| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
G15.1 - Object 
G15.2 - Obsolete  G15.1a -  An "object" is a card, a copy of a card, a token, a spell, a
    permanent, an ability on the stack, or combat damage on the stack.  The
    term "object" is used in these rules when a rule applies to cards, copies
    of cards, tokens, spells, permanents, abilities on the stack, and combat
    damage on the stack.  See Rule 200.8. [CompRules 2004/02/01]
 
G15.3 - Offering  G15.2a - Terms marked "(Obsolete)" in this glossary were used only on older
    cards.  Updated wordings for all cards that used these terms are available
    in the Oracle card reference. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
G15.4 - One-Shot Effect  G15.3a - Offering is a static ability of a card that functions in any zone
    from which the card can be played.  "[Text] offering" means "You may play
    this card any time you could play an instant by sacrificing a [text]
    permanent.  If you do, the total cost to play this card is reduced by the
    sacrificed permanent's mana cost."  Generic mana in the sacrificed
    permanent's mana cost reduces only the generic mana in the offering card's
    total cost. [CompRules 2005/02/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.42, "Offering."
 
G15.5 - Opening Hand  G15.4a - One-shot effects do something only once and then end.  See 
    Rule 417, "One-Shot Effects."  [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  G15.4b - See also Continuous Effects. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
G15.6 - Opponent  G15.5a - Before a game begins, but after a player has taken any mulligans,
    the hand of cards he or she chooses to keep is that player's opening hand.
    A player can't take any mulligans once he or she has decided to keep an
    opening hand. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 101.4.
 
G15.7 - Oracle  G15.6a - In a two-player game, a player's opponent is the other player.  In
    multiplayer games, a player has multiple opponents.  See Section 6,
    "Multiplayer Rules." [CompRules 2005/08/01]
 
G15.8 - Order  G15.7a - Use the Oracle card reference when determining a card's wording. 
    A card's Oracle text can be found using the Gatherer card database at
    http://gatherer.wizards.com.  See Rule 200.2. [CompRules 2005/10/01]
 
G15.9 - Outside the Game  G15.8a - The order of objects in a library, in a graveyard, or on the stack
    can't be changed except when effects allow it.  Objects in other zones can
    be arranged however their owners wish, although who controls those
    objects, whether they're tapped, and what enchants or equips them must
    remain clear to all players.  See Rule 217.1b. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
 
G15.10 - Owner  G15.9a - An object is "outside the game" if it's in the 
    removed-from-the-game zone, or if it isn't in any of the game's zones. 
    All other objects are inside the game.  "Outside the game" is not a zone.
    See Rule 217.1e. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
  G15.10a - The owner of a card is the player who started the game with that
    card in his or her deck or, for cards that didn't start the game in a
    player's deck, the player who brought the card into the game.  (Legal
    ownership is irrelevant to the game rules, except for the rules for ante.)
    See Rule 200.1a.  The owner of a token is the controller of the effect
    that created it. [CompRules 2007/07/13]
  G15.10b - An effect can change a permanent's controller but never its 
    owner.  (A few cards have the text "Remove [this card] from your deck
    before playing if you're not playing for ante."  These are the only cards
    that can change a card's owner.  See Rule 217.9, "Ante.")
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  G15.10c - A card is always put into its owner's library, hand, or graveyard,
    regardless of who controlled the card in its previous zone.  See
    Rule 217.1a. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |