| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
601 - Limited Range of Influence Option 
602. Attack Multiple Players Option  601.1 - Limited range of influence is an option that can be applied to most
    multiplayer games.  It's always used in the Emperor variant (see 
    Rule 607), and it's often used for games involving five or more players.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.2 - A player's range of influence is the maximum distance from that
    player, measured in player seats, that the player can affect.  Players
    within that many seats of the player are within that player's range of
    influence.  Objects controlled by players within a player's range of
    influence are also within that player's range of influence.  Range of
    influence covers spells, abilities, effects, damage dealing, attacking,
    making choices, and winning the game. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  601.2a - The most commonly chosen limited ranges of influence are 1 seat 
    and 2 seats.  Different players may have different ranges of influence.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    Example: A range of influence of 1 means that only you and the players
    seated directly next to you are within your range of influence.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
 Example: A range of influence of 2 means that you and the two players to
    your left and the two players to your right are within your range of
    influence. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.2b - A player is always within his or her own range of influence.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.2c - The particular players within each player's range of influence are
    determined as each turn begins. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    Example: In a game with a range of influence of 1, Alex is seated to the
    left of Rob, and Carissa is seated to the right of Rob.  Carissa is not in
    Alex's range of influence.  If Rob leaves the game, Carissa will enter
    Alex's range of influence at the start of the next turn.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.2d - An object is within a player's range of influence if it's
    controlled by that player or by another player within that many seats of
    that player. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.3 - Creatures can attack only opponents within their controller's range
    of influence.  If no opponents are within a player's range of influence,
    creatures that player controls can't attack. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.4 - Objects and players outside a player's range of influence can't be
    the targets of spells or abilities that player controls.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.5 - Some cards require players to make choices.  These cards work
    differently when the limited range of influence option is used.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.5a - If a player is asked to choose an object or player, he or she must
    choose one within his or her range of influence. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    Example: In a game with a range of influence of 1, Alex is seated to the
    left of Rob. Alex activates the ability of Cuombajj Witches, which
    reads, "Cuombajj Witches deals 1 damage to target creature or player and 1
    damage to target creature or player of an opponent's choice," targeting
    Rob and choosing Rob as the opponent who picks the other target.  Rob must
    choose a target that's in both his range of influence and in the range of
    influence of the controller of Cuombajj Witches.  He must therefore choose
    himself, Alex, or a creature controlled by either himself or Alex.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.5b - If a player is asked to choose between one or more options (and not
    between one or more objects or players), he or she can choose between
    those options even if those options refer to objects or players outside
    the player's range of influence. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    Example: Alex, who has a range of influence of 2, is seated to the left of
    Rob, and Carissa, who has range of influence of 1, is seated to the right
    of Rob.  Alex plays a card that reads, "An opponent chooses one - You
    draw 2 cards; or each creature you control gets +2/+2 until end of turn,"
    and chooses Carissa to make that choice.  Carissa can choose the mode even
    though Alex is out of her range. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.5c - If an effect requires a choice and there's no player who can make
    that choice within its controller's range of influence, the closest
    appropriate player to its controller's left makes that choice.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    Example: In an Emperor game in which all players have range of 
    influence 1, an emperor plays Fact or Fiction, which reads, "Reveal the
    top five cards of your library.  An opponent separates those cards into
    two piles.  Put one pile into your hand and the other into your
    graveyard."  Since no opponent is within the emperor's range of influence,
    the nearest opponent to the emperor's left separates the cards into piles.
    [CompRules 2005/10/01]
  601.6 - A player can't play the activated abilities of an object outside of
    his or her range of influence. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.7 -  A triggered ability doesn't trigger unless its trigger event
    happens entirely within the range of influence of its source's controller.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    Example: In a game with range of influence limited to 1, Alex is seated to
    the left of Rob.  Rob controls two Auras attached to Alex's
    Grizzly Bears: One with the trigger condition "Whenever enchanted
    creature becomes blocked," and one with the trigger condition "Whenever
    enchanted creature becomes blocked by a creature."  Alex's Grizzly Bears
    attacks the player to Alex's left and becomes blocked.  The ability of
    Rob's first Aura triggers because the entire event (Grizzly Bears becomes
    blocked) happens within Rob's range of influence.  The ability of Rob's
    second Aura doesn't trigger, however, because that event includes the
    blocking creature, which is out of Rob's range. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.7a - If a trigger event includes an object moving out of or into a
    player's range of influence, use the game state before or after the event
    as appropriate to determine whether the triggered ability will trigger.
    See Rule 410.10. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    Example: Carissa and Alex are outside each other's range of influence.
    Carissa controls a creature owned by Alex and they each control a
    Soul Net, an artifact which reads, "Whenever a creature is put into a
    graveyard from play, you may pay {1}.  If you do, you gain 1 life."  The
    creature is destroyed and is put into Alex's graveyard.  Alex's Soul Net
    doesn't trigger because the destruction event was outside Alex's range of
    influence.  Carissa's Soul Net does trigger, even though the creature is
    going to a graveyard outside her range, because the destruction event was
    within her range. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.8 - An Aura can't enchant an object or player outside its controller's
    range of influence.  If an Aura is attached to an illegal permanent, the
    Aura is put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based effect.  See
    Rule 420.  [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  601.9 - An Equipment can't equip an object outside its controller's range of
    influence, and a Fortification can't fortify an object outisde its
    controller's range of influence.  If an Equipment or Fortification is
    attached to an illegal permanent, it becomes unattached from that
    permanent but remains in play.  This is a state-based effect.  See
    Rule 420. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  601.10 - Spells and abilities can't affect objects or players outside their
    controller's range of influence.  The parts of the effect that attempt to
    affect an out-of-range object or player will do nothing.  The rest of the
    effect will work normally. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    Example: In a six-player game where each player has range of influence 1,
    Alex plays Pyroclasm, which reads, "Pyroclasm deals 2 damage to each
    creature."  Pyroclasm deals 2 damage to each creature controlled by
    Alex, the player to Alex's left, and the player to Alex's right.  No
    other creatures are dealt damage. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.11 - If a spell or ability requires information from the game, it gets
    only information from within its controller's range of influence.  It
    doesn't see objects or events outside its controller's range of influence.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    Example: In a six-player game where each player has range of influence 1,
    Alex controls Coat of Arms, which reads, "Each creature gets +1/+1 for
    each other creature in play that shares a creature type with it." 
    Coat of Arms will boost Alex's creatures based only on what creatures are
    controlled by Alex, the player to Alex's left, and the player to Alex's
    right.  It won't take other creatures into account. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
 Example: In the same game, Rob is sitting to the right of Alex. 
    Coat of Arms will boost Rob's creatures based only on what creatures are
    controlled by Rob and Alex.  They are the only two players within range of
    both Rob and the controller of Coat of Arms. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.12 - The "legend rule" (see Rule 420.5e) applies to a permanent only if
    other legendary permanents with the same name are within its controller's
    range of influence. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    Example: Alex has range of influence 1, and Carissa has range of
    influence 2.  Rob sits between them.  If Alex controls a legendary
    permanent and Carissa puts a legendary permanent with the same name into
    play, only the one controlled by Carissa will be put into a graveyard.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.13 - The "world rule" (see Rule 420.5i) applies to a permanent only if
    other world permanents are within its controller's range of influence.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.14 - Replacement and prevention effects watch for a particular event to
    happen and then completely or partially replace that event.  The limited
    range of influence option can cause the modified event to contain
    instructions that can't be carried out, in which case the player simply
    ignores the impossible instructions.  See Rule 419, "Replacement and
    Prevention Effects." [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.14a - If a replacement effect tries to cause a spell or ability to
    affect an object or player outside its controller's range of influence,
    that portion of the event does nothing. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    Example: Alex plays Lava Axe ("Lava Axe deals 5 damage to target
    player") targeting Rob.  In response, Rob plays 
    Captain's Maneuver ("The next X damage that would be dealt to target
    creature or player this turn is dealt to another target creature or player
    instead.") with X = 3, targeting Carissa.  Carissa isn't in Alex's range
    of influence.  When Lava Axe resolves, it deals only 2 damage to Rob and
    no damage to Carissa. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  601.14b - If a spell or ability creates an effect that prevents damage that
    would be dealt by a source, it can affect only sources within the spell or
    ability's controller's range of influence.  If a spell or ability creates
    an effect that prevents damage that would be dealt to a creature or
    player, it can affect only creatures and players within the spell or
    ability's controller's range of influence.  If a spell or ability creates
    an effect that prevents damage, but neither the source nor the would-be
    recipient of the damage is specified, it prevents damage only if both the
    source and recipient of that damage are within the spell or ability's
    controller's range of influence. [CompRules 2006/02/01]
    Example: Rob is within Alex's range of influence, but Carissa is not.
    Carissa plays Lightning Blast ("Lightning Blast deals 4 damage to
    target creature or player") targeting Rob.  In response, Alex plays
    Mending Hands ("Prevent the next 4 damage that would be dealt to target
    creature or player this turn.") targeting Rob.  The damage to Rob is
    prevented. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
 Example: Rob is within Alex's range of influence, but Carissa is not.
    Carissa attacks Rob with a creature, and Rob blocks with a creature.  Alex
    plays Holy Day ("Prevent all combat damage that would be dealt this
    turn.")  Carissa and Rob's creatures deal combat damage to each other.
    [CompRules 2006/02/01]
  601.15 - If an effect states that a player wins the game, all of that
    player's opponents within his or her range of influence lose the game
    instead. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
 
  602.1 - Some multiplayer games allow the active player to attack multiple
    other players.  If this option is used, a player can also choose to attack
    only one player during a particular combat. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  602.2 - As the combat phase starts, the attacking player doesn't choose an
    opponent to become the defending player.  Instead, all the attacking
    player's opponents are defending players during the combat phase.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  602.2a - Any rule, object, or effect that refers to a "defending player"
    refers to one specific defending player, not to all of the defending
    players.  This will usually be the defending player that the creature with
    the ability is attacking; if there are multiple defending players that
    could be chosen, the controller of the ability chooses one.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  602.3 - As the attacking player declares each attacking creature, he or she
    chooses a defending player for it to attack.  See Rule 308, "Declare
    Attackers Step." [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  602.3a - Restrictions and requirements that don't apply to attacking a
    specific player are evaluated based on the entire group of attacking
    creatures.  Restrictions and requirements that apply to attacking a
    specific player apply only to creatures attacking that player.  The entire
    group of attacking creatures must still be legal.  See Rule 500, "Legal
    Attacks and Blocks." [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    Example: Rob attacks Alex with Grizzly Bears and attacks Carissa with
    a creature with mountainwalk.  Whether the creature with mountainwalk is
    unblockable depends only on whether Carissa controls a Mountain.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  602.3b - Creatures in a band can't attack different players.  See
    Rule 502.10, "Banding." [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  602.4 - If creatures are attacking more than one player, each defending
    player declares blockers in APNAP order as the declare blockers step
    begins.  (See Rule 103.4 and Rule 309, "Declare Blockers Step.")  The
    first defending player declares all his or her blocks, then the second
    defending player, and so on. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  602.4a - A defending player can block only with creatures he or she
    controls.  Those creatures can block only creatures attacking that player;
    they can't block creatures attacking other players.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  602.4b - When determining whether a defending player's blocks are legal,
    ignore any creatures attacking other players and any blocking creatures
    controlled by other players. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  602.5 - Combat damage is assigned in APNAP order.  Other than that, the
    combat damage step proceeds just as in a two-player game.  See
    Rule 310, "Combat Damage Step." [CompRules 2005/08/01]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |