SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

G18.1 - Rampage
  • G18.1a - Rampage is a triggered ability. "Rampage X" means "When this creature becomes blocked, it gets +X/+X until end of turn for each creature blocking it beyond the first." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 502.12, "Rampage."
G18.2 - Random
  • G18.2a - If a spell, ability, or effect requires a player to choose something at random, that player can use any method of making a random choice (rolling dice, flipping a coin, and so on). The outcome must be truly random. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G18.3 - Redirect (Obsolete)
  • G18.3a - Some older cards were printed with the term "redirect" to describe the act of dealing damage to a different player or creature than originally specified by a spell, ability, or combat-damage assignment, without changing the source or type of damage. In general, cards that were printed with the term "redirect" now create replacement effects that modify where the damage will be dealt. "Redirect" is still used informally to describe what these replacement effects do. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G18.4 - Regenerate
  • G18.4a - Regeneration is a destruction-replacement effect. "Regenerate [permanent]" means "The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage from it, tap it, and (if it's in combat) remove it from combat." Because it's a replacement effect, it must be active before the attempted destruction event. Abilities that trigger from damage being dealt still trigger even if the permanent regenerates. See Rule 419.6b. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G18.5 - Reminder Text
  • G18.5a - Reminder text appears after a keyword ability printed on a card and on cards that might otherwise be commonly misunderstood. Reminder text is text that is italicized and in parentheses in the text box of a card. This text provides a summary of the game rule or clarifies what the card does, but it isn't itself considered rules text. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 207.2.
G18.6 - Removed from Combat
  • G18.6a - An attacking or blocking creature is removed from combat if it leaves play (such as by being destroyed or removed from the game), if it regenerates (see Rule 419.6b), if its controller changes, if it stops being a creature, or if an effect removes it from combat. A creature that is removed from combat stops being an attacking or blocking creature and can no longer assign combat damage or have combat damage assigned to it. Any combat damage that's already on the stack assigned to or by the creature will still resolve normally. See Rule 306.2 and Rule 310.4a. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G18.7 - Removed from the Game
  • G18.7a - A card removed from the game is out of play and can't be affected by spells or abilities. However, the effect that removed the card may specify a way for it to return. Some objects use the expression "set aside" for situations in which a card removed from the game can return to play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 217.7, "Removed from the Game."
G18.8 - Replacement Effect
  • G18.8a - A replacement effect is a type of continuous effect that "watches" for a specified event and replaces it with a different one. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 419, "Replacement and Prevention Effects."
G18.9 - Requirement
  • G18.9a - A requirement to attack or block is any effect that forces one or more creatures to attack or block. All attacks and blocks must still be legal. See Rule 500, "Legal Attacks and Blocks." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G18.10 - Resolve
  • G18.10a - When a spell or ability on top of the stack resolves, its controller carries out the instructions printed on the card, in the order written. When combat damage resolves, it's dealt as previously assigned to the fullest extent possible. See Rule 413, "Resolving Spells and Abilities." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G18.11 - Respond, Response (Informal)
  • G18.11a - A player can choose to play an instant spell or activated ability when something else is already on the stack, rather than waiting for the earlier spell or ability to resolve first. The spell or ability is said to be played "in response to" the earlier spell or ability. See Rule 408, "Timing of Spells and Abilities." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G18.12 - Restriction
  • G18.12a - A restriction on attacking or blocking is any effect that could prevent a creature from attacking or blocking. All attacks and blocks must still be legal. See Rule 500, "Legal Attacks and Blocks." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G18.13 - Reveal
  • G18.13a - To reveal an object is to show that object to all players. If a one-shot effect reveals a card, the card is returned to its former state after all players have seen it. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G18.14 - Rules Text
  • G18.14a - An object's rules text defines many of that object's properties. Changing an object's rules text changes the object's properties. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004