| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
G6.1 - Face Down 
G6.2 - Fading  G6.1a - Face-down spells on the stack, face-down permanents in play, and
    face-down cards in the phased-out zone have no characteristics other than
    those listed by the ability or rules that allowed the card, spell, or
    permanent to be turned face down.  Any listed characteristics are the
    copiable values of that object's characteristics. [CompRules 2006/05/01]
  G6.1b - At any time, you may look at a face-down spell you control on the
    stack, a face-down permanent you control, or a face-down card in the
    phased-out zone you controlled when it phased out.  You can't look at
    face-down cards in any other zone (including cards "removed from tha game
    face down"), face-down spells or permanents controlled by another player,
    or face-down cards in the phased-out zone last controlled by another
    player.  [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  G6.1c - The ability or rules that allow a permanent to be turned face down
    may also allow the permanent's controller to turn it face up.  Spells
    normally can't be turned face up. [CompRules 2006/05/01]
  G6.1d - If you control multiple face-down spells on the stack or face-down
    permanents in play, you must ensure at all times that your face-down
    spells and permanents can be easily differentiated from each other. 
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 504, "Face-Down Spells and Permanents," and 
    Rule 502.26, "Morph." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
G6.3 - Fateseal  G6.2a - Fading is a keyword ability that represents two abilities.
    "Fading N" means "This permanent comes into play with N fade counters on
    it" and "At the beginning of your upkeep, remove a fade counter from this
    permanent.  If you can't, sacrifice the permanent."
    [CompRules 2005/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.20, "Fading."
 
G6.4 - Fear  G6.3a - To "fateseal N" means to look at the top N cards of an opponent's
    library, put any number of them on the bottom of that library in any
    order, and put the rest on top of that library in any order.
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 501.9, "Fateseal."
 
G6.5 - First Strike  G6.4a - Fear is an evasion ability.  A creature with fear can't be blocked
    except by artifact creatures and/or black creatures. 
    [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.25, "Fear."
 
G6.6 - Fizzle (Informal)  G6.5a - First strike is a static ability that modifies the rules for the
    combat damage step.  At the start of the combat damage step, if at least
    one attacking or blocking creature has first strike or double strike (see
    Rule 502.28), creatures without first strike or double strike don't assign
    combat damage.  Instead of proceeding to end of combat, the phase gets a
    second combat damage step to handle the remaining creatures.  See
    Rule 502.2, "First Strike." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
G6.7 - Flanking  G6.6a - The term "fizzle" is an informal term, used for when a spell or
    ability was countered as a result of all its targets being missing or
    illegal when it resolved.  See Rule 413.2a. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
 
G6.8 - Flash  G6.7a - Flanking is a triggered ability that triggers during the declare
    blockers step of the combat phase.  "Flanking" means "Whenever this
    creature becomes blocked by a creature without flanking, the blocking
    creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn." [CompRules 2005/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.3, "Flanking."
 
G6.9 - Flashback  G6.8a - Flash is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you
    could play the card it's on.  "Flash" means "You may play this card any
    time you could play an instant." [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.57, "Flash."
 
G6.10 - Flavor Text  G6.9a - Flashback appears on some instants and sorceries.  It represents two
    static abilities: one functions while the card is in a player's graveyard
    and the other functions while the card is on the
    stack.  "Flashback [cost]" means "You may play this card from your
    graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost" and  "If the
    flashback cost was paid, remove this card from the game instead of putting
    it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack."  Playing a spell
    using its flashback ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs
    in Rule 409.1b and Rule 409.1f through Rule 409.1h. 
    [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.22, "Flashback."
 
G6.11 - Flip a Coin  G6.10a - This is text in italics (but not in parentheses) in the text box of
    a card.  It provides a mood or gives interesting background detail for the
    game world but has no effect on play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 207.2.
 
G6.12 - Flip Cards  G6.11a - To flip a coin for an object that cares whether a player wins or
    loses the flip, the affected player flips the coin and calls "heads"
    or "tails." If the call matches the result, that player wins the flip. 
    Otherwise, the player loses the flip.  Only the player who flips the coin
    wins or loses the flip; no other players are involved.
    [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  G6.11b - To flip a coin for an object that cares whether the coin comes up
    heads or tails, each affected player flips a coin without making a call.
    No player wins or loses this kind of flip. [CompRules 2006/07/15]
  G6.11c - If the coin that's being flipped doesn't have an obvious "heads"
    or "tails," designate one side to be "heads," and the other side to
    be "tails."  Other methods of randomization may be substituted for
    flipping a coin as long as there are two possible outcomes of equal
    likelihood and all players agree to the substitution. 
    [CompRules 2006/07/15]
  Note - Also see Flipping a Coin, Rule 511.
 
G6.13 - Floor Rules  G6.12a - Flip cards have a two-part card frame on a single card.  The text
    that appears right side up on the card defines the card's normal
    characteristics.  Additional alternative characteristics appear upside
    down on the card.  The back of a flip card is the normal
    Magic: The Gathering card back. [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  G6.12b - The top half of a flip card contains the card's normal name, text
    box, type line, power, and toughness.  The text box usually contains an
    ability that causes the permanent to "flip" if certain conditions are met.
    The bottom half of a flip card contains an alternative name, text box,
    type line, power, and toughness.  These characteristics are used only if
    the permanent is in play and only if the permanent is flipped.
    [CompRules 2006/05/01]
  G6.12c - A flip card's color, mana cost, expansion symbol, illustration
    credit, and legal text don't change if the permanent is flipped.  Also,
    any changes to it by external effects will still apply.
    [CompRules 2006/05/01]
  G6.12d - In every zone other than the in-play zone, and also in the in-play
    zone before the permanent flips, a flip card has only the normal
    characteristics of the permanent.  Once the flip permanent in the in-play
    zone is flipped, the normal name, text box, type line, power, and
    toughness of the flip permanent don't apply and the alternative versions
    of those characteristics apply instead. [CompRules 2006/05/01]
  G6.12e - If you control a flip permanent, you must ensure that it's clear at
    all times whether the permanent is flipped or not, both when it's
    untapped and when it's tapped.  Common methods for distinguishing between
    flipped and unflipped permanents include using coins or dice to mark
    flipped objects. [CompRules 2006/05/01]
  G6.12f - Flipping a permanent is a one-way process.  Once a permanent is
    flipped, it's impossible to flip the permanent back again.  However, if
    flipped permanent leaves play, it forgets its previous existence.
    [CompRules 2006/05/01]
  G6.12g - If an effect tells you to name a card, you may name a flip card's
    alternative name. [CompRules 2008/02/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 508, "Flip Cards."
 
G6.14- Flying  G6.13a - The current DCI Magic: The Gathering Floor Rules can be found at
    "http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/doccenter/home".
    [CompRules 2005/10/01]
 
G6.15 - Forest  G6.13a - Flying is an evasion ability.  A creature with flying can't be
    blocked by creatures without flying and/or reach.  A creature with flying
    can block a creature with or without flying. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.4, "Flying."
  Note - Also see Rule 502.70, "Reach."
 
G6.16 - Forestcycling
G6.17 - Forestwalk
G6.18 - Fortification  G6.15a - "Forest" is one of the five basic land types.  Any land with the
    land type Forest has the ability "{Tap}: Add {G} to your mana pool."  See
    Rule 212.6h. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
 
G6.19 - Fortify  G6.18a - Some artifacts have the subtype "Fortification."  These artifacts
    can be attached to (can "fortify") lands.  They can't fortify objects that
    aren't lands.  A Fortification is played and comes into play just like any
    other artifact.  Fortification doesn't come into play fortifying a land.
    The fortify keyword ability moves the Fortification onto a land you
    control.  (See Rule 502.65, "Fortify.")  The land a Fortification is
    attached to is called "fortified."  The Fortification is attached to,
    or "fortifies," that land. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  G6.18b - A Fortification that's also a creature or a Fortification that loses
    the subtype "Fortification" can't fortify a land.  A Fortification can't
    fortify itself.  A Fortification that fortifies an illegal or nonexistent
    permanent becomes unattached from that permanent, but remains in
    play. (This is a state-based effect.  See Rule 420.)
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.65, "Fortify."
 
G6.20 - Free-for-All  G6.19a - Fortify is an activated ability.  "Fortify [cost]" means "[Cost]:
    Attach this Fortification to target land you control.  Play this ability
    only any time you could play a sorcery." 
  Note - Also see Rule 212.2, "Artifacts."
  Note - Also see Rule 502.65, "Fortify."
 
G6.21 - Frenzy  G6.20a - Free-for-All is a multiplayer variant in which a group of players
    complete as individuals against each other. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 605, "Free-for-All Variant."
 
  G6.21a - Frenzy is a triggered ability.  "Frenzy N" means "Whenever this
    creature attacks and isn't blocked, it gets +N/+0 until end of turn."
    [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.66, "Frenzy."
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |