over before the effect began. 
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
418.5 - Interaction of Continuous Effects  418.4a - A continuous effect generated by a static ability isn't "locked 
    in"; it applies at any given moment to whatever its text indicates. 
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  418.4b - The effect applies at all times that the permanent generating it is
    in play or the object generating it is in the appropriate zone.
    Example: A permanent with the static ability "All white creatures 
    get +1/+1" generates an effect that continuously gives +1/+1 to each white
    creature in play.  If a creature becomes white, it gets this bonus; a
    creature that stops being white loses it.  A creature spell that would
    normally create a 1/1 white creature instead creates a 2/2 white creature.
    The creature doesn't come into play as 1/1 and then change to 2/2.
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
418.6 - Text-Changing Effects  418.5a - The values of an object's characteristics are determined by
    starting with the actual object, then applying continuous effects in a
    series of layers in the following order: (1) copy effects (see Rule 503,
    "Copying Objects"); (2) control-changing effects; (3) text-changing
    effects; (4) type-changing effects (which includes effects that change an
    object's card type, subtype, and/or supertype); (5) all other continuous
    effects, except those that change power and/or toughness; and (6) power-
    and/or toughness-changing effects. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
    Inside each layer from 1 through 5, apply effects from
    characteristic-defining abilities first, then all other effects in
    timestamp order.  Inside layer 6, apply effects in a series of sublayers
    in the following order: (6a) effects from characteristic-defining
    abilities; (6b) all other effects not specifically applied in 6c, 6d,
    or 6e; (6c) changes from counters; (6d) effects from static abilities that
    modify power and/or toughness but don't set power and/or toughness to a
    specific number or value; and (6e) effects that switch a creature's power
    and toughness.  Within each sublayer, apply effects in timestamp order.
    Note that dependency may alter the order in which effects are applied
    within a layer or sublayer.  See also the rules for timestamp order and
    dependency (Rule 418.5b through Rule 418.5g). [CompRules 2007/07/13]
    Example: Crusade is an enchantment that reads "White creatures
    get +1/+1."  Crusade and a 2/2 black creature are in play.  If an effect
    then turns the creature white (layer 5), it gets +1/+1 from
    Crusade (layer 6d), becoming 3/3.  If the creature's color is later
    changed to red (layer 5), Crusade's effect stops applying to it, and it
    will return to being a 2/2. [CompRules 2007/02/01]
 Example: Gray Ogre, a 2/2 creature, is in play.  An effect puts a +1/+1
    counter on it (layer 6c), making it 3/3.  An effect that says "Target
    creature gets +4/+4 until end of turn" is applied to it (layer 6b), making
    it 7/7.  An enchantment that says "Creatures you control get +0/+2" enters
    play (layer 6d), making it a 7/9.  An effect that says "Target creature
    becomes 0/1 until end of turn" is applied to it (layer 6b), making it
    a 1/4 (0/1, plus +1/+1 from the counter, plus +0/+2 from the enchantment).
    [CompRules 2007/02/01]
  418.5b - If an effect should be applied in different layers, the parts of
    the effect each apply in their appropriate layers.  If an effect starts to
    apply in one layer, it will continue to be applied to the same set of
    objects in each other applicable layer, even if the ability generating the
    effect is removed during this process. [CompRules 2005/10/01]
    Example: An effect that reads "Wild Mongrel gets +1/+1 and becomes the
    color of your choice until end of turn" is both a power- and
    toughness-changing effect and an "other" kind of effect.  The "becomes the
    color of your choice" part is applied in layer 5, and then the 
    "gets +1/+1" part is applied in layer 6. [CompRules 2005/10/01]
 Example: Grab the Reins has an effect that reads "Until end of turn,
    you gain control of target creature and it gains haste."  This is both a
    control-changing effect and an "other" effect.  The "you gain control"
    part is applied in layer 2, and then the "it gains haste" part is applied
    in layer 5. [CompRules 2005/10/01]
 Example: An effect that reads "All noncreature artifacts become 2/2
    artifact creatures until end of turn" is both a type-changing effect and a
    power- and toughness-setting effect.  The type-changing effect is applied
    to all noncreature artifacts in layer 4 and the power- and
    toughness-setting effect is applied to those same permanents in layer 6,
    even though those permanents aren't noncreature artifacts by then.
    [CompRules 2005/10/01]
 Example: Svogthos, the Restless Tomb, is in play.  An effect that
    says "Until end of turn, target land becomes a 3/3 creature that's still a
    land" is applied to it (layers 4 and 6b).  An effect that says "Target
    creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn" is applied to it (layer 6b), making
    it a 4/4 land creature.  Then you activate Svogthos's ability ("Until end
    of turn, Svogthos, the Restless Tomb becomes a black and green Plant
    Zombie creature with 'This creature's power and toughness are each equal
    to the number of creature cards in your graveyard.' It's still a land.")
    while you have ten creature cards in your graveyard (layers 4, 5, and 6b).
    It becomes a 10/10 land creature.  If a creature card enters or leaves
    your graveyard, Svogthos's power and toughness will be modified
    accordingly.  If the first effect is applied to it again, it will become
    a 3/3 land creature again. [CompRules 2007/02/01]
  418.5c - An effect is said to "depend on" another if (a) it's applied in the
    same layer (and, if applicable, sublayer) as the other effect (see 
    Rule 418.5a); (b) applying the other would change the text or the
    existence of the first effect, what it applies to, or what it does to any
    of the things it applies to; and (c) neither effect is from a
    characteristic-defining ability.  Otherwise, the effect is considered to
    be independent of the other effect. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  418.5d - An effect dependent on one or more other effects waits to apply
    until just after all of those effects have been applied.  If multiple
    dependent effects would apply simultaneously in this way, they're applied
    in "timestamp order" relative to each other.  If several dependent effects
    form a dependency loop, then this rule is ignored and the effects in the
    dependency loop are applied in timestamp order. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  418.5e - An object's timestamp is the time it entered the zone it's
    currently in, with three exceptions: (a) If two or more objects enter a
    zone (or zones) simultaneously, the active player determines their
    timestamp order at the time they enter that zone.  (b) Whenever an Aura,
    Equipment, or Fortification becomes attached to an object, the Aura,
    Equipment, or Fortification receives a new timestamp.  (c) Permanents that
    phase in keep the same timestamps they had when they phased out.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  418.5f - A continuous effect generated by a static ability has the same
    timestamp as the object the static ability is on, or the timestamp of the
    effect that created the ability, whichever is later.
    [CompRules 2005/10/01]
  418.5g - A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or
    ability receives a timestamp at the time it's created. 
    [CompRules 2005/10/01]
  418.5h - One continuous effect can override another.  Sometimes the results
    of one effect determine whether another effect applies or what another
    effect does. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    Example: Two Auras are played on the same creature: "Enchanted creature
    gains flying" and "Enchanted creature loses flying."  Neither of these
    depends on the other, since nothing changes what they affect or what
    they're doing to it.  Applying them in timestamp order means the one that
    was generated last "wins."  It's irrelevant whether an effect is
    temporary (such as "Target creature loses flying until end of turn") or
    global (such as "All creatures lose flying"). [CompRules 2005/08/01]
 Example: One effect reads, "White creatures get +1/+1," and
    another "Enchanted creature is white."  The enchanted creature gets +1/+1
    from the first effect, regardless of its previous color.
    [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  418.5i - Some effects switch a creature's power and toughness.  When they're
    applied, they take the value of power and apply it to the object's
    toughness, and take the object's toughness and apply it to the object's
    power.  These effects are applied after all other effects that affect
    power and toughness (See Rule 418.5a). [CompRules 2005/10/01]
    Example: A 1/3 creature is given +0/+1 by an effect.  Then another effect
    switches the creature's power and toughness.  Its new power and toughness
    is 4/1.  A new effect gives the creature +5/+0.  Its "unswitched" power
    and toughness would be 6/4, so its actual power and toughness is 4/6.
    [CompRules 2005/10/01]
 Example: A 1/3 creature is given +0/+1 by an effect.  Then another effect
    switches the creature's power and toughness.  Its new power and toughness
    is 4/1.  If the +0/+1 effect ends before the switch effect ends, the
    creature becomes a 3/1. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  418.5j - Some continuous effects affect players rather than objects.  For
    example, an effect give a player protection from red.  All such effects
    are applied in timestamp order after the determination of objects'
    characteristics.  See also the rules for timestamp order and
    dependency (Rule 418.5b through Rule 418.5g). [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  418.5k - Some continuous effects affect game rules rather than objects.  For
    example, effects may modify a player's maximum hand size.  These effects
    are applied after all other continuous effects have been applied.
    Continuous effects that affect the costs of spells or abilities are
    applied according to the order specified in Rule 419.1f.  All other such
    effects are applied in timestamp order.  See also the rules for timestamp
    order and dependency (Rule 418.5b through Rule 418.5g).
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  418.5.Ruling.1 - Since characteristic-defining abilities are never
    dependent on anything (Rule 418.5c part c) and are applied
    first (Rule 415.5a), even if an effect in a later layer takes away the
    ability, they will have been applied first.  For example, "~this~ is red"
    will make the card red before Humility removes the ability.
    [D'Angelo 2007/06/04]
 
  418.6a - An effect that changes the text of an object changes only those
    words that are used in the correct way (for example, a Magic color word
    being used as a color word, a land type word used as a land type, or a
    creature type word used as a creature type).  The effect can't change a
    proper noun, such as a card name, even if that proper noun contains a word
    or a series of letters that is the same as a Magic color word, basic land
    type, or creature type. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  418.6b - Effects that add or remove abilities don't change the text of the
    objects they affect, so any abilities that are granted to an object can't
    be changed by effects that change the text of that object. 
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  418.6c - Most spells and abilities that create creature tokens use creature
    types to define both the creature types and the names of the tokens.
    These words can be changed, because they are being used as creature types,
    even though they're also being used as names. [CompRules 2007/07/13]
  418.6d - A creature token's creature type and rules text are defined by the
    spell or ability that created the token.  These characteristics can be
    changed by text-changing effects. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |