| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
212 - Card Type, Supertype, and Subtype 
212.2 - Artifacts  212.1 - General
  212.1a - Cards, tokens, permanents, and spells can all have card types,
    supertypes, and subtypes.  Abilities don't have card types, supertypes, or
    subtypes.  Instead, there are various categories of abilities.  (See 
    Rule 402, "Abilities.") [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.1b - When an object's card type changes, the new card type(s) replaces
    any existing card types.  Counters, effects, and damage affecting the
    object remain with it, even if they are meaningless to the new card type.
    Similarly, when one or more of an object's subtypes changes, the new
    subtype(s) replaces any existing subtypes from the appropriate
    set (creature types, land types, artifact types, enchantment types,
    planeswalker types, or spell types).  If an object's card type is removed,
    the subtypes correlated with that card type will remain if they are also
    the subtypes of a card type the object currently has; otherwise, they are
    also removed for the entire time the object's card type is removed.
    Removing an object's subtype doesn't affect its card types at all.
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.1c - Some effects change an object's card type, supertype, or subtype
    but specify that the object retains a prior card type, supertype, or
    subtype.  In such cases, all the object's prior card types, supertypes,
    and subtypes are retained.  This rule applies to effects that use the
    phrase "in addition to its types" or that state that something is "still
    a [card type]."  Some effects state that an object becomes an "artifact
    creature"; these effects also allow the object to retain all of its prior
    card types and subtypes. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
    Example: An ability reads, "All lands are 1/1 creatures that are still
    lands."  The affected lands now have two card types: creature and land.
    If there were any lands that were also artifacts before the ability's
    effect applied to them, those lands would become "artifact land
    creatures," not just "creatures," or "land creatures."  The effect allows
    them to retain both the card type "artifact" and the card type "land."
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.1d - An object's supertype is independent of its card type and subtype. 
    Changing an object's card type or subtype won't change its supertype.
    Changing an object's supertype won't change its card type or subtype.
    When an object gains or loses a supertype, it retains any other supertypes
    it had. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
    Example: An ability reads, "All lands are 1/1 creatures that are still
    lands."  If any of the affected lands were legendary, they are still
    legendary. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  212.1e - If an instruction requires choosing a subtype, you must choose one,
    and only one, existing subtype, and the subtype you choose must be for the
    appropriate card type.  For example, you can't choose a land type if an
    instruction requires choosing a creature type.  (Use the Oracle card
    reference to determine whether a creature type exists; see Rule 200.2.
    You will also find complete lists of subtypes in the glossary at the end
    of this document under "Creature Types," "Land Types," etc.)
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
    Example: When choosing a creature type, "Merfolk" or "Wizard" is
    acceptable, but "Merfolk Wizard" is not.  Words like "artifact," 
    "opponent," "Swamp," or "truck" can't be chosen because they aren't
    creature types. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
 
212.3 - Creatures  212.2a - A player who has priority may play an artifact card from his or her
    hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty.
    Playing an artifact as a spell uses the stack.  (See Rule 409,
    "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.") [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.2b - When an artifact spell resolves, its controller puts it into play
    under his or her control. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  212.2c - Artifact subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a
    long dash: "Artifact - Equipment."  Artifact subtypes are also called
    artifact types.  Artifacts may have multiple subtypes.  (You can find the
    complete list of artifact subtypes under "Artifact Types" in the glossary
    at the end of this document.) [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  212.2d - Artifacts have no characteristics specific to their card type.
    Most artifacts have no colored mana in their mana costs, and are therefore
    colorless.  However, there is no correlation between being colorless and
    being an artifact: artifacts may be colored, and colorless objects may be
    card types other than artifact. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.2e - Artifact creatures combine the characteristics of both creatures
    and artifacts, and are subject to spells and abilities that affect
    either or both card types. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.2f - Artifact lands combine the characteristics of both lands and
    artifacts, and are subject to spells and abilities that affect either
    or both card types.  Artifact lands can only be played as lands.  They
    can't be played as spells. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.2g - Some artifacts have the subtype "Equipment."  An Equipment can be
    attached to a creature.  It can't legally be attached to an object that
    isn't a creature. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  212.2h - An Equipment is played and comes into play just like any other
    artifact.  An Equipment doesn't come into play attached to a creature. 
    The equip keyword ability moves the Equipment onto a creature you 
    control (see Rule 502.33, "Equip").  Control of the creature matters only
    when the equip ability is played and when it resolves.  The creature to
    which the Equipment is to be moved must be able to be equipped by it.
    If it can't, the Equipment doesn't move. [CompRules 2005/10/01]
  212.2i - An Equipment that's also a creature can't equip a creature.
    Equipment that loses the subtype "Equipment" can't equip a creature.  An
    Equipment can't equip itself.  An Equipment that equips an illegal or
    nonexistent permanent becomes unattached from that permanent but remains
    in play. (This is a state-based effect.  See Rule 420.)
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  212.2j - The creature an Equipment is attached to is called the "equipped
    creature."  The Equipment is attached to, or "equips," that creature.
    [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  212.2k - An Equipment's controller is separate from the equipped creature's
    controller; the two need not be the same.  Changing control of the
    creature doesn't change control of the Equipment, and vice versa.  Only
    the Equipment's controller can play its abilities.  However, if the
    Equipment adds an ability to the equipped creature (with "gains" 
    or "has"), the equipped creature's controller is the only one who can play
    that ability. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  212.2m - Some artifacts have the subtype "Fortification."  A Fortification
    can be attached to a land.  It can't legally be attached to an object that
    isn't a land.  Rule 212.2h through Rule 212.2k apply to Fortifications in
    relation to lands just as they apply to Equipment in relation to
    creatures.  Fortification's analog to the equip keyword ability is the
    fortify keyword ability.  (See Rule 502.65, "Fortify.")
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
 
212.4 - Enchantments  212.3a - A player who has priority may play a creature card from his or her
    hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty.
    Playing a creature as a spell uses the stack.  (See Rule 409,
    "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.") [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.3b - When a creature spell resolves, its controller puts it into play
    under his or her control. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  212.3c - Creature subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a
    long dash: "Creature - Human Soldier," "Artifact Creature - Golem," and so
    on.  Creature subtypes are also called creature types.  Creatures may have
    multiple subtypes.  (You can find the complete list of creature subtypes
    under "Creature Types" in the glossary at the end of this document.)
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
    Example: "Creature - Goblin Wizard" means the card is a creature with the
    subtypes Goblin and Wizard. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  212.3d - Power and toughness are characteristics only creatures have.  A
    creature's power is the amount of damage it deals in combat, and its
    toughness is the amount of damage needed to destroy it.  To determine a
    creature's power and toughness, start with the numbers printed in its
    lower right corner, then apply any applicable continuous effects.  (See
    Rule 418.5, "Interaction of Continuous Effects.") [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.3e - Creatures can attack and block.  (See Rule 308, "Declare Attackers
    Step," and Rule 309, "Declare Blockers Step.") [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  212.3f - A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol in its
    activation cost can't be played unless the creature has been under its
    controller's control since the start of his or her most recent turn.  A
    creature can't attack unless it has been under its controller's control
    since the start of his or her most recent turn.  This rule is informally
    called the "summoning sickness" rule.  Ignore this rule for creatures with
    haste (see rule 502.5). [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  212.3g - Creature lands combine the characteristics of both lands and
    creatures, and are subject to spells and abilities that affect either or
    both card types.  Creature lands can only be played as lands.  They can't
    be played as spells. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
 
212.5 - Instants  212.4a - A player who has priority may play an enchantment card from his or
    her hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty.
    Playing an enchantment as a spell uses the stack.  (See 
    Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.") 
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.4b - When an enchantment spell resolves, its controller puts it into
    play under his or her control. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  212.4c - Enchantment subtypes are always a single word and are listed after
    a long dash: "Enchantment - Shrine."  Each word after the dash is a
    separate subtype.  Enchantment subtypes are also called enchantment types.
    Enchantments may have multiple subtypes.  (You can find the complete list
    of enchantment subtypes under "Enchantment Types" in the glossary at the
    end of this document.) [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  212.4d - Some enchantments have the subtype "Aura."  An Aura comes into play
    attached to an object or player.  What an Aura can be attached to is
    restricted by its enchant keyword ability (see Rule 502.45, "Enchant").
    Other effects can limit what a permanent can be enchanted by.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  212.4e - An Aura spell requires a target, which is restricted by its enchant
    ability. [CompRules 2006/07/15]
  212.4f - If an Aura is enchanting an illegal object or player, the object it
    was attached to no longer exists, or the player it was attached to has
    left the game, the Aura is put into its owner's graveyard.  (This is a
    state-based effect.  See Rule 420.) [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  212.4g - An Aura can't enchant itself, and an Aura that's also a creature
    can't enchant anything.  If this occurs somehow, the Aura is put into
    its owner's graveyard.  (This is a state-based effect.  See Rule 420.)
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  212.4h - The object or player an Aura is attached to is called enchanted.
    The Aura is attached to, or "enchants," that permanent.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  212.4i - An Aura's controller is separate from the enchanted object's
    controller; the two need not be the same.  Changing control of the object
    doesn't change control of the Aura, and vice versa.  Only the Aura's
    controller can play its abilities.  However, if the Aura adds an ability
    to the enchanted object (with "gains" or "has"), the enchanted object's
    controller is the only one who can play that ability.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  212.4j - If an Aura is coming into play under a player's control by any
    means other than by being played, and the effect putting it into play
    doesn't specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player
    chooses what it will enchant as the Aura comes into play.  The player must
    choose a legal object or player according to the Aura's enchant ability
    and any other applicable effects.  If the player can't make a legal
    choice, the Aura remains in its current zone, unless that zone is the
    stack.  In that case, the Aura is put into its owner's graveyard instead
    of coming into play. [CompRules 2008/02/01]
  212.4k - If an effect attempts to attach an Aura in play to an object or
    player, that object or player must be able to be enchanted by it.  If the
    object or player can't be, the Aura doesn't move.  [CompRules 2007/05/15]
 
212.6 - Lands  212.5a - A player who has priority may play an instant card from his or her
    hand.  Playing an instant as a spell uses the stack.  (See
    Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.") 
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.5b - When an instant spell resolves, the actions stated in its rules
    text are followed. Then, it's put into its owner's graveyard.
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  212.5c - Instant subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a
    long dash: "Instant - Arcane."  Each word after the dash is a separate
    subtype.  The set of instant subtypes is the same as the set of sorcery
    subtypes; these subtypes are called spell types.  Instants may have
    multiple subtypes.  (You can find the complete list of instant subtypes
    under "Spell Types" in the glossary at the end of this document.)
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.5d - Instants can't come into play.  If an instant would come into play,
    it remains in its previous zone instead. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  212.5e - If text states that a player may do something "any time he or she
    could play an instant," it means only that the player must have priority.
    The player doesn't need to have an instant he or she could actually play.
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
212.7 - Sorceries  212.6a - Playing a land card is a special action (see Rule 408.2d).  To play
    a land card, the player simply puts it into play.  The card doesn't go on
    the stack, and is never a spell, so players can't respond to it with
    instants or activated abilities. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.6b - A player who has priority may choose to play a land card from his
    or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn, when the stack is
    empty.  Continuous effects may allow the player to play land cards from
    other zones this way, or to play land cards at other times.
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.6c - A player may normally play only one land card during his or her
    turn; however, continuous effects may increase this number.  If any such
    effects exist, the player announces which effect, or this rule, applies to
    each land play as it happens. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.6d - A player can't play a land, for any reason, if it isn't his or her
    turn.  Ignore any part of an effect that instructs a player to do so.
    Similarly, a player can't play a land, for any reason, if that player has
    used all of his or her land plays for that turn.  Ignore any part of an
    effect that instructs a player to do so. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.6e - Effects may also allow players to "put" lands into play.  This
    isn't the same as "playing a land" and doesn't count as a player's one
    land played during his or her turn. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.6f - Land subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long
    dash. Land subtypes are also called land types.  Lands may have multiple
    subtypes.  (You can find the complete list of land subtypes
    under "Land Types" in the glossary at the end of this document.)
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.6g - The basic land types are Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and
    Forest.  If an object uses the words "basic land type," it's referring to
    one of these subtypes.  A land with a basic land type has an intrinsic
    ability to produce colored mana.  (See Rule 406, "Mana Abilities.")  The
    land is treated as if its text box included, "{Tap}: Add [mana symbol] to
    your mana pool," even if the text box doesn't actually contain text or the
    card has no text box.  Plains produce white mana; Islands, blue; Swamps, 
    black; Mountains, red; and Forests, green. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.6h - If an effect changes a land's subtype to one or more of the basic
    land types, the land no longer has its old land type.  It loses all
    abilities generated from its rules text and its old land types, and it
    gains the appropriate mana ability for each new basic land type.  Note
    that this doesn't remove any abilities that were granted to the land by
    other effects.  Changing a land's subtype doesn't add or remove any card
    types (such as creature) or supertypes (such as basic, legendary, and
    snow) the land may have.  If a land gains one or more land types in
    addition to its own, it keeps its land types and rules text, and it gains
    the new land types and mana abilities. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.6i - Any land with the supertype "basic" is a basic land.  Any land that
    doesn't have this supertype is a nonbasic land. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.6j - If an object is both a land and another card type, it can be played
    only as a land.  It can't be played as a spell. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
 
212.8 - Tribals  212.7a - A player who has priority may play a sorcery card from his or her
    hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty.
    Playing a sorcery as a spell uses the stack.  (See Rule 409,
    "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.") [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.7b - When a sorcery spell resolves, the actions stated in its rules text
    are followed.  Then it's put into its owner's graveyard. 
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  212.7c - Sorcery subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a
    long dash: "Sorcery - Arcane."  Each word after the dash is a separate
    subtype.  The set of sorcery subtypes is the same as the set of instant
    subtypes; these subtypes are called spell types.  Sorceries may have
    multiple subtypes.  (You can find the complete list of sorcery subtypes
    under "Spell Types" in the glossary at the end of this document.)
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.7d - Sorceries can't come into play.  If a sorcery would come into play,
    it remains in its previous zone instead. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  212.7e - If a spell, ability, or effect states that a player can do
    something only "any time he or she could play a sorcery," it means only
    that the player must have priority, it must be during the main phase of
    his or her turn, and the stack must be empty.  The player doesn't need to
    have a sorcery he or she could actually play. [CompRules 2005/10/01]
 
212.9 - Planeswalkers  212.8a - Each tribal card has another card type.  Playing and resolving a
    tribal card follows the rules for playing and resolving a card of the
    other card type. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.8b - Tribal subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a
    long dash: "Tribal Enchantment - Merfolk."  The set of tribal subtypes is
    the same as the set of creature subtypes; these subtypes are called
    creature types.  Tribals may have multiple subtypes.  (You can find the
    complete list of tribal subtypes under "Creature Types" in the glossary at
    the end of this document.) [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.8.Ruling.1 - Tribal is not a permanent type.  However, a tribal card can
    become a permanent if another of its types allows it to do so.
    [Future Sight FAQ 2007/05/01]
 
  212.9a - A player who has priority may play a planeswalker card from his or
    her hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty.
    Playing a planeswalker as a spell uses the stack.  (See 
    Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.")
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.9b - When a planeswalker spell resolves, its controller puts it into
    play under his or her control. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.9c - Planeswalker subtypes are always a single word and are listed after
    a long dash: "Planeswalker - Jace."  Each word after the dash is a
    separate subtype.  Planeswalker subtypes are also called planeswalker
    types.  Planeswalkers may have multiple subtypes.  (You can find the
    complete list of planeswalker subtypes under "Planeswalker Types" in the
    glossary at the end of this document.)  If two or more planeswalkers that
    share a planeswalker type are in play, all are put into their owners'
    graveyards as a state-based effect.  See Rule 420.5.
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.9d - Loyalty is a characteristic only planeswalkers have.  The loyalty
    of a planeswalker not in play is equal to the number printed in its lower
    right corner.  The loyalty of a planeswalker in play is equal to the
    number of loyalty counters on it.  A planeswalker is treated as if its
    text box included, "This permanent comes into play with a number of
    loyalty counters on it equal to its printed loyalty number"; this ability
    creates a replacement effect (see Rule 419.1).  As a planeswalker gains or
    loses loyalty, loyalty counters are put on it or removed from it,
    respectively.  Damage dealt to a planeswalker results in that many loyalty
    counters being removed from it.  If a planeswalker's loyalty is 0, it's
    put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based effect.  See Rule 420.5.
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.9e - Planeswalkers can be attacked.  (See
    Rule 308, "Declare Attackers Step.") [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.9f - Each planeswalker has a number of activated abilities.  A player
    may play an activated ability of a planeswalker only during a main phase
    of his or her turn, when he or she has priority and the stack is empty,
    and only if none of its activated abilities have been played that turn.
    The cost to play an activated ability of a planeswalker is to put on or
    remove from that planeswalker a certain number of loyalty counters, as
    shown by the loyalty symbol in the ability's cost.  An ability with a
    negative loyalty cost can't be played unless the planeswalker has at least
    that many loyalty counters on it. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.9g - If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source
    controlled by an opponent, that opponent may have that source deal that
    damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead.  This is a
    redirection effect (see Rule 419.6c) and is subject to the normal rules
    for ordering replacement effects (see Rule 419.9).  The opponent chooses
    whether to redirect the damage as the redirection effect is applied.
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  212.9.Ruling.1 - You can control more than one Planeswalker, but there
    cannot be more than one of the same Planeswalker in play at a time without
    causing Rule 212.9c to remove them. [D'Angelo 2007/10/20]
  212.9.Ruling.2 - A Planeswalker is not a Creature. [D'Angelo 2007/10/20]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |