| 
        
          | 
  
  | This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings. 
G5.1 - Echo 
G5.2 - Effect  G5.1a - Echo is a triggered ability.  "Echo [cost]" means "At the beginning
    of your upkeep, if this permanent came under your control since the
    beginning of your last upkeep, sacrifice it unless you pay its echo
    cost."  Urza block cards with the echo ability were printed without an
    echo cost; these cards have been given errata to have an echo cost equal
    to their mana cost. [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  Note-  Also see Rule 502.19, "Echo."
 
G5.3 - Emperor  G5.2a - "Ability" and "effect" are often confused with one another.  When a
    spell or ability resolves, it may create one or more one-shot or
    continuous effects.  Static abilities may create one or more continuous
    effects.  Some effects are replacement effects or prevention effects. 
    State-based effects are not created by spells or abilities; they are
    generated by specific states of the game.  [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 416, "Effects."
 
G5.4 - Enchant  G5.3a - Emperor is a multiplayer variant with its own rules.  The Emperor
    variant involves two or more teams of three players each.  Each team sits
    together on one side of the table.  Each team has one emperor, who sits in
    the middle of the team.  The remaining players on the team are generals
    whose job is to protect the emperor.  In addition to the normal rules for
    winning and losing, a team loses if its emperor loses the game. 
    [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  G5.3b - The Emperor variant uses the following default multiplayer
    options: (a) The range of influence is limited to 2 for emperors and 1 for
    generals (see Rule 601), (b) Emperor games use the deploy creatures
    option (see Rule 603), and (c) A player can attack only an opponent seated
    immediately next to him or her. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 607, "Emperor Variant."
 
G5.5 - Enchant Player  G5.4a - Enchant is a static ability, written "Enchant [object or player]."
    The enchant ability restricts what an Aura spell can target and what an
    Aura can enchant. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.45, "Enchant."
  Note - Also see Rule 212.4, "Enchantment."
 
G5.6 - Enchantment  G5.5a - Auras with the "enchant opponent" or "enchant player" ability can
    target and be attached to players.  Such Auras can't target permanents and
    can't be attached to objects. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  Note - Also see Rule G1.30, "Aura."
  Note - Also see Rule G5.4, "Enchant."
 
G5.7 - Enchantment Type  G5.6a - Enchantment is a card type.  The active player can play enchantments
    during his or her main phase when the stack is empty.  See 
    Rule 212.4, "Enchantments."  See also Global Enchantment, 
    Local Enchantment. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule G1.30, "Aura."
 
G5.8 - End of Combat Step  G5.7a - Enchantment subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a
    long dash: "Enchantment - Shrine."  Enchantment subtypes are also called
    enchantment types. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  G5.7b - The list of enchantment types, updated through the Morningtide set,
    is as follows: Aura, Shrine. [CompRules 2008/02/01]
 
G5.9 - Ending the Turn  G5.8a - The end of combat step is the fifth step of the combat phase.  A
    player may play spells and abilities during this step whenever he or she
    has priority. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 311, "End of Combat Step."
 
G5.10 - End of Turn Step  G5.9a - One card (Time Stop) ends the turn when its resolves.  When an
    effect ends the turn, follow these steps in order: Remove every object on
    the stack from the game.  Remove all attacking and blocking creatures, if
    any, from combat.  Remove all planeswalkers from combat.  Check
    state-based effects.  The current step and/or phase ends.  The game skips
    straight to the cleanup step. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 509, "Ending the Turn."
 
G5.11 - End Phase  G5.10a - This is the first step of the end phase.  A player may play spells
    and abilities during this step whenever he or she has priority.  See
    Rule 313, "End of Turn Step." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
G5.12 - Entwine  G5.11a - The end phase is the fifth and final phase of the turn.  It has
    two steps: end of turn and cleanup. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 312, "End Phase."
 
G5.13 - Epic  G5.12a - Entwine is a static ability that functions while the spell is on
    the stack.  "Entwine [cost]" means "You may choose to use all modes of
    this spell instead of just one.  If you do, you pay an additional [cost]."
    When the spell resolves, if the entwine cost was paid, follow the text of
    each of the modes in the order they're written on the card.
    [CompRules 2004/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.32, "Entwine."
 
G5.14 - Equip  G5.13a - Epic represents both a static ability and a delayed triggered
    ability.  "Epic" means, "For the rest of the game, you can't play spells,"
    and "At the beginning of each of your upkeeps, copy this spell except for
    its epic ability.  If the spell has any targets, you may choose new
    targets for the copy." [CompRules 2005/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.44, "Epic."
 
G5.15 - Equipment  G5.14a - Equip is an activated ability.  "Equip [cost]" means 
    "[Cost]: Attach this Equipment to target creature you control.  Play this
    ability only any time you could play a sorcery." [CompRules 2005/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 212.2, "Artifacts."
  Note - Also see Rule 502.33, "Equip."
 
G5.16 - Evasion Ability  G5.15a - Some artifacts have the subtype "Equipment."  These artifacts can
    be attached to (can "equip") creatures.  They can't equip objects that
    aren't creatures.  An Equipment is played and comes into play just like
    any other artifact.  Equipment doesn't come into play equipping a
    creature.  The equip keyword ability moves the Equipment onto a creature
    you control.  (See Rule 502.33, "Equip.")  The creature an Equipment is
    attached to is called "equipped."  The Equipment is attached to, 
    or "equips," that creature. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  G5.15b - An Equipment that's also a creature or an Equipment that loses the
    subtype "Equipment" can't equip a creature.  An Equipment can't equip
    itself.  An Equipment that equips an illegal or nonexistent permanent
    becomes unattached from that permanent, but remains in play.  (This is a
    state-based effect.")  See Rule 420. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 212.2g through Rule 212.2k for additional rules on
    Equipment.
 
G5.17 - Event  G5.16a - Evasion abilities restrict what creatures can block an attacking
    creature.  These are static abilities that modify the declare blockers
    step of the combat phase. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 500.3a.
 
G5.18 - Evoke  G5.17a - Anything that happens in a game is an event.  Multiple events may
    take place during the resolution of a spell or ability.  The text of
    triggered abilities and replacement effects defines the event they're
    looking for.  One "happening" may be treated as a single event by one
    ability and as multiple events by another.
    Example: If an attacking creature is blocked by two defending creatures,
    this is one event for a triggered ability that reads "Whenever [name]
    becomes blocked" but two events for a triggered ability that reads 
    "Whenever [name] becomes blocked by a creature." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
G5.19 - Exchange  G5.18a - Evoke is a keyword ability that represents two abilities: a static
    ability that functions in any zone from which the card can be played and a
    triggered ability that functions in play.  "Evoke [cost]" means "You may
    play this card by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost"
    and "When this permanent comes into play, if its evoke cost was paid, its
    controller sacrifices it."  Paying a card's evoke cost follows the rules
    for paying alternative costs in Rule 409.1b and Rule 409.1f through
    Rule 409.1h. [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 502.74, "Evoke."
 
G5.20 - Expansion Symbol  G5.19a - A spell or ability may instruct two players to exchange 
    something (for example, life totals or control of two permanents) as part
    of its resolution.  When such a spell or ability resolves, if it can't
    exchange the chosen things, it has no effect on them.
    Example: If a spell attempts to exchange control of two target creatures
    but one of those creatures is destroyed before the spell resolves, the
    spell does nothing to the other creature.  Or if a spell attempts to
    exchange control of two target creatures but both of those creatures are
    controlled by the same player, the spell does nothing to the two 
    creatures. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  G5.19b - When control of two permanents is exchanged, each player
    simultaneously gains control of the permanent that was controlled by the
    other player. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  G5.19c - When life totals are exchanged, each player gains or loses the
    amount of life necessary to equal the other player's previous life total.
    Replacement effects may modify these gains and losses, and triggered
    abilities may trigger on them. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  G5.19d - Some spells or abilities may instruct a player to exchange cards
    in one zone with cards in a different zone (for example, cards removed
    from the game and cards in a player's hand).  These spells and abilities
    work the same as other "exchange" spells and abilities, except they can
    exchange the cards only if all the cards are owned by the same player. 
    [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  G5.19e - If a card in one zone is exchanged with a card in a different zone,
    and either of them is attached to an object, that card stops being
    attached to that object and the other card becomes attached to that
    object. [CompRules 2007/05/01]
  G5.19f - If a spell or ability instructs a player to simply exchange two
    zones, and one of the zones is empty, the cards in the zones are still
    exchanged. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
 
G5.21 - Extra Turn  G5.20a - The small icon normally printed below the right edge of the
    illustration on a Magic card is the expansion symbol.  It indicates the
    set in which the card was published.  Cards reprinted in a core set or
    another expansion receive its expansion symbol.  Spells and abilities that
    affect cards from a particular expansion only affect cards with that set's
    expansion symbol.  The first five editions of the core set had no
    expansion symbol.  See Rule 206, "Expansion Symbol.  Visit the products
    section of www.magicthegathering.com for the full list of expansions and
    expansion symbols (www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=magic/products/cardsets).
    [CompRules 2006/10/01]
  G5.20b - Players may include cards from any printing in their constructed
    decks if those cards appear in sets allowed in that format (or allowed by
    the Magic Floor Rules).  See the Magic Floor Rules for the current
    definitions of the constructed formats (
    www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/doccenter/home). [CompRules 2005/10/01]
 
  G5.21a - Some spells and abilities can give a player extra turns.  They do
    this by adding the turns directly after the current turn.  If a player
    gets multiple extra turns or if multiple players get extra turns during a
    single turn, the extra turns are added one at a time.  The most recently
    created turn will be taken first. [CompRules 2005/08/01]
  G5.21b - The Grand Melee multiplayer variant has special rules to handle
    what happens when extra turns are created.  See Rule 608, "Grand Melee
    Variant." [CompRules 2007/10/01]
  Note - Also see Rule 300.6.
    
    
    This search based on the March 17, 2008 release of the Rulings.
     |  |  |  |