This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.
308 - Declare Attackers Step
- 308.1 - As the declare attackers step begins, the active player declares
attackers (this game action doesn't use the stack). Then any abilities
that triggered on attackers being declared go on the stack. (See
Rule 410, "Handling Triggered Abilities.") Then the active player gets
priority and players may play spells and abilities. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 308.2 - To declare attackers, the active player follows the steps below, in
order. If at any point during the declaration of attackers, the active
player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the
declaration was illegal; the game returns to the moment before the
declaration (see Rule 422, "Handling Illegal Actions," and Rule 500,
"Legal Attacks and Blocks"). [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 308.2a - The active player either chooses to not attack or chooses one or
more creatures he or she controls and then determines whether this set of
creatures could attack. Only creatures can attack, and the following
creatures can't attack: tapped creatures (even those that can attack
without tapping), creatures with creature type Wall, and creatures the
active player didn't control continuously since the beginning of the
turn (except those with haste). Other effects may also affect whether or
not a set of creatures could attack. (See Rule 500, "Legal Attacks and
Blocks.") [CompRules 2003/10/01]
- 308.2b - If any of the chosen creatures have banding or a bands with other
ability, the active player announces which creatures, if any, are banded
with which. (See Rule 502.10, "Banding.") [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 308.2c - The active player taps the chosen creatures. Tapping a creature
when it's declared as an attacker isn't a cost; attacking simply causes
creatures to become tapped. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 308.2d - If any of the creatures require paying costs to attack, the active
player determines the total cost to attack. Costs may include paying
mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so
on. Once the total cost is determined, it becomes "locked in." If
effects would change the total cost after this time, ignore this change.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 308.2e - If any of the costs require mana, the active player then has a
chance to play mana abilities (see Rule 411, "Playing Mana Abilities").
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 308.2f - Once the player has enough mana in his or her mana pool, he or she
pays all costs in any order. Partial payments are not allowed.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 308.2g - Each chosen creature becomes an attacking creature if all costs
have been paid, but only if it's still controlled by the active player.
It remains an attacking creature until it's removed from combat or the
combat phase ends, whichever comes first. See Rule 306.2.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 308.3 - Abilities that trigger on a creature attacking trigger only at the
point the creature starts to attack. They will not trigger if a creature
attacks and the characteristics of that creature are then changed to match
the ability's trigger condition.
Example: A permanent has the ability "Whenever a green creature attacks,
destroy that creature at end of combat." If a blue creature attacks and
is later turned green, the ability will not trigger.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- 308.4 - If no creatures are declared as attackers, finish the declare
attackers step, but skip the declare blockers and combat damage steps.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.
|
|