SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

G20.1 - Tap
  • G20.1a - To tap a permanent is to turn it sideways. The tap symbol ({Tap} in these rules) in an activation cost means "Tap this permanent"--a permanent that's already tapped can't be tapped again to pay the cost. Creatures that haven't been under a player's control continuously since the beginning of his or her most recent turn can't use any ability of theirs with the tap symbol in the cost. See Rule 104.4. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G20.2 - Tapped
  • G20.2a - A permanent that's turned sideways is tapped. Tapping permanents shows that they've been used. Permanents untap during their controllers' untap steps. See also Tap, Untap, and Untapped. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G20.3 - Target
  • G20.3a - Whenever the phrase "target [something]," where [something] is a phrase that describes an object or player, appears in a spell or ability, the controller of the spell or ability chooses something that matches whatever follows that word. The choice of a spell or ability's targets is made when the spell or ability is played. See Rule 415, "Targeted Spells and Abilities." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G20.3b - An instant or sorcery is targeted if the text that will be followed when it resolves uses the phrase "target [something]," where the "something" is a phrase that describes an object or player. (If an activated or triggered ability of an instant or sorcery uses the word target, that ability is targeted, but the spell is not.) [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G20.3c - An activated or triggered ability is targeted if it uses the phrase "target [something]," where the "something" is a phrase that describes an object or player. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G20.3d - Local-enchantment spells are always targeted, even though they don't use the phrase "target [something]." They target the permanent or player they will enchant. (See Rule 415.3.) A local-enchantment permanent doesn't target anything. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • G20.3e - Neither Equipment spells nor Equipment permanents are targeted. (See Rule 415.3.) An Equipment may have abilities which are targeted. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • G20.3f - A spell or ability on the stack can't target itself. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G20.4 - Text Box
  • G20.4a - The text box is printed below the illustration on a Magic card and contains rules text that defines the card's abilities, reminder text, and flavor text. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 207, "Text Box."
G20.5 - Text-Changing Effect
  • G20.5a - An effect that changes the text of an object changes only words that are used in the correct way. The effect can't change a proper noun, such as a card name, even if that proper noun contains a word or a series of letters that is the same as a Magic color word, basic land type, or creature type. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 418.6, "Text-Changing Effects."
G20.6 - Threshold
  • G20.6a - Threshold is a characteristic-setting ability. An object with threshold has the text after "Threshold -" if its controller has seven or more cards in his or her graveyard. Otherwise, the text after "Threshold -" is treated as though it did not appear on the object. An instant or sorcery with threshold has the threshold text only if it's on the stack. An artifact, creature, enchantment, or land with threshold has the threshold text only if it's in play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 502.23, "Threshold."
G20.7 - Tie
  • G20.7a - If an effect could result in a tie, the text of the spell or ability that created the effect will specify what to do in the event of a tie. The Magic game has no default for ties. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G20.8 - Timestamp Order
  • G20.8a - An object's timestamp is the time it entered the zone it's currently in, with three exceptions: (1) If two or more objects enter a zone simultaneously, the active player determines their timestamp order at the time they enter that zone. (2) Whenever a local enchantment or Equipment becomes attached to a permanent, the enchantment or Equipment receives a new timestamp. (3) Permanents that phase in keep the same timestamps they had when they phased out. See Rule 418.5e. See also Depend On. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
  • G20.8b - Continuous effects generated by static abilities have the same timestamp as the object that generated them. Continuous effects generated by the resolution of a spell or ability receive a timestamp at the time they're created. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G20.9 - Token
  • G20.9a - A token is a marker used to represent any permanent that isn't represented by a card. Tokens are created by effects. Tokens can be tapped and untapped just like cards, though an alternative to rotation might be needed to distinguish their status. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 216, "Tokens."
G20.10 - Tombstone Icon
  • G20.10a - A tombstone icon appears to the left of the name of many Odyssey block cards with abilities that are relevant in a player's graveyard. The purpose of the icon is to make those cards stand out when they're in a graveyard. This icon has no effect on game play. See Rule 104.5. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G20.11 - Total Cost
  • G20.11a - The total cost of a spell or activated ability is the mana cost, activation cost, or alternative cost, plus all cost increases and minus all cost reductions. See Rule 409.1f. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G20.12 - Total Casting Cost (Obsolete)
  • G20.12a - Some older cards were printed with the term "total casting cost" to describe the converted mana cost of a spell. In general, cards that were printed with the term "total casting cost" now use the term "converted mana cost." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G20.13 - Toughness
  • G20.13a - The number after the slash printed on the lower right corner of a creature card is the creature's toughness. See Rule 208, "Power/Toughness." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G20.13b - A creature that's been dealt damage greater than or equal to its toughness (and greater than 0) has lethal damage and will be destroyed the next time any player would receive priority. This is a state-based effect. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G20.13c - Some objects have toughness represented by * instead of a number. The object has a characteristic-setting ability that sets its toughness according to some stated condition. The * is 0 while the object isn't in play. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G20.14 - Tournament
  • G20.14a - A tournament is an organized event where players compete against other players to win prizes. See the Tournament Locator on the DCI home page ("http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci") to find tournaments in your area. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G20.15 - Trample
  • G20.15a - Trample is a static ability modifying the combat damage step of the combat phase. It lets an attacking creature "trample over" blocking creatures and assign part of its combat damage to the defending player. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 502.9, "Trample."
G20.16 - Trigger, Triggered Ability
  • G20.16a - A triggered ability begins with the word "when," "whenever," or "at." Whenever the trigger event occurs, the ability goes on top of the stack the next time a player would receive priority. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 404, "Triggered Abilities."
G20.17 - Trigger Condition
  • G20.17a - A triggered ability begins with the word "when," "whenever," or "at." The phrase containing one of these words is the trigger condition, which defines the trigger event. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 404, "Triggered Abilities."
G20.18 - Type
  • G20.18a - A card's type (and subtype, if applicable) is printed directly below the illustration on the card, on its type line. Cards, tokens, permanents, and spells all have types. Abilities don't have types. See Rule 205, "Type Line," and Rule 212, "Type, Supertype, and Subtype." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G20.18b - When an effect changes an object's type, the new type replaces all previous types. If the effect is adding a type, or allowing an object to retain its types, it will say so. See Rule 212.1c. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G20.18c - The "type" of mana includes both its color (if any) and any restrictions placed upon it (for example, mana that can be used only to play artifact spells). See also Mana. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G20.19 - Type-Changing Effect
  • G20.19a - A type-changing effect is an effect that changes the type of an object. It's generated by a type-changing ability. See Rule 418.5a. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G20.20 - Type Line
  • G20.20a - The type (and subtype and supertype, if applicable) of a card is printed directly below the illustration. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 205, "Type Line," and Rule 212, "Type, Supertype, and Subtype."
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004