This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.
G9.1 - If
- G9.1a - See "Intervening 'If' Clause." [CompRules 2003/12/01]
G9.2 - Illegal Action
- G9.2a - If a player realizes that he or she can't legally take an action
after starting to do so, the entire action is reversed and any payments
already made are canceled. No abilities trigger and no effects apply as a
result of an undone action. When reversing illegal spells and abilities,
the player who had priority retains it and may take another action or
pass. The player may redo the reversed action in a legal way or take any
other action allowed by the rules. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 422, "Handling Illegal Actions."
G9.3 - Illegal Target
- G9.3a - If a spell or ability specifies targets, it checks whether the
targets are legal when it resolves. A target that's removed from play, or
from the zone designated by the spell or ability, is illegal. A target
may also become illegal if its characteristics changed since the spell or
ability was played or if an effect changed the text of the spell. See
Rule 413.2a. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G9.4 - Illustration
- G9.4a - The illustration is printed on the upper half of a card and has no
game significance. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 204, "Illustration."
G9.5 - Imprint
- G9.5a - Imprint is a static ability, written "Imprint - [text]." The
phrase "Imprint - [ability]" means "Cards in the removed-from-game zone
that were removed from the game by this ability are imprinted on this
permanent." [CompRules 2003/10/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 502.34, "Imprint."
G9.6 - Imprinted [type] card
- G9.6a - The phrase "imprinted [type] card" means the card of that type
that's imprinted on the permanent. If a permanent has more than one card
of that type imprinted on it, each of those cards is an "imprinted [type]
card." [CompRules 2003/10/01]
- G9.6b - Also see Rule 502.34, "Imprint."
G9.7 - Illustration Credit
- G9.7a - The illustration credit for a card is printed directly below the
text box. The credit has no effect on game play.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 209, "Illustration Credit."
G9.8 - In Play
- G9.8a - In play is the zone in which permanents exist. When an artifact,
creature, or enchantment spell resolves, it's put into the in-play zone as
a permanent. When a land is played, it's put into the in-play zone as a
permanent. Tokens also exist in this zone. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 217, "Zones."
G9.9 - Independent
- G9.9a - An effect is said to "depend on" another if it is applied at the
same time as the other effect, and applying the other would change the
text or the existence of the first effect, what it applies to, or what it
does to any of the things it applies to. Otherwise, the effect is
considered to be independent of the first effect. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 418.5, "Interaction of Continuous Effects."
G9.10 - Infinity Rule (Informal)
- G9.10 - There's no such thing as "infinity" in Magic rules. Occasionally
the game can get into a state where a set of actions could be repeated
forever. The "infinity rule" governs how to break such loops. See
Rule 421, "Handling 'Infinite' Loops." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G9.11 - Instant
- G9.11a - Instant is a type. A player may play instants whenever he or she
has priority. An instant spell is put into its owner's graveyard as the
last step of its resolution. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 212.5, "Instants," and Rule 409, "Playing Spells and
Activated Abilities."
G9.12 - Instead
- G9.12a - Effects that use the word "instead" are replacement effects. Most
replacement effects use the word "instead" to indicate what events will be
replaced with other events. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 419, "Replacement and Prevention Effects."
G9.13 - Interrupt (Obsolete)
- G9.13a - Some older cards used the term "interrupt" on the card's type
line. All interrupt cards are now instant cards. All abilities that were
played as interrupts are now played like normal activated abilities (and
are mana abilities if they produce mana). [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G9.14 - Intervening "If" Clause
- G9.14a - Triggered abilities with a condition directly following the
trigger event (for example, "When/Whenever/At [trigger],
if [condition], [effect]") check for the condition to be true as part of
the trigger event; if it isn't, the ability doesn't trigger. The ability
checks the condition again on resolution. If it's not satisfied, the
ability does nothing. Note that this mirrors the check for legal targets.
Note that this rule doesn't apply to any triggered ability with an "if"
condition elsewhere within its text. See Rule 404.3.
[CompRules 2003/12/01]
G9.15 - Island
- G9.15a - "Island" is one of the five basic land types. Any land with the
land type Island has the ability "{Tap}: Add {U} to your mana pool." See
Rule 212.6d. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G9.16 - Islandcycling
G9.17 - Islandhome (Obsolete)
- G9.17a - Some older cards were printed with the term islandhome, which
means "This creature can't attack unless the defending player controls an
Island" and "When you control no Islands, sacrifice this creature." Cards
that previously had islandhome now simply have the two parts of islandhome
written out without using the keyword. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G9.18 - Islandwalk
- G9.18a - See Landwalk.
This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.
|
|