| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
G18.1 - Rampage 
G18.2 - Random  G18.1a - Rampage is a triggered ability.  "Rampage N" means "When this
    creature becomes blocked, it gets +N/+N until end of turn for each
    creature blocking it beyond the first." [CompRules 2005/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.12, "Rampage."
 
G18.3 - Range of Influence
G18.4 - Reach  G18.2a - If a spell, ability, or effect requires a player to choose
    something at random, that player can use any method of making a random
    choice (rolling dice, flipping a coin, and so on).  The outcome must be
    truly random. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
G18.5 - Recover  G18.4a - Reach is a static ability.  A creature with reach can block an
    attacking creature with flying. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 309, "Declare Blockers Step."
  Note - Also see Rule 502.4, "Flying."
  Note - Also see Rule 502.70, "Reach." 
 
G18.6 - Redirect (Obsolete)  G18.5a - Recover is a triggered ability that functions only while the card
    with recover is in a player's graveyard.  "Recover [cost]" means "When a
    creature is put into your graveyard from play, you may pay [cost].  If you
    do, return this card from your graveyard to your hand.  Otherwise, remove
    this card from the game." [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.55, "Recover."
 
G18.7 - Regenerate  G18.6a - Some older cards were printed with the term "redirect" to describe
    the act of dealing damage to a different player or creature than
    originally specified by a spell, ability, or combat-damage assignment,
    without changing the source or kind of damage.  In general, cards that
    were printed with the term "redirect" now create replacement effects that
    modify where the damage will be dealt.  "Redirect" is still used
    informally to describe what these replacement effects do.  See
    Rule 419.6c. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
 
G18.8 - Reinforce  G18.7a - Regeneration is a destruction-replacement effect.  
    "Regenerate [permanent]" means "The next time [permanent] would be
    destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage from it, tap it, and (if
    it's in combat) remove it from combat."  Because it's a replacement
    effect, it must be active before the attempted destruction event. 
    Abilities that trigger from damage being dealt still trigger even if the
    permanent regenerates. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 419.6b.
 
G18.9 - Reminder Text  G18.8a - Reinforce is an activated ability that functions only while the
    card with reinforce is in a player's hand.  "Reinforce N-[cost]"
    means "[Cost], Discard this card: Put N +1/+1 counters on target
    creature." [CompRules 2008/02/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.77, "Reinforce."
 
G18.10 - Removed from Combat  G18.9a - Reminder text appears after a keyword ability printed on a card and
    on cards that might otherwise be commonly misunderstood.  Reminder text is
    text that is italicized and in parentheses in the text box of a card. 
    This text provides a summary of the game rule or clarifies what the card
    does, but it isn't itself considered rules text. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 207.2.
 
G18.11 - Removed from the Game  G18.10a - A creature or planeswalker is removed from combat if it leaves
    play (such as by being destroyed or removed from the game); if its
    controller changes; if it stops being a creature or planeswalker,
    respectively; or if an effect removes it from combat.  A creature is also
    removed from combat if it regenerates (see Rule 419.6b).  A creature
    that's removed from combat stops being an attacking, blocking, blocked,
    and/or unblocked creature.  A planeswalker that's removed from combat
    stops being attacked.  A permanent that's removed from combat can't assign
    combat damage or have combat damage assigned to it.  However, if combat
    damage assigned to or by that permanent is already on the stack, it will
    resolve normally.  See Rule 306.4 and Rule 310.4a.
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
 
G18.12 - Replacement Effect  G18.11a - A card removed from the game is put into the removed-from-game
    zone.  The effect that removed the card may specify a way for it to
    return.  Some objects use the expression "set aside" for situations in
    which a card removed from the game can return to another zone.
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 217.7, "Removed from the Game."
 
G18.13 - Replicate  G18.12a - A replacement effect is a kind of continuous effect that "watches"
    for a specified event and replaces it with a different one.
    [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 419, "Replacement and Prevention Effects."
 
G18.14 - Requirement  G18.13a - Replicate is a keyword that represents two abilities.  The first is
    a static ability that functions while the spell is on the stack.  The
    second is a triggered ability that functions while the spell is on the
    stack.  "Replicate [cost]" means "As an additional cost to play this
    spell, you may pay [cost] any number of times" and "When you play this
    spell, if a replicate cost was paid for it, copy it for each time its
    replicate cost was paid.  If the spell has any targets, you may choose new
    targets for any number of the copies."
  Note - Also see Rule 502.52, "Replicate."
 
G18.15 - Resolve  G18.14a - A requirement to attack or block is any effect that forces one or
    more creatures to attack or block.  All attacks and blocks must still be
    legal.  See Rule 500, "Legal Attacks and Blocks." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
G18.16 - Respond, Response (Informal)  G18.15a - When a spell or ability on top of the stack resolves, its
    controller carries out the instructions printed on the card, in the order
    written.  When combat damage resolves, it's dealt as previously assigned
    to the fullest extent possible.  See Rule 413, "Resolving Spells and
    Abilities." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
G18.17 - Restriction  G18.16a - A player can choose to play an instant spell or activated ability
    when something else is already on the stack, rather than waiting for the
    earlier spell or ability to resolve first.  The spell or ability is said
    to be played "in response to" the earlier spell or ability.  See Rule 408,
    "Timing of Spells and Abilities." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
G18.18 - Reveal  G18.17a - A restriction on attacking or blocking is any effect that could
    prevent a creature from attacking or blocking.  All attacks and blocks
    must still be legal.  See Rule 500, "Legal Attacks and Blocks."
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
G18.19 - Ripple  G18.18a - To reveal an object is to show that object to all players.  If a
    one-shot effect reveals a card, the card is returned to its former state
    after all players have seen it.  If the cost to play a spell or ability
    includes revealing a card, the card remains revealed from the time the
    spell or ability is announced until it leaves the stack.
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
 
G18.20 - Rules Text  G18.19a - Ripple is a triggered ability that functions only while the card
    with ripple is on the stack.  "Ripple N" means "When you play this spell,
    you may reveal the top N cards of your library, or, if there are fewer
    than N cards in your library, you may reveal all the cards in your
    library.  If you reveal cards from your library this way, you may play any
    of those cards with the same name as this spell without paying their mana
    costs, then put all revealed cards not played this way on the bottom of
    your library in any order." [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.56, "Ripple."
 
  G18.20a - An object's rules text defines many of that object's properties.
    Changing an object's rules text changes the object's properties.
    [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |