| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
G2.1 - Banding, "Bands with Other" 
G2.2 - Basic  G2.1a - Banding is a static ability that modifies the rules for declaring
    attackers and assigning combat damage.  "Bands with other" is a
    specialized version of the ability. [CompRules 2005/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.10, "Banding."
  Note - Also see Rule 502.11, "Bands with Other."
 
G2.3 - Basic Land Type  G2.2a - Basic is a supertype.  Any land with the supertype basic is a 
    basic land.  Any land without that supertype is a nonbasic land.  See
    Rule 205.4, "Supertypes." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
G2.4 - Becomes  G2.3a - There are five basic land types: Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain,
    and Forest.  Every basic land type has a mana ability associated with it.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 212.6, "Lands."
 
G2.5 - Beginning of Combat Step  G2.4a - Some trigger events use the word "becomes" (for example, 
    "becomes tapped" or "becomes blocked").  These trigger only at the time
    the named event happens--they don't trigger if that state already exists
    or retrigger if it persists.  For example, "becomes tapped" triggers only
    when a permanent's status changes from untapped to tapped.
    [CompRules 2005/10/01]
 
G2.6 - Beginning Phase  G2.5a - The beginning of combat step is the first step of the combat phase.
    A player may play spells and abilities during this step whenever he or she
    has priority. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 307, "Beginning of Combat Step."
 
G2.7 - Block  G2.6a - The beginning phase is the first phase of the turn.  It has three
    steps: untap, upkeep, and draw. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 301, "Beginning Phase."
 
G2.8 - Block Alone  G2.7a - A creature blocks when it's declared as a blocker during the combat
    phase.  [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 309, "Declare Blockers Step."
 
G2.9 - Blocked Creature  G2.8a - A creature is blocking alone when it's the sole creature controlled
    by the defending player declared as a blocker in a given combat phase.
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 306.5.
 
G2.10 - Blocking Creature  G2.9a - An attacking creature becomes a blocked creature when another
    creature blocks it or an effect causes it to become blocked during the
    combat phase.  It remains a blocked creature until it's removed from
    combat, it stops being a creature, its controller changes, or the combat
    phase ends.  A blocked creature doesn't become unblocked if the blocking
    creature is later removed from combat.  Blocked creatures don't exist
    outside of the combat phase. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 309, "Declare Blockers Step."
 
G2.11 - Bloodthirst  G2.10a - A creature becomes a blocking creature when (a) it's declared as
    part of a legal block during the combat phase and (b) all costs to block,
    if any, have been paid.  It remains a blocking creature until it's removed
    from combat, it stops being a creature, its controller changes, or the
    combat phase ends.  A creature may be put into play blocking.  Blocking
    creatures don't exist outside of the combat phase. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 309, "Declare Blockers Step."
 
G2.12 - Bury (Obsolete)  G2.11a - Bloodthirst is a static ability.  "Bloodthirst N" means "If an
    opponent was dealt damage this turn, this permanent comes into play with
    N +1/+1 counters on it." 
  Note - Also see Rule 502.50, "Bloodthirst."
 
G2.13 - Bushido  G2.12a - Some older cards were printed with the term "bury," which meant to
    put a permanent into its owner's graveyard.  In general, cards that were
    printed with the term "bury" now read, "Destroy [a permanent].  It can't
    be regenerated," or "Sacrifice [a permanent]." [CompRules 2005/10/01]
 
G2.14 - Buyback  G2.13a - Bushido is a triggered ability.  "Bushido N" means "Whenever this
    creature blocks or becomes blocked, it gets +N/+N until end of
    turn."  (See Rule 209, "Declare Blockers Step.") [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.38, "Bushido".
 
  G2.14a - Buyback appears on some instants and sorceries.  It represents two
    static abilities that function while the spell is on the
    stack.  "Buyback [cost]" means "You may pay an additional [cost] as you
    play this spell" and "If the buyback cost was paid, put this spell into
    its owner's hand instead of into that player's graveyard as it resolves."
    Paying a spell's buyback cost follows the rules for paying additional
    costs in Rule 409.1b and Rule 409.1f through Rule 409.1h. 
    [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.16, "Buyback."
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |