SPONSORED LINKS
The Ultimate Source for Gaming Info
Go To:Home Page- Magic- Rules- Search - Results
New Search - General Rulings Table of Contents
This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

G1.1 - Ability
  • G1.1a - "Ability" and "effect" are often confused with one another. An instruction in an object's text is an ability. The result of following such an instruction is an effect. For more information, see Section 4, "Spells, Abilities, and Effects." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G1.1b - When an activated ability is played, it goes onto the stack and stays there until it resolves or is countered. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G1.1c - When an effect states that an object "gains" or "has" an ability, it's granting that object an ability. If an effect defines a property of an object ("[card or permanent] is [property]"), it's not granting an ability. For example, an enchant creature might read, "Enchanted creature is red." The enchantment isn't granting an ability of any kind; it's simply changing the enchanted creature's color to red. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G1.2 - Activated Ability
  • G1.2a - An activated ability is written as "activation cost: effect." By paying the activation cost, a player may play such an ability whenever he or she has priority. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 403, "Activated Abilities."
G1.3 - Activation Cost
  • G1.3a - The activation cost of an activated ability is everything before the colon in "activation cost: effect." It must be paid to play the ability.
    Example: The activation cost of an ability that reads "{2},{Tap}: You gain 1 life" is two mana of any color plus tapping the permanent. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 403, "Activated Abilities."
G1.4 - Active Player
  • G1.4a - The active player is the player whose turn it is. The active player gets priority at the start of each phase or step (except for the untap and cleanup steps), after any spell or ability (except a mana ability) resolves, and after combat damage resolves. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 200.3.
G1.5 - Active Player, Nonactive Player Rule
  • G1.5a - Whenever both players are instructed to make choices at the same time, the active player makes all his or her choices first, then the nonactive player. This is called the "Active Player, Nonactive Player" rule, or "APNAP" rule. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 103.4.
G1.6 - Additional Cost
  • G1.6a - Some spells have additional costs listed in their text. These are paid at the same time the player pays the spell's mana cost. See Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G1.7 - Affinity
  • G1.7a - Affinity is a static ability that functions while the spell is on the stack. "Affinity [text]" means "This spell costs you {1} less to play for each [text] you control." The affinity ability only reduces generic mana costs. It doesn't reduce how much colored mana you have to pay for a spell. It can't reduce the cost to play a spell to less than 0. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 502.31, "Affinity."
G1.8 - Alternative Cost
  • G1.8a - The rules text of some spells reads, "You may [action] rather than pay [this object's] mana cost," or include the phrase, "you may play [this object] without paying its mana cost." These are alternative costs. Only one such alternative cost can be applied to any one spell. Other spells and abilities that refer to a spell's mana cost don't consider the alternative cost. If an effect requires paying additional costs to play a spell, it still applies to the alternative cost. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities."
G1.9 - Amplify
  • G1.9a - Amplify is a static ability. "Amplify [X]" means "As this object comes into play, reveal any number of cards from your hand that share a creature type with this object. This object comes into play with X +1/+1 counters on it for each card revealed this way. You can't reveal this card or any other cards that are coming into play at the same time as this card." [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 502.27, "Amplify."
G1.10 - Ante (Obsolete)
  • G1.10a - Earlier versions of the Magic rules included an ante rule as a way of playing "for keeps." Playing Magic games for ante is now considered an optional variation on the game, and it is allowed only where it's not forbidden by law or by other rules. Playing for ante is strictly forbidden under DCI tournament rules. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • G1.10b - When using the ante rule, each player puts one random card from his or her deck into his or her ante zone at the beginning of the game. At the end of the game, the winner becomes the owner of the cards in each player's ante zone. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 217.9, "Ante."
G1.11 - APNAP
  • G1.11a - See Active Player, Nonactive Player Rule. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G1.12 - Artifact
  • G1.12a - Artifact is a type. The active player can play artifacts only during his or her main phase when the stack is empty. When an artifact spell resolves, its controller puts it into play under his or her control. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 212.2, "Artifacts."
G1.13 - Artifact Creature
  • G1.13a - An artifact creature is a combination of artifact and creature, and it's subject to the rules for both. (See Rule 212.2, "Artifacts.") Some artifact creatures don't have a creature type. Those that do will say "Artifact Creature - [creature type]"; for example, "Artifact Creature - Golem." "Artifact" isn't a creature type. [CompRules 2003/10/01]
G1.14 - Artifact Land
  • G1.14 - An artifact land is a combination of artifact and land, and it's subject to the rules for both. (See Rule 212.2, "Artifacts.") Artifact lands can only be played as lands. They can't be played as spells. Some artifact lands don't have a land type. Those that do will say "Artifact Land - [land type]." [CompRules 2003/10/01]
G1.15 - "As though"
  • G1.15a - Text that states a player or card may do something "as though" some condition were true applies only to the stated action. For purposes of that action, treat the game exactly as if the stated condition is true. For all other purposes, treat the game normally. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    Example: Giant Spider reads "Giant Spider may block as though it had flying." You may treat the Spider as a creature with flying, but only for the purpose of declaring blockers. This allows Giant Spider to block a creature with flying (and creatures that "can't be blocked except by creatures with flying"), assuming no other blocking restrictions apply. For example, Giant Spider can't normally block a creature with both flying and shadow. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    Example: Future Sight reads "Play with the top card of your library revealed. / You may play the top card of your library as though it were in your hand." The card may be played by the usual rules. If it's a spell, it's placed on the stack as the first step of playing it (see Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities"); if it's a land, it's put directly into play. Because the card isn't actually in your hand, it can't be discarded, removed from the game to pay a cost, cycled, or counted toward the number of cards in your hand. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
    Example: Rolling Stones reads "Walls may attack as though they weren't Walls." As long as this effect is active, Walls are treated exactly like creatures that don't have the Wall creature type for the purposes of declaring attackers. They're still subject to all other rules and effects that determine whether an attack is legal. [CompRules 2003/12/01]
  • G1.15b - If two cards state that a player or card may do the same thing "as though" different conditions were true, both conditions could apply. If one "as though" effect satisfies the requirements for another "as though" effect, then both effects will apply. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    Example: Two effects read, "You may play cards in your graveyard as though they were in your hand," and "You may play cards from other players' graveyards as though they were in your graveyard." Both effects apply. You may play cards in your graveyard and cards in your opponents' graveyards. (The cards may be played by the usual rules.) [CompRules 2003/12/01]
G1.16 - Assign Combat Damage
  • G1.16a - As the combat damage step begins, the active player announces how each attacking creature will assign its combat damage. Then the defending player announces how each blocking creature will assign its combat damage. All assignments of combat damage go on the stack as a single entry. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 310, "Combat Damage Step".
G1.17 - Attack
  • G1.17a - A creature attacks when it is declared as an attacker during the combat phase. (See Rule 308, "Declare Attackers Step.") Playing a spell or ability (even during the combat phase) is never considered to be an attack. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
G1.18 - Attack Alone
  • G1.18a - A creature is attacking alone when it's the only creature declared as an attacker in a given combat phase. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 306.4.
G1.19 - Attacked
  • G1.19a - Some triggered abilities trigger when a player is "attacked." At least one creature must actually be attacking that player for such abilities to trigger. Also, "attacked" means "attacked by one or more creatures," so such abilities can trigger only once each combat phase. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 306.3.
G1.20 - Attacking Creature
  • G1.20a - A creature becomes an attacking creature when (a) it's declared as part of a legal attack during the combat phase and (b) all attack costs have been paid. It remains an attacking creature until it's removed from combat, it stops being a creature, its controller changes, or the combat phase ends. Attacking creatures don't exist outside of the combat phase. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 308, "Declare Attackers Step."
G1.21 - Attacks and Isn't Blocked
  • G1.21a - An ability that triggers when a creature "attacks and isn't blocked" triggers when the creature becomes an unblocked attacking creature. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
  • Note - Also see Rule 309.2f.
    New Search
    This search based on the January 15,2004 release of the Rulings.

Copyright 2004