This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.
G13.1 - Madness
- G13.1a - Madness is a keyword that represents two abilities. The phrase
"Madness [cost]" means "If a player would discard this card from his or
her hand, that player discards it, but may remove it from the game instead
of putting it into his or her graveyard" and "When this card is removed
from the game this way, until that player passes next, the player may play
it any time he or she could play an instant as though it were in his or
her hand by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost. When the
player passes next, he or she puts it into his or her graveyard."
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 502.24, "Madness."
G13.2 - Main Game
- G13.2a - One card (Shahrazad) allows players to play a Magic subgame.
The "main game" is the game in which Shahrazad was played.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 506, "Subgames."
G13.3 - Main Phase
- G13.3a - The term "main phase" comprises the first main and second main
phases, also called the "precombat" and "postcombat" main phases.
Artifact, creature, enchantment, and sorcery spells may be played only by
the active player during his or her main phase, and only when the stack is
empty. A player may also play one land each turn during his or her main
phase. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G13.4 - Mana
- G13.4a - Mana is the energy used to play spells and is usually produced by
lands. Mana is created by mana abilities (and sometimes by spells), and
it can be used to pay costs immediately or can stay in the player's mana
pool. See Rule 406, "Mana Abilities." [CompRules 2003/12/01]
- G13.4b - Colored mana costs, represented by colored mana symbols, can be
paid only with the appropriate color of mana. Generic mana costs can be
paid with any color of, or with colorless, mana. See Rule 104.3.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- G13.4c - The spell or ability that adds mana to a mana pool may restrict how
it can be used. An ability might produce mana that can be used only to
play creature spells or only to pay activation costs.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- G13.4d - The type of mana a permanent "could produce" is the type of mana
that any ability of that permanent can generate, taking into account any
applicable replacement effects. If the type of mana can't be defined,
there's no type of mana that that permanent could produce. The "type" of
mana includes both its color (if any) and any restrictions placed upon
it. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G13.5 - Mana Ability
- G13.5a - A mana ability is either activated or triggered. A mana ability
doesn't go on the stack--it resolves immediately. See Rule 411, "Playing
Mana Abilities." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- G13.5b - A player may play an activated mana ability whenever he or she has
priority and whenever a rule or effect asks for a mana payment. This is
the only type of ability that can be played in the middle of playing or
resolving a spell or ability. See Rule 406, "Mana Abilities."
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
G13.6 - Mana Burn
- G13.6a - When a phase ends, any unused mana remaining in a player's mana
pool is lost. The player loses 1 life for each mana lost this way. This
is called "mana burn." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 300.3.
G13.7 - Mana Cost
- G13.7a - The mana cost of a nonland card is indicated by the mana symbols
printed on its upper right corner. The mana cost of a land card, token,
or face-down creature is 0. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 203, "Mana Cost and Color."
G13.8 - Mana Pool
- G13.8a - When an effect creates mana, that mana goes into the player's mana
pool. From there, it can be used to pay for spells and abilities. The
mana can be used immediately to pay a cost, or stored in the mana pool for
use later in the phase. The mana pool is cleared at the end of each
phase. See also Mana Burn. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
G13.9 - Mana Source (Obsolete)
- G13.9a - Some older cards were printed with the type "mana source." All
mana source cards are now instant cards. Abilities that read "Play this
ability as a mana source" are now mana abilities. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G13.10 - Mana Symbol
- G13.10a - The mana symbols are {W}, {U}, {B}, {R}, {G}, {X}, {Y}, {Z} and
the numerals {0}, {1}, {2}, {3}, {4}, and so on. See Rule 104.3.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- G13.10b - Each of the colored mana symbols represents one colored mana: {W}
white, {U} blue, {B} black, {R} red, and {G} green. See Rule 104.3a.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- G13.10c - Numeral symbols (such as {1}) are generic mana costs and represent
an amount of mana that can be paid with any color of, or colorless, mana.
See Rule 104.3b. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- G13.10d - The symbols {X}, {Y} and {Z} represent unspecified amounts of
mana; when playing a spell or activated ability with {X}, {Y}, or {Z} in
its cost, its controller decides the value of that variable. See
Rule 104.3c. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- G13.10e - Numeral symbols and variable symbols can also represent colorless
mana if they appear in the effect of a spell or of a mana ability that
reads "add [mana symbol] to your mana pool" or something similar. See
Rule 104.3d. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- G13.10f - The symbol {0} represents zero mana and is used as a placeholder
when a spell or activated ability costs nothing to play. A spell or
ability whose cost is {0} must still be played the same way as one with a
cost greater than zero; it won't play itself automatically. See
Rule 104.3e. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G13.11 - Match
- G13.11a - A match is a series of Magic games and is important only for
tournament or league play. A match usually consists of the best two of
three games, or sometimes the best three of five. For more information,
consult the DCI Magic Floor Rules (
"http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/utr/intro").
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
G13.12 - Maximum Hand Size
- G13.12a - Each player's maximum hand size is normally seven cards, though
effects may modify this. As the first part of the active player's cleanup
step, if he or she has too many cards in his or her hand, that player
chooses and discards as many cards as needed to reduce his or her hand to
its maximum size (but no more than that). [CompRules 2003/07/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 314, "Cleanup Step."
G13.13 - Modal, Mode
- G13.13a - A spell or ability is modal if it is written "Choose one -"
or "[a specified player] chooses one -." Modal spells and abilities offer
a choice of effects. A modal spell or ability's controller must choose
the mode as part of playing the spell or ability or as part of putting the
ability on the stack (in the case of triggered abilities). See
Rule 409.1b. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G13.14 - Mono Artifact (Obsolete)
- G13.14a - Some older cards used the term "mono artifact" on the card's
type line. They were artifacts that had activated abilities that included
the tap symbol. Cards that were printed with the term "mono artifact" now
simply use "artifact." [CompRules 2003/12/01]
G13.15 - Morph
- G13.15a - Morph is a static ability that functions any time you could play
the card it's on, and the morph effect works any time the card is face
down. The phrase "Morph [cost]" means "You may play this card as a 2/2
face-down creature, with no text, no name, no subtypes, no expansion
symbol, and a mana cost of 0 by paying 3 rather than its mana cost." Any
time you could play an instant, you may show all players the morph cost
for any face-down permanent you control, pay that cost, then turn the
permanent face up. This action does not use the stack.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- Note - Also see Rule 502.26, "Morph."
G13.16 - Mountain
- G13.16a - "Mountain" is one of the five basic land types. Any land with the
land type Mountain has the ability "{Tap}: Add {R} to your mana pool."
See Rule 212.6d. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G13.17 - Mountaincycling
G13.18 - Mountainwalk
G13.19 - Move
- G13.19a - An effect may instruct a player to "move" a local enchantment,
Equipment, or a counter from one permanent to another. If the
enchantment, Equipment, or counter no longer exists or the new permanent
is no longer in play when the effect would move it, nothing happens.
Similarly, an enchantment or Equipment can't be moved onto a permanent it
couldn't enchant or equip; if this kind of move is attempted, the
enchantment or Equipment stays where it is. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
- G13.19b - A moved enchantment stops enchanting the previous permanent and
starts enchanting the new one, and it receives a new timestamp. Nothing
else about the enchantment changes. The enchantment never left play, so
no comes-into-play or leaves-play triggered abilities will trigger. If an
ability of the moved enchantment affecting "enchanted [permanent]" was on
the stack when the enchantment moved, it will affect the new enchanted
permanent when it resolves, not the old one. The same is true for moved
Equipment. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
- G13.19c - The equip ability can move Equipment onto a creature from one
creature to another. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
G13.20 - Mulligan
- G13.20a - A player can "mulligan" by shuffling his or her hand back into his
or her library and drawing a new hand with one fewer card before taking
the first turn. Any player dissatisfied with his or her starting hand may
mulligan as often as he or she wishes, drawing one fewer card each time.
See Rule 101.4. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G13.21 - Multicolored
- G13.21a - A multicolored card has two or more colors. Multicolored cards
are printed with gold frames to reinforce this. See Rule 203.2.
[CompRules 2003/07/01]
- G13.21b - A multicolored object is affected by anything that singles out any
of its colors. For example, a black-and-green creature is destroyed by a
spell that reads, "Destroy all green creatures." Something that can't
affect a particular color doesn't affect a multicolored object with that
color, so that same creature can't be targeted by a spell or ability that
reads, "Destroy target nonblack creature." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.
|
|