SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

418 - Continuous Effects
  • 418.1 - A continuous effect modifies characteristics of objects or modifies the rules of the game for a fixed or indefinite period. A continuous effect may be generated by the resolution of a spell or ability or by a static ability of an object. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 418.2 - Continuous effects that modify characteristics of permanents do so simultaneously with the permanent coming into play. They don't wait until the permanent is in play and then change it. Because such effects apply as the permanent comes into play, apply them before determining whether the permanent will cause an ability to trigger when it comes into play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
418.3 - Continuous Effects from Spells or Abilities
  • 418.3a - A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability lasts as long as stated by the spell or ability creating it (such as "until end of turn"). If no duration is stated, it lasts until the end of the game. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 418.3b - Continuous effects from spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities that modify the characteristics or change the controller of one or more objects don't affect objects that weren't affected when the continuous effect began. Note that these work differently than continuous effects from static abilities. Continuous effects that don't modify characteristics or change the controller of objects modify the rules of the game, so they can affect objects that weren't affected when the continuous effect began.
    Example: An effect that reads "All white creatures get +1/+1 until end of turn" gives the bonus to all permanents that are white creatures when the spell or ability resolves-even if they change color later-and doesn't affect those that come into play or turn white afterward.
    Example: An effect that reads "Prevent all damage creatures would deal this turn" doesn't modify any object's characteristics, so it's modifying the rules of the game. That means the effect will apply even to damage from creatures that weren't in play when the continuous effect began. It also affects damage from permanents that become creatures later in the turn. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 418.3c - If a resolving spell or ability that creates a continuous effect contains a variable, the value of that variable is determined only once, on resolution. See Rule 413.2f. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 418.3d - Some effects from activated or triggered abilities have durations worded "as long as ...." If the "as long as" duration ends between the end of playing the activated ability or putting the triggered ability onto the stack and the moment when the effect would first be applied, the effect does nothing. It doesn't start and immediately stop again, and it doesn't last forever.
    Example: Endoskeleton is an artifact with an activated ability that reads "{2},{Tap}: Target creature gets +0/+3 as long as Endoskeleton remains tapped." If you play this ability and then Endoskeleton becomes untapped before the ability resolves, it does nothing, because its duration-remaining tapped-was over before the effect began. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
418.4 - Continuous Effects from Static Abilities
  • 418.4a - A continuous effect generated by a static ability isn't "locked in"; it applies at any given moment to whatever its text indicates. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 418.4b - The effect applies at all times that the permanent generating it is in play or the object generating it is in the appropriate zone.
    Example: A permanent with the static ability "All white creatures get +1/+1" generates an effect that continuously gives +1/+1 to each white creature in play. If a creature becomes white, it gets this bonus; a creature that stops being white loses it. A creature spell that would normally create a 1/1 white creature instead creates a 2/2 white creature. The creature doesn't come into play as 1/1 and then change to 2/2. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
418.5 - Interaction of Continuous Effects
  • 418.5a - The values of an object's characteristics are determined by starting with the actual object, then applying continuous effects in a series of layers in the following order: (1) copy effects (see Rule 503, "Copying Object"), (2) control-changing effects, (3) text-changing effects, (4) type-, subtype-, and supertype-changing effects, (5) all other continuous effects, except those that change power or toughness, and (6) power- or toughness-changing effects. Inside each layer, apply effects from characteristic-setting abilities first, then effects from all other abilities. For power- or toughness-changing effects, apply changes from counters after changes from characteristic setting abilities. See also the rules for timestamp order and dependency (Rule 418.5b through Rule 418.5g). [CompRules 2003/10/01]
    Example: Crusade is an enchantment that reads "White creatures get +1/+1." Crusade and a 2/2 black creature are in play. If an effect then turns the creature white, it gets +1/+1 from Crusade, becoming 3/3. If the creature's color is later changed to red, Crusade's effect stops applying to it, and it will return to being a 2/2. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 418.5b - If an effect other than a type-, subtype-, and supertype-changing effect should be applied in different layers, the parts of the effect each apply in their appropriate layers. If a type-, subtype-, and supertype-changing effect should be applied in different layers, all are applied only in layer four (type-, subtype- and supertype changing effects). [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    Example: A player plays an ability that reads "{2}: Until end of turn, Chimeric Sphere becomes a 3/2 artifact creature," which is a both a type-changing effect and a power- and toughness-changing effect. Since it's a type-changing effect, the entire effect is applied when type-changing effects are applied, in layer four, even though power- and toughness-changing effects are normally applied in layer six. Later in the turn, Chimeric Sphere is affected by an ability that reads "Target creature becomes 0/2 until end of turn," which is applied only in layer six since it's solely a power- and toughness- changing effect. At this point, playing Chimeric Sphere's (layer 4) ability again won't do anything, as the layer-six effect will always be applied after it. The artifact creature remains 0/2. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    Example: An effect that reads "Wild Mongrel gets +1/+1 and becomes the color of your choice until end of turn" is both a power- and toughness changing effect and an "other" kind of effect. The "becomes the color of your choice" part is applied in layer five, and then the "gets +1/+1" part is applied in layer six. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    Example: Grab the Reins has an effect that reads "Until end of turn, you gain control of target creature and it gains haste." This is both a control-changing effect and an "other" effect. The "you gain control" part is applied in layer two, and then the "it gains haste" part is applied in layer five. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 418.5c - An effect is said to "depend on" another if (a) it is applied in the same layer as the other effect (see rule 418.5a) and (b) applying the other would change the text or the existence of the first effect, what it applies to, or what it does to any of the things it applies to. Otherwise, the effect is considered to be independent of the other effect. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 418.5d - Whenever one effect depends on another, the independent one is applied first. If several dependent effects form a loop, or if none depends on another, they're applied in "timestamp order." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 418.5e - An object's timestamp is the time it entered the zone it's currently in, with three exceptions: (1) If two or more objects enter a zone (or zones) simultaneously, the active player determines their timestamp order at the time they enter that zone. (2) Whenever a local enchantment or Equipment becomes attached to a permanent, the enchantment or Equipment receives a new timestamp. (3) Permanents that phase in keep the same timestamps they had when they phased out. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 418.5f - Continuous effects generated by static abilities have the same timestamp as the objects that generate them. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 418.5g - Continuous effects generated by the resolution of a spell or ability receive a timestamp at the time they're created. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 418.5h - One continuous effect can override another. Sometimes the results of one effect determine whether another effect applies or what another effect does. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    Example: Two enchantments are played on the same creature: "Enchanted creature gains flying" and "Enchanted creature loses flying." Neither of these depends on the other, since nothing changes what they affect or what they're doing to it. Applying them in timestamp order means the one that was generated last "wins." It's irrelevant whether an effect is temporary (such as "Target creature loses flying until end of turn") or global (such as "All creatures lose flying"). [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    Example: One effect reads, "White creatures get +1/+1," and another "Enchanted creature is white." The enchanted creature gets +1/+1 from the first effect, regardless of its previous color. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • 418.5i - Some effects can switch a creature's power and toughness. When they're applied, they take the value of power and apply it to the object's toughness, and take the object's toughness and apply it to the object's power. Any effects that are applied after the switching effect apply normally. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    Example: A 1/3 creature is given +0/+1 by an effect. Then another effect switches the creature's power and toughness. Its new power and toughness is 4/1. After the "switch" effect resolves, another effect gives the creature +5/+0. Its power and toughness is 9/1. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
    Example: A 1/3 creature is given +0/+1 by an effect. Then another effect switches the creature's power and toughness. Its new power and toughness is 4/1. If the +0/+1 effect ends before the switch effect ends, the creature becomes a 3/1. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • 418.5.Ruling.1 - If a single ability creates multiple different effects and those effects could be applied in more than one layer (as per Rule 418.5a), apply each of the effects in the appropriate layer. [WotC Rules Team 2003/09/01]
418.6 - Text-Changing Effects
  • 418.6a - An effect that changes the text of an object changes only those words that are used in the correct way (for example, a Magic color word being used as a color word, a land type word used as a land type, or a creature type word used as a creature type). The effect can't change a proper noun, such as a card name, even if that proper noun contains a word or a series of letters that is the same as a Magic color word, basic land type, or creature type. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 418.6b - Effects that add or remove abilities don't change the text of the objects they affect, so any abilities that are granted to an object can't be changed by effects that change the text of that object. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 418.6c - Spells and abilities that create creature tokens use creature types to define both the creature types and the names of the tokens. These words can be changed, because they are being used as creature types, even though they're also being used as names. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • 418.6d - A creature token's creature type and rules text are defined by the spell or ability that created the token. These characteristics can be changed by text-changing effects. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004